We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent AGAIN”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avocado Grove B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avocado Grove B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Flaxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent AGAIN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I tried to find think if what else I can write but it is getting more difficult. I brought my parents here to stay for 2nights and they were blown away by the meals provided, the excellent service provided and the amenities that were made available in this place. The part is when I told my folks how much I paid for it, they were astonished! That can only mean value for money!!

If anyone is still not convinced, let's just say this had been my third stay in 1 year, and mind you I am a very picky customer! Will definitely visit again when I come back to Brisbane!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymondongsg09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your third visit and your third super awesome review .
Abby and Raymond we enjoy your stays so much and do look forward to seeing you in 2014.
Have a wonderful Xmas and New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
195
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

My family and friends stayed at the Avocado Grove in late Nov 2013 and we were "wowed" by its rooms and service. The place was absolutely cosy, extremely clean, peaceful and beautiful, but what truly stands out were the attentiveness and hospitality of John and Sonya. We were greeted by the couple upon our arrival and immediately they made us feel at ease and "at home". They gave us some tips on the nearby places of interest and brought us around their fruits plantation.

John and Sonya are a terrific couple and good cooks too, We had 3 course set dinner and a breakfast. The meals were delicious and the dessert makes us speechless.

We wished we had stayed 2 nights as 1 night was too short. We will definitely stay with Avocado Grove for a longer period if we have a chance to visit Flaxton again.

John & Sony, thanks again for making our stay a memorable and pleasant one. Both of you are clearly doing an excellent job! Keep up the good work!

We would highly recommend staying at the Avocado Grove

Love, Doreen

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorchua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you Doreen for your super awesome review about us here at Avocado Grove. We so enjoyed meeting everyone, your boys were exceptional, you should be very proud of Ian.
Thank you for choosing us and coming all the way from Singapore to experience the Sunshine Coast Hinterland. If and when we get to Singapore we hope to experience your luxury Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

John is an amazing host. He was very concerned to ensure that everything was alright and that I was happy. When I arrived he offered to make me tea, take care of bags, etc. When I had trouble getting phone reception (Telstra) he offered to let me use the landline. When we came back late he took the trouble to introduce us to other couples staying and offered us wine, tea, coffee, etc. It is not really surprising that everyone staying there seemed to be having a fantastic time! Basically John is incredibly accommodating and friendly and I was quite frankly amazed at the lengths he went to make sure I was happy. I didn't pay anywhere near 5 star prices but we definitely got 5 star service and hospitality.

We stayed in the Shephard room, which has a lovely view of the mountains and sliding door out onto a large verandah. The bed was super comfortable and the room was very quiet. Being a B&B the room is pretty simple in terms of furnishings, the website has a very accurate description and pictures. I didn't realise I had booked the only non-ensuite room, but this was not really a problem. Everything was spotlessly clean and tidy. The breakfast is very comprehensive and John will prepare it at the time of your choosing. One thing they don't mention is that they have free WiFi!!! That was an unexpected bonus.

The location of the B&B is actually a lot better than I expected. Off the main road, and very short drive north of Montville and Kondililla Falls. One of the main reasons I booked this place, is that the rates are extremely reasonable in comparison to other accommodation in the area, and they also allow one night stays on weekends. This makes it very appealing to people travelling on a budget (like us!).

The only real 'problem' I had was that despite instructions, I had trouble getting the shower temperature to regulate. It seemed to have a mind of its own in terms of hot and cold! I'm sure if I had mentioned it to John he would told me how to fix it, but I did eventually manage to wrangle it to stay 'warm'.

We have already recommended this place to family and friends.

Room Tip: Shepherd room does not have an ensuite bathroom. All other rooms do, I believe. Shephard and Reed ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. Although I cant put a name to the review , I am pleased that I made your stay here as comfortable as can be. Yes, now and again guests do book the Shepard room in error, not realising that the bathroom is seperate, if availability we are happy to change the room. Regarding the shower, you need to run the hot tap first and gradually the cold tap. I appreciate your time in writing such a detailed review and thank you once again. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

My wife found Avocado Grove on the web and it certainly lived up to the good reviews. The self contained unit on the lower level was clean, comfortable and roomy. The location is ideally suited for exploring the surrounding area from Maleny to Kenilworth. But the highlight was the beautiful breakfasts, and the evening meal shared with the pleasant company of the other guests, and later our hosts John and Sonia. The dining / lounge area is beautifully appointed, with quality art works and a stunning view. John, who has spent his working life in the hospitality industry, offered to prepare a variety of dishes for breakfast, but I couldn't go past the Avocado Grove Special – superb.

Room Tip: To choose a good room, pick any one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edward902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you Ed and Joy for taking the time to write such an excellent review for Avocado Grove.
We enjoyed meeting up with you and sharing conversations, and we do look forward to catching up again. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Avocado Grove in September as we attended our nieces wedding. John and Sonja were lovely hospitable and very friendly couple. Our room was wonderful extremely clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were lovely cooked by John each morning. We would highly recommend staying at the Avocado Grove thank you from Nora and Myles.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you Nora and Myles for writing an amazing review on your stay here at Avocado Grove. It was lovely meeting you all from Leatherhead, I do hope its not too cold there at the moment. Have a Happy Xmas and New Year and we hope to see you all again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winton, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We recently stayed at Avocado Grove for a family wedding. We have never stayed at a B & B before and from our experience with John and Sonja we will defiently staying with them should we be back in Flaxton. The rooms ( we booked 3 to accommode 6 adults ) were all very clean & comfortable. The breakfast was amazing and they were very happy to meet special dietry requirements. John and Sonya have the ability to make you feel that you are very welcome and nothing is to much trouble. The Gronola that they serve with breakfast was made by their daughter and very, very nice. It was a very relaxing & restful stay with them. Definity made the trip worth remembering and have recommened it to friends and other members of our family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Renell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you Renelle for taking the time to leave us an amazing review about your stay. We enjoyed meeting all the family, and you never know we might just make it up to Winton one day.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Avocado Grove with my parents who are both aged 90. John and Sonia, the owners, were amazing. I very much appreciated their care and compassion for my parents. The rooms were excellent. The evening meal and breakfast were outstanding and the view from the verandah was peaceful. We could not have asked for more. I would definitely recommend Avocado Grove to anybody and I have already told my friends about the excellent service and tidiness of the premises. John and Sonia are perfect hosts.

Room Tip: Three rooms upstairs, two with ensuite. One room downstairs. Ask for the ones with the ensuite and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you Peter and Jan for the incredible review you have given Avocado Grove. Both John and I enjoyed meeting you all, and look forward catching up again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaxton
4.3 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.7 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
1.5 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Peppertree Cottage
Peppertree Cottage
#3 of 5 in Flaxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.9 mi away
Montville Mountain Inn Resort
3.6 mi away
Secrets on the Lake
Secrets on the Lake
#1 of 9 in Montville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avocado Grove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avocado Grove B&B

Property: Avocado Grove B&B
Address: 10 Carramar Ct, Flaxton, Queensland 4560, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Flaxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Flaxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avocado Grove is a modern western red cedar Queenslander with wrap around verandahs, situated away from the main road in quiet, peaceful leafy surrounds, and landscaped gardens. Located at Flaxton, near Montville Mapleton and Maleny on the beautiful Blackall Range (Sunshine Coast Hinterland).Avocado Grove has over 3 acres of land and was originally part of an extensive Avocado Farm. Many of the trees have been retained and still produce a healthy crop. We offer a choice of 4 guest rooms: Sharwil Suite, Reed Hass and Shepard. The lounge is air conditioned and well equipped with large Plasma screen, DVD, Stereo, books games and a fireplace for those cool winter evenings, and not to forget the port barrel.Breakfast is served on the Gazebo facing the Blackall Range. There is also a fridge here for guests.2/3 Course dinners can be served either in the dining room or on the Gazebo. We are situated only 500 metres from Flaxton Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Avocado Grove B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing