We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary experience”
Review of Flaxton Barn

Flaxton Barn
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Flaxton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Flaxton Barn is a quaint Barn set between Montville and Mapleton. Open since 1969 and selling Antiques, Homewares, Fashion, Gifts and of course our great Verandah Cafe. Everything is Homemade just like Grandma use to make. Enjoy our great deep dish Apple Pie, Home made scones with fresh jam and cream or a lovely lunch. Open 6 days (closed Wednesdays)
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We recently called in for morning tea and found the food very ordinary (doughy scones and very ordinary sausage roll. )This coupled with disinterested staff with little customer service means we definitely wouldn't go back again. What a pity!

2  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Flaxton Barn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 48 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have visited Flaxton Barn twice for coffee and scones. The coffee is really great, and the homemade scones are sensational! There is also a gift shop with all sorts to browse through.

Thank Antsuz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbarn, Owner at Flaxton Barn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

So glad you loved our scones as much as we love making them. We really enjoy your feed back and hope to see you at the Barn again soon. Thanks you Leah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had a wonderful lunch. Really enjoyed browsing the gift section and found several "treasures" to take away as a momento.

Thank Jeannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbarn, Owner at Flaxton Barn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your review, we love having the shop full of wonderful treasures. I am glad you also enjoyed our lovely verandah cafe, now with the weather warming up even more delightful. Thank you for your review. Cheers Leah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Over from NZ visiting with our daughter, it's great to eat at a cafe that makes it's own food. Lunch was filling and tasty, without being overly flavoursome ... but enjoying lunch outside under shady tree can't be all bad. We would have given the barn a four out of five had it not been for the price of the food which at $79 was expensive for two burgers, one Peppermint Tea, a Lemon Softdrink, two milkshakes, one Date Scone and a Mince Pie and Salad. We weren't tempted by the good for sale. A large group of elderly women were browsing and we didn't want to knock any of them over!

Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbarn, Manager at Flaxton Barn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are glad you enjoy your lunch at Flaxton Barn. We make all our food inhouse and hope all our guest enjoy there experience. The shop is large and full of wonderful treasures. We are glad to welcome so many of our New Zealand friends. Hope to see you back again soon. Kind regards Leah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Fifteen years ago we bought an old long wooden seat with a bookcase end and restored it. So each time we are in the area we stop by to see what other items they may have. A great variety of nick nacks, jewellery and souvenirs in the gift store. They also have a cafe for light meals and devonshire teas. Worth a short visit.

Thank GrahamJBeenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbarn, Owner at Flaxton Barn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thanks Graham for your review. Glad to hear you call in to visit each time your in the area. We have new (and old stock) coming in every day and you will never know what you will find. Just this week we got in an old plough from the 1880's. The Barn has been trading for 44 years now and we never know what we will get in each day. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flaxton Barn also viewed

Maleny, Sunshine Coast
Bli Bli, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Flaxton Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing