We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll Be Back”
Review of Avocado Grove B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avocado Grove B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Flaxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“I'll Be Back”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I recently stayed with John and Sonya and it was amazing. From the moment we pulled up John was there taking my bag to my room and making us feel very welcome. It felt like we were coming to stay with old friends. Sonya could not do enough for us. The scenery is beautiful and you wake up to bird singing and cows mooing.The breakfasts were restaurant quality. I definitely hope to be back again soon. Cheers Kate

Room Tip: The room downstairs has a fire place. My room upstairs closest to the road was very quiet and got t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thankyou very much Kate for the amazing review, both John and I really appreciate that you have taken the time to write one, and we do look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
203
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We just returned home from a weekend at Avocado Grove. What an amazing place to stay. Very comfortable accommodation, beautiful surrounds, amazing hosts John and Sonya and outstanding breakfast. All in all a wonderful weekend had by everyone. Thanks John and Sonya we will be back again for sure. Cheers Jane, Matt, Kate and baby James

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jblink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thankyou so much Jane for the awesome review, we enjoyed meeting you all , and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Your review means a lot to John and I . Thankyou again for making the t ime to write it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed with Jon and Sonya over the Anzac Day weekend - a short three night break from the city drag. From the moment I walked up to the front door I felt very welcome and they looked after me wonderfully. I have never had such kind and gracious hosts.

I woke up to excellent breakfasts every morning, bird song in the trees and a beautiful view over the mountains. After a full day's trekking around the mountains, Jon was happy to provide a cup of tea for me on the back deck, where I could sit, read and watch the sun go down. I also had dinner here two nights, and I have to say the food was better than what I get in many restaurants - I don't know what Jon and Sonya do with their potatoes, but it is absolutely delicious!

I first stayed here overnight for a wedding in 2011, and was wonderfully treated then, too. I must say I am glad I came back, and would gladly recommend Jon and Sonya to anyone looking to stay on the Blackall Range.

Room Tip: The Shepard room and the Reed room have lovely views over the mountains from the back verandah, alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thankyou Sarah for taking the time to write such a detailed and excellent review, and how nice to catch up with you again on your return to Avocado Grove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Avocado Grove was the best time we have experienced, it rated better than Bed and Breakfasts we've stayed at around the world. The quiet and beautiful scenery was so relaxing. We got to meet the chickens that lay breakfast and also experienced an exceptional home cooked evening meal. The hosts John and Sonya make it all look so easy and in doing so, make you feel right at home. Our room was very well appointed and exceptionally clean, with a view of the local Ranges through to the Great Dividing Range, with all its local flora and fauna it was truly a wonderful 'Aussie' stay. Nothing is too much for this couple who are doing something "they love"and it shows. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. Don and Deidre Allan Adelaide

Room Tip: Upstairs for the best views, down stairs for the ultimate privacy, and personal verandah. All have o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thankyou so much D and D for the amazing review you have given us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Avocado Grove was our 1st B&B experience. We were super impressed. Lovely people and great clean and updated accommodation. A lovely breakfast and coffee capped it off. Thank you John and Sonya.
Cheers Brendan and Lara Baxter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thankyou Lara and Brendon for your excellent review, we are so happy we make your first B&B experience a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We came across Avocado Grove after searching on line for a pet friendly B&B around Montville/Flaxton area. Despite dropping the kids to the Grandparents, we had a small dog in tow. We read that small dogs were allowed downstairs in the Sharwil Suite with prior approval. A phone call to the owners John & Sonya confirmed we could stay 2 nights over the Easter holidays.

The suite was perfect for our needs as it has direct access to the well maintained gardens. The room has a potbelly stove, fridge, tea/coffee provisons and sitting area with TV (with good selection of recent dvds). The room is spacious with a good sized ensuite, and in keeping with the high standard fluffy robes and white towels are available. We had a delicious cooked breakfast that was served on the patio overlooking the Grove on the Saturday morning. Rather than not accommodate our request for 2 nights (owners had a prior arrangement in Brisbane) we were able to stay a second night and provided with the provisions for our breakfast in our unit’s fridge. We were very happy with this arrangement.

We can recommend Marsha’s Sweets Granola that is served with yoghurt at breakfast – it was delicious and we raved about it so much that John gave us a packet to bring home. We have since ordered more online (John and Sonya’s daughter Marsha makes it).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oziwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thankyou for writing us such a detailed and amazing review about your stay, and we hope to see you again with the little pooch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently had a 3 night stay at this unique B&B. It's location was excellent and the views from the back deck were lovely. Our hosts John & Sonya were very friendly and helpful with nothing being too much trouble. Our room was clean and comfortable. We looked forward to being greeted every morning to a delicious breakfast more than enough to tie us over til lunchtime. We are hoping one day to go back and enjoy this wonderful place again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thankyou Keith & Glennis for the amazing review you have given us, and we do look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaxton
4.3 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
174 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
397 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
1.1 mi away
Peppertree Cottage
Peppertree Cottage
#3 of 5 in Flaxton
96 reviews
2.9 mi away
Montville Mountain Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avocado Grove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avocado Grove B&B

Property: Avocado Grove B&B
Address: 10 Carramar Ct, Flaxton, Queensland 4560, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Flaxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Flaxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avocado Grove is a modern western red cedar Queenslander with wrap around verandahs, situated away from the main road in quiet, peaceful leafy surrounds, and landscaped gardens. Located at Flaxton, near Montville Mapleton and Maleny on the beautiful Blackall Range (Sunshine Coast Hinterland).Avocado Grove has over 3 acres of land and was originally part of an extensive Avocado Farm. Many of the trees have been retained and still produce a healthy crop. We offer a choice of 4 guest rooms: Sharwil Suite, Reed Hass and Shepard. The lounge is air conditioned and well equipped with large Plasma screen, DVD, Stereo, books games and a fireplace for those cool winter evenings, and not to forget the port barrel.Breakfast is served on the Gazebo facing the Blackall Range. There is also a fridge here for guests.2/3 Course dinners can be served either in the dining room or on the Gazebo. We are situated only 500 metres from Flaxton Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Avocado Grove B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing