We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of The Black Dog

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Dalton
Price range: $10 - $39
Cuisines: British, Pub
Restaurant details
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just had excellent meal, freshly cooked, good homemade food, hubby LOVES the real ale, fantastic little pub, you must go,,,,,

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great place, shame about the wait”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I took my parents to the Black Dog for a meal on Saturday night. A great traditional pub & exceptionally welcoming staff. The food was good & at a reasonable price. Good selection of real ales too. The only problem we had was the length of time we had to wait for our food. We ordered at 7.30pm & the food arrived just after 9pm. There was a couple who were eating when we arrived & then a group of 9 arrived just before us so not busy for food, we therefore we struggled to understand how it could take so long for 4 meals to be prepared. The waitress & manager/owner did regularly come over and tell us things wouldn't be long & we were also given a free round of drinks, but the wait still affected our overall experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally2464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fab little pub meal exceptional local beer fab ”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

What a quaint little pub the landlord is very welcoming, spent a lovely evening here with another couple for food and ended up staying all evening. Great selection of local beers to sample, open fire and unique decor are just some of the delights. Can't beat good pub grub at a reasonable price in a lovely location. Local bands also play apparently we shall be back to visit soon

Helpful?
1 Thank MrsH152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrow-england
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

excellent service staff were very pleasant and meal was perfect wine was very pleasant forthe choice offered

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank finbarfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great ale, decent value”
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Well above your average pub food in terms of quality and decent value- especially the Sunday Lunch menu. A good choice of real ale kept well.
A quiet traditional atmosphere with 2 real fires- wish more pubs stuck to the basics of good beer and good food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trifleface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Dog also viewed

 

Been to The Black Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing