We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Retreat”
Review of Avocado Grove B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avocado Grove B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Flaxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at Avocado Grove because they had a pet friendly suite downstairs that suited us and our dog. He loved it and so did we. They made us all very welcome and it was so nice to be able to get away, even is only for one night, and totally relax. The breakfast was awesome with tropical fruits, homemade granola, hot croissants, followed by a full English or anything we wanted. Terrific. We did get a bit of noise from the Gazebo upstairs but it was quiet when we needed it to be, and it was worth it to be able to take our dog with us. I would certainly go back again and have put it on my favourites list. It's only a short drive to Montville and Maleny and all they have to offer so a good base for a visit to the Sunshine Coast Hinterland.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Deni243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thankyou Denise for making the time to give us a fantastic detailed review on your one night stay, bothe John and I really appreciate it. Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 386 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Avocado Grove is now our "go-to" B & B when we want to have a weekend away! John and Sonya have always made us feel so at home. They know we have small children and find it difficult to come for any more than one night (even though we'd love to!), but its never a problem and they're always happy to book us in for only one night.
The rooms are beautiful, food is fantastic, and the atmosphere so relaxing. Everything you need...don't rush off, have a wander around the property....its so beautiful :) We've sent relatives to John and Sonya who came for a visit from NZ, and they loved it too. Can't recommend it highly enough, which is why I've now written 2 reviews!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thankyou Jilanna for the amazing review you have given us, we always enjoy seeing you and Daniel. Hopefully we will see you again in July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Sonya and John were wonderful hosts, flexible and thoughtful. Food was superb, both breakfast and dinner. The view from most bedrooms, living room and dining areas was breathtaking. We stayed 5 nights but next time would book for a week.

Room Tip: The suite and two rooms have en suite bathrooms but the third bedroom has a generous private bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hawdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thankyou Gaye for your very good review, and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

From the moment I spoke to Sonja on the phone, I knew that Avocado Grove would be fantastic. We were looking for a place to spend the night to celebrate our anniversary and were so pleased that they were able to offer a one night stay as most other places around the area had a minimum of two night stays.
We stayed in the Sharwil suit which was down stairs and had it's own private gazebo which was nice for a bit of privacy.
It was obvious as soon as we arrived that our hosts went out of their way to make our stay special. It was a lovely surprise to find a box of chocolates and bottle of bubbly on ice waiting for us to help us celebrate our anniversary.
The personal and friendly service from John and Sonja was amazing. We felt a bit like celebrities with John as our own personal chef! Nothing was too much trouble for these guys.
The breakfast was incredible!!! We were already quite impressed with our fruit platter, granola and yoghurt, juice, tea and coffee. Then John came down with some warm croissants and asked us "So what would you like me to cook for you?" Lets just say that the smoked salmon and poached eggs went down very nicely :)
We've never had this kind of service anywhere so thankyou John and Sonja for making our stay so special.
I'd highly recommend Avocado Grove for anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of life and to be spoilt.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thankyou Diane for writing us such a wonderful review. We are very happy we made your stay so memorable for the 1 night. We look forward to your artwork and will put it on the wall. Thankyou so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Like many others, we stayed overnight for a wedding a Flaxton Gardens. This B&B is perfectly located and the generous offer of a lift to and from the venue helped make our night.
Despite the poor weather, the breakfast and hospitality were wonderful and the view from our breakfast table was still gorgeous. A warm coffee, bacon and eggs, and views of the valley soaking up the falling rain bring wonderful reminders of home.
Thanks again John and Sonya, we hope to get another excuse for a hinterland visit.

Room Tip: The Sherwil Suit provides a little more privacy as it is downstairs and has a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberE82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you Amber for making the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I would strongly recommend Avocado Grove to anyone staying in Flaxton! Could not have asked for better service. Beautiful breakfast served every morning! And amazing views! Would definantly stay there again and again and again. Thank you so much John and Sonya for welcoming us into your lovely home

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaECarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thankyou so much Amanda for your prompt and awesome review, we really appreciate you making the time and writing such a great review for us about your stay at Avocado Grove. Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We are SO glad we decided to stay at Avocado Grove for a night to celebrate Valentine's! The house itself is charming, as was our room (right down to the cozy bathrobes provided) but really it's the warm hospitality of John and Sonya that brings it all together. You couldn't ask for better hosts. I'm sure this couple have been asked all the same questions before and on many occasions but they were very happy to open up to us about their home, family and life's experiences ... two friendly, charismatic people who obviously love running their B&B. Breakfast was sublime and we enjoyed exploring the avocado orchard which was est. in the 1940s. A lovely mini-get away for us Sunshine Coasters!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thankyou so much Michelle and Matthew for your prompt, fantastic, and special review you gave us. It means so much to us. We enjoyed meeting you both and wish you all the very best in Australia. Thankyou so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaxton
1.5 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
452 reviews
4.3 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
181 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Falls Montville
The Falls Montville
#1 of 3 in Montville
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Peppertree Cottage
Peppertree Cottage
#3 of 5 in Flaxton
98 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
2.9 mi away
Montville Mountain Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avocado Grove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avocado Grove B&B

Address: 10 Carramar Ct, Flaxton, Queensland 4560, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Flaxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Flaxton
Price Range: $111 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avocado Grove is a modern western red cedar Queenslander with wrap around verandahs, situated away from the main road in quiet, peaceful leafy surrounds, and landscaped gardens. Located at Flaxton, near Montville Mapleton and Maleny on the beautiful Blackall Range (Sunshine Coast Hinterland).Avocado Grove has over 3 acres of land and was originally part of an extensive Avocado Farm. Many of the trees have been retained and still produce a healthy crop. We offer a choice of 4 guest rooms: Sharwil Suite, Reed Hass and Shepard. The lounge is air conditioned and well equipped with large Plasma screen, DVD, Stereo, books games and a fireplace for those cool winter evenings, and not to forget the port barrel.Breakfast is served on the Gazebo facing the Blackall Range. There is also a fridge here for guests.2/3 Course dinners can be served either in the dining room or on the Gazebo. We are situated only 500 metres from Flaxton Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Avocado Grove B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing