We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avocado Amazing!”
Review of Avocado Grove B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avocado Grove B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Flaxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We are SO glad we decided to stay at Avocado Grove for a night to celebrate Valentine's! The house itself is charming, as was our room (right down to the cozy bathrobes provided) but really it's the warm hospitality of John and Sonya that brings it all together. You couldn't ask for better hosts. I'm sure this couple have been asked all the same questions before and on many occasions but they were very happy to open up to us about their home, family and life's experiences ... two friendly, charismatic people who obviously love running their B&B. Breakfast was sublime and we enjoyed exploring the avocado orchard which was est. in the 1940s. A lovely mini-get away for us Sunshine Coasters!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thankyou so much Michelle and Matthew for your prompt, fantastic, and special review you gave us. It means so much to us. We enjoyed meeting you both and wish you all the very best in Australia. Thankyou so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 391 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Avocado Grove is definitely the place you want to be for any kind of get away - whether an event is on, you've planned some weekend trips or just want a relaxing time away. John and Sonya are the best hosts you could want. The rooms and the atmosphere are enjoyable and their little touches and inclusions for your stay make it all very special. Definitely recommended and we will definitely be returning time and again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thankyou so much Ashleigh for your amazing review you have given us. It was so nice that you came again, and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

For mant years we have been fascinated by, and enjoyed with our family, the beaches and restaurants of the Sunshine Coast. Though we have visited the Blackall Ranges on occasions, this surprise visit (for my wife) to Flaxton and stayover at Avocado Grove for two days was just the best decision for a balanced holiday between the beaches and the mountains.

John and Sonja were the perfect hosts providing excellent information on local attractions, the highest standard of accomodation and cuisine which could not be faulted.

We long for the opportunity to enjoy the warmth of the open fire in winter and to experience more of the wonderful rainforest walks this area has to offer.

Room Tip: This B&B offers three rooms and a suite all of which are tastefully decorated, extremely clean a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thankyou Chris for your prompt and wonderful review, and we hope to see you again on your annual trips to the Sunshine Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Most impressed with this B&B. Great rooms, picturesque views, delicious food and very friendly and accomodating hosts who provided us with so many extra and personal touches. I'm very happy that I've discovered Avocado Grove and will certainly be returning for my 3rd time.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharona100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya B, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thankyou Pippa for your lovely review, we enjoying making your stay special for Kate, and we certainly hope to see you again, and meeting your father on the next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were in Flaxton for a wedding at Flaxton Gardens and stayed at Avocado Grove for the Friday and Saturday night. Our stay was outstanding and very comfortable and private in the downstairs Sharwil Suite with its own private outdoor dining area. Breakfast was second to none. John and Sonya were most gracious hosts, very friendly and accommodating. The setting is delightful with views of the avocado trees and hills in the distance. John kindly provided transport to and from the wedding venue and was also able to suggest some lovely local walking tracks. We will definitely be returning to Avocado Grove.

Room Tip: The downstairs suite has its own entrance and private outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona_Stirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joop_13, Owner at Avocado Grove B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thankyou Fiona and Ian for your prompt and beautiful review. Your review means so much to us and especially for our future guests. We look forward to seeing you again, perhaps in winter when the fire can be lit, its so nice and cosy! Sorry we forgot to give you the avocados John had picked for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My family of 4 adults was there for 2 nights and we had the whole place to ourselves. Our hosts, John & Sonya, and the place were amazing; our stay was wonderful & way beyond our expectations! The house and all the rooms were very tastefully furnished, fully equipped and spotlessly clean. John & Sonya were warm, helpful and made us feel like we were staying with old friends! And they prepare the best breakfast, tea and dinner that I've had in a very long time! The acreage behind the house is peaceful, serene and a great place just to relax. Ah, fond memories of our stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 14, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us an excellent review, we really appreciate it.
We hope you enjoyed your holiday in Australia, we are so glad we gave you a good first impression in an Australian B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was a fabulous place, our hosts John and Sonja were very accomodating, friendly and exceptional with their hospitality. We had the "run" of the place for the weekend, and felt like you were staying at a friends home. All the rooms where better than the pictures on the internet site with great views and privacy. It is in a great loaction for getting about the local area. John and Sonja's knowledge of all the local places and people was very helpful. The food was amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 4, 2012

Thank you very much Wendy for the fantastic review you gave us, its so nice to receive feedback from our guests, and its even nicer when they return as Judy has booked again for February. All the best and especially to Nathan in his career path.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flaxton
4.3 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#3 of 3 in Montville
182 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Flaxton
463 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bli Bli House Luxury Accommodation
Bli Bli House Luxury Accommodati...
#1 of 111 in Sunshine Coast
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Peppertree Cottage
Peppertree Cottage
#3 of 5 in Flaxton
101 reviews
2.9 mi away
Montville Mountain Inn Resort
1 mi away
Tanglewood Gardens
Tanglewood Gardens
#4 of 5 in Mapleton
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avocado Grove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avocado Grove B&B

Address: 10 Carramar Ct, Flaxton, Queensland 4560, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Flaxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Flaxton
Price Range: $109 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avocado Grove is a modern western red cedar Queenslander with wrap around verandahs, situated away from the main road in quiet, peaceful leafy surrounds, and landscaped gardens. Located at Flaxton, near Montville, Mapleton and Maleny on the beautiful Blackall Range (Sunshine Coast Hinterland). Avocado Grove has over 3 acres of land and was originally part of an extensive Avocado Farm. Many of the trees have been retained and still produce a healthy crop. We offer a choice of 4 guest rooms: Sharwil Suite, Reed, Hass and Shepard. The lounge is air conditioned and well equipped with large Plasma screen, DVD, Stereo, books games and a fireplace for those cool winter evenings. Breakfast is served on the Gazebo facing the Blackall Range. There is also a fridge here for guests. Prearranged 2/3 Course dinners can be served either in the dining room or on the Gazebo. We are situated only 500 metres from Flaxton Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Avocado Grove B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing