We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a good vacaume !!”

Steve's Fish N Chips
Ranked #7 of 33 Restaurants in Riverview
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Needs a good vacaume !!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Place needs a good window cleaning and to be vacuumed & its nothing spectacular as I wouldn’t go back..We usually go next door to the Homestead but the parking lot was full.Took quite a while to get our meal and they were not busy at all.Our fish & chip was ok once you broke through the half inch coat of batter their was a piece of fish in their..When we went their they seemed to be in a confrontation in the kitchen as they were hollering at each other..Not sure what's up with that ! Probably wouldn’t jump over hurtles to go back their.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    30
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, NB
Level Contributor
161 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“This is our 'go to' place in Riverview”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

When we're tired at the end of the week, this is our 'go to' place in Riverview. We always choose the chowder (surprisingly really good..almost as good as our home made chowder), the chicken club sandwich (because it is real chicken meat and not chicken cold cut) or the chicken caesar with cheese bread (cuz sometimes you just need a good 'old school' meal). Breakfasts are great but get there early to get the super specials....eggs, toast, home fries and some sort of meat. Always good..staff are great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandPascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food - But Pricey!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Visited there with family last week. Waitress was great, as was the food. Not really cheap though; my milkshake cost me $6.00, and was nothing special.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank portageroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stopped here on a recent trip to Moncton to pick up family for the airport and despite the reviews we loved it. Keep in mind - this is a "50's style" diner and not your "Upper Class Steakhouse" so if you are expecting perfection you might want to travel into the city. The food was really good but it was a bit slow getting to us (restaurant wasn't too busy either). Prices were average and my only complaint was that it was really really cold in there and we shivered the entire time. I think it's a great little spot and plan on stopping again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shediac, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Trying hard to figure itself out”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I will mention one thing off the top that killed this food experience for me. A dessert fridge in the middle of the lower level, where we were seated, that ran most of the time we were there and was loud enough that you had to speak above it be heard by the person next to you.

We had the fish and chips and the large seafood chowder. The chowder was a decent portion and fresh, not very flavorful and bordering on bland. The fish and chips were fine. The fish seemed fairly fresh. The batter was on the greasy side which for whatever reason, isn't the case with best fish and chippers out there.

This place has been reinvented as a 50's style diner from a fish and chip shop with two results. First, the menu covers everything from breakfast to typical diner fare along with the usual fish and chip shop offerings. Second, the interior screams 50's diner and the owners are trying way too hard to that end. Everywhere you look, a neon sign pulsates in your face along with the usual Marilyn Monroe and Elvis imagery. If they could halve the number of neon signs and cut back on the gawdy 50's shtick, this place wouldn't grate on my nerves so much. I've been to plenty of great 50's diners that seem more of a celebration of the era, but this place is anything but that.

Would I return? Doubtful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TMdS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steve's Fish N Chips also viewed

Riverview, Albert County
Moncton, New Brunswick
 
Moncton, New Brunswick
 

Been to Steve's Fish N Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing