We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent”
Review of Albatros

Albatros
Ranked #7 of 232 Restaurants in Gallarate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $72 - $166
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Description: ALBATROS RESTAURANT: In our restaurant you can find the typical Italian dishes and specialty of Sardinian cuisine. An elegant atmosphere and a quiet ambiance will surround your lunches and dinners. Our specialty is fresh seafood delivered daily. However, we are willing to offer seasonal vegetables, high quality meats and fruits. Courtesy and experience are at your service. THE RESTAURANT: The atmosphere is warm and friendly. It's a nice restaurant but with familiar sensation, that's a special place where you can have a special dinner or lunch. The restaurant is composed of 2 dining rooms, the principal floor and one more quiet for business meeting. The tables are manicured and the distance between them is a lot, in this method the guest can have privacy and have their lunch or dinner in quiet and relax. Albatros restaurant is perfect for romantic dinner, business lunch and dinner and always for the special event to be remembered. Courtesy and experience are at your disposal.
Reviewed January 24, 2019

Fresh and tasty food - I recommend the truffle pasta, they were DELICIOUS !

Very good service as well.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J_mln2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 266 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2018 via mobile

The mixed raw fish for starters followed by deep fried soft shell crabs.
Starter could have been a little bigger but very fresh and tasty combinations. The mains maybe 6 small crabs and a side of vegetables was the perfect size.
The meal started with a amuse-bouche and a glass of Prosecco.
Large wine list but strangely only one type of white wine available per glass. 1/2 bottles are available.
The restaurant decor maybe slightly dated but works as it's a more formal dining experience. Therefore so are the prices. Not crazily high but not cheap either.
The service was as you would expect, attentive and efficient.
The menu was was quite large, so look forward to going back to try other fare.
The only reason I didn't give it another "star" is that when I was initially seated there was a strong smell of cooked fish, the type you get if you were to fry slightly older fish at home and the smell lingers. Now I know you might say well they do specialise in fish.
The smell did subside after about 10 minutes.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank odimascio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto_A85, Direttore at Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2018

Thanks for the 4 strars! I'm sorry about the smell.. but the one you fell it was the smell of the withe truffle. It's one of the finest thing you can have in Italy! It have a stong smell, usually or you love it or not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

Food was good , but the most annoying was insincere service. Food too expencive and overrated. Most probably not visiting in the future.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 367margitm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto_A85, Proprietario at Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2018

I invite you to visit in the correct way trip advisor before to visit any structure.
If you will do this, you can read the medium prices.
If is reported 70 euro medium wine exclused, and you spend 30 euro each, you can not say that our food is expancive.
In Italy, also in many other country, is obbligatory to expose the menu outside. That can help next time for your choices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

If you like fish or you want to amaze a business partner with great fish food, this is you place. A bit on the expensive side but the quality and seasonality of fish is really good. The chef is from Sardenia, a guarantee in itself...good sardenian wines and specialities help a good business lunch.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank luirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto_A85, Proprietario at Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017

Was taken to this restaurant by two local guys.
One of the most memorable meals I have eaten in many years.
I did not see a menu but the available dishes were described in excellent English by our attentive waiter
I had a starter of shrimp and scampi with some fresh local mushrooms followed by a local fish cooked in a salt crust. DELICIOUS!
I DID NOT SEE THE PRICES BUT KNOW THAT THIS QUALITY OF FOOD DOES NOT COME CHEAP.
NEVER THE LESS , I MUST RECOMEND FOR FINE DINING.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto_A85, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Albatros, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Thankyou! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albatros also viewed

Gallarate, Province of Varese
Gallarate, Province of Varese
 
Gallarate, Province of Varese
Gallarate, Province of Varese
 

Been to Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing