We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Nearby Hotels
$209
$188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Peppertree Cottage(Flaxton)(Great Value!)
$124
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clouds of Montville Eco Resort and Spa(Montville)(Great Value!)
$120
$108
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$80
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveler rating
294
110
37
24
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
294
110
37
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housespa bathnational parkmy partnerbreakfast basketget awaywood firecheese plattermusic playingkondalilla fallsbeautiful rainforeston arrivalscrub turkeyscooking facilitiesromantic getawaybush turkeysbeautiful spot
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 479 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in a Luxury Tree House for 3 nights. We were hugely impressed by the warm welcome we received from Danielle and were immediately set up to have a relaxing time away from the city. The layout of the resort is spacious enough to feel like you have privacy, but no so much that you feel isolated from the reception. The setting is beautiful, peaceful and tranquil. We are big nature buffs, so we absolutely adored being able to experience a variety of wildlife roaming around from the comfort of our verandah. We were also delighted to hear about the effort the lovely women who run this place to go to ensure the wildlife are protected and cared for in the area. The location is fabulous, a short walk from the Kondalilla national park (great water hole and treks) and a quick drive to the main part of town (which definitely lived up to the charming stories I had heard). While the room was a little smaller than I initially expected, it was cosy and comfortable and we have everything we needed for the stay. I would certainly recommend Tree Houses for a romantic stay as the rooms are quite intimate. I would also highly recommend the Badger's Firkin English Pub down the road from the resort. We had an awesome experience there and the food is great: hearty and a good price. Had the best time ! Thank you so very much for your hospitality and we cannot wait to visit again soon :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessk1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treehouses, Owner at Kondalilla Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Good Morning TessK
Many thanks for your review received this weekend, we appreciate your comments and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Montville does have so much to offer and as nature lovers you were able to take advantage of both the "bush" and "town" experiences.
I am looking out for the family of sugar gliders you spotted on your deck but it seems they have only shown themselves to you so far ;)
Perhaps your next visit can be in winter as it is a totally different experience again!
We look forward to greeting you both again next time
Kind regards,
Vikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed in Picnic Creek end of Oct 2013 for 3 nights on the massage, champagne and cheese platter package.
The Plusses: very tranquil nature setting (no noisy kids, just nature at its most beautiful), clean private pool surrounded by deck and palm trees - delightful!, generous and delicious platter, spacious accommodation, comfy bed, lots of towels, lovely spa in the floor overlooking the small lagoon, very friendly staff, wonderful facial and massage treatment (the highlight of our visit!), and excellent complimentary courtesy bus provided by Matty from Montville's Café Bar and Grill (delicious food and delightful ambience) only a few minutes away.
Negatives: No deck chairs/lounges by the pool (we were told they were stolen by a former occupant) - bedding and extra towels were supplied for us to lie on but (in our early 50s) it was very uncomfortable for our backs to lie on the deck for any length of time. For the price we paid the deck chairs should have been replaced. Kitchen does not come under 'luxury' category - needs more bench space to prepare meals (only a small area big enough for a chopping board) and another power point - there's only one at the sink. There's a lot of spare space in the kitchen which would allow for a bench top with perhaps luggage storage underneath. Accommodation was a little dusty and had a few cobwebs. I personally didn't like the shower being so exposed (in the middle of the room); given the size of the bathroom (toilet and hand basin) the shower could have fit in there; although the room was fairly private, the board walk to reception was about 10m from our front door and windows so I'd go around and close all the blinds before I showered then reopen them all again. I also didn't realise the restaurant was closed - perhaps this was already mentioned on the website when I booked around middle of 2013 I can't recall. That was disappointing, however, Matty's service to his restaurant made up for it.
If you need to be in mobile phone contact with family, etc, please be advised reception is very poor and there are no phones in the rooms. This was a plus for us!
Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much and would consider staying there again, however, I feel it is just a little overpriced for reasons mentioned above.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harlee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treehouses, Owner at Kondalilla Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Good Morning Harlee50. We thank you for your sharing your experience with others when you stayed with us back in October.

We are very glad to hear that you had a restful time away and enjoyed the extra's that were on offer. Yes, the Bar and Grill guys are fabulous and certainly do fill the void with our restaurant being closed.

Picnic Creek is a large accommodation and is closer to reception and it may be that you might enjoy one of our Luxury's next time as they are more secluded and are not as large. They don't have their own private pool, however you can certainly make use of the resort pool which is close by.

Regarding the deckchairs, our apologies that this was an inconvenience to you. We were in the midst of replacing them during your stay and we tried to make you as comfortable as possible but your point is certainly taken.

The kitchen is quite small as we find that most people don't wish to do a lot of cooking during their stay and prefer to eat out at one of the lovely eateries in close proximity. Again, the Luxury Tree Houses layout may suit you better another time as they have more bench space in the kitchen.

Thank you again. It was a pleasure having you and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards, Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Were do I start, unbelievable It was everything I have heard about, such a stunning and romantic place to stay, My partener and I had only booked for one night but were so impressed we stayed another night. The staff were amazing and the cabins were just incredible. I would recommend it to anyone for a romantic get away, we will definitely go back. Worth every cent, not one complaint except we wish we could of stayed longer. I could keep goin on for ever about it but i'll let you see it for yourself, do yourself a favour and book a holiday now. Those people who wrote bad reports, if you didn't enjoy your stay there than I feel sorry for you and I guess you would never be happy anywhere you stayed.

Room Tip: The Rosella luxury treehouse is stunning
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treehouses, Owner at Kondalilla Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Good Morning Kathleen. Thank you very much sharing your stay with others. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our Tree House 'Waterview'. It's lovely being suspended over the Creek. Would you believe, since you have left, a Koala has taken up residence right outside Waterview!!

We are really pleased that you enjoyed our customer service. Being a small, family run and owned business, it means the world to us to hear this.

Regarding the salt and pepper, we used to supply this in each cabin however we found that the humidity would spoil them. Therefore we have a collection in reception. We must ensure that we make note of this in the compendium.

It's great to hear that you embraced the township and that you enjoyed the friendly, relaxed feeling of Montville.

Thanks again for coming to stay. Have a great year and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Regards, Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Not clean, Not romantic, Overpriced. We would have been better off staying at home and spending our hard earned money on something else.

-Floors were dirty and gritty.
-Uncomfortable bed, both our lower backs hurt.
-All the windows have blinds, and the people staying opposite us had 2 loud kids who were playing with bamboo like 3 meters from our window. Real mood killer.
-Alot of bugs at night.
-Crack in the spa bath
-Worlds smallest LCD tv with worst reception ive ever seen, and Dvd's aren't free....
-stained, smelly couch.
-generally old and dilapidated

I for one am glad the restaurant was closed because with the state of the accommodation i can only imagine what horrors would lurk within their kitchen.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aaron a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treehouses, Owner at Kondalilla Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Good Morning! We are disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay. If we had known of your concerns we would have gladly moved you to alternate accommodation. There are no children at the top of the resort and the stay up there may have been more enjoyable to you. The Cottages and Tree Houses do have new tv's, however they are not as large as the Luxury's as most guests wish to enjoy the nature rather than watch the television but your point is taken on this criticism. Our apologies for the bugs - being the rainforest, we do tend to get a few at night - especially in areas that are lit.

We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and we wish you well in the future.

Regards, Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The cabin was disgustingly dirty. It reeked of mothballs and dust. Flying ants infested the bed. Holes in all screens and even In the external walls! No external lighting or proper door locks! Totally ridiculous to think these people expect customers to PAY to stay there. I slept on the couch (covered in my own towels because it smelled of old sweat) and made my husband stay up to be on bug parol and we left the next day. Honestly, camping feels cleaner, more comfortable and more enjoyable than this place. The owner said she thought the cleanliness was 'fine'. Even after the 'lady' bin had already contained rubbish when we arrived. Eew. Total dissapointment. Out first stay prior to this one (weeks earlier) was in a luxury cabin, while being passable it was still surprising to find the roughness of the accomodation. (You can only accept the 'rustic' and 'natural' spin for so long before you cannot deny the fact the establishment is below any normal commercial standard). Then when we got a treehouse this time around it simply topped it off.....I'm no snob, but this was not suitable for people to lay their heads... Never returning, not worth the money!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SkipidyDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treehouses, Owner at Kondalilla Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Good Morning SkipidyDo. In response to your review, we would just please like to clarify a few points that you made.

If the cabin had not been acceptable on check in, then we would have gladly assisted you and made alternate arrangements. We are on site 24 hours a day and I am unsure as to why you would have put yourself through this disappointment and stay overnight when we could have fixed your concerns immediately. We had other cabins to move you to and as mentioned, we did have other options if your concerns had been relayed to us after entering your accommodation.

I can assure you that we do not use mothballs. We use Eucalyptus Oil to ensure that everything smells nice and fresh and is in fitting with the rainforest smell.

Flying ants are a part of the rainforest and unfortunately do make their way into cabins at times
- especially when we have had the heat that we have had lately. Each cabin have their own spray to alleviate this and one of our staff would have gladly come and attended to this and changed your bedding if we had known about it at the time.

We would have very much also been interested to hear feeback about your previous stay just being 'passable' either during the stay or on check out so that we could have addressed these at the time also.

Clearly you did not enjoy your stay SkipidyDo and we are saddened by this - especially when we were not given the opportunity to address your concerns whilst you visited.

We hope that you have a pleasant 2014.

Regards, Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews