We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Christmas fare”

Flaxton Gardens Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Flaxton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montville, Australia
1 review
“Excellent Christmas fare”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Once more Flaxton Gardens produced an outstanding Christmas Luncheon 2013
This was our third, Christmas luncheon family get together at Flaxton Gardens, having also enjoyed a few Christmas's in July too!
The ambience was lively, comfortable, festive and colourful.
Children could be children, playing amongst the vineyard and gardens, in between courses.
The food was delicious, hot ( if hot food was ordered), varied and plentiful.
The staff were courteous and friendly, with smiles all around.
Will we return?
Without a doubt!
I highly recommend Flaxton Gardens for that stress free, Christmas luncheon!
Gillian Kerr

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MamaG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    69
    19
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas disappointment”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This restaurant should be reported to the police for stealing our hard earned Christmas lunch. The price tag for the poor Quality of this meal was outrageous and I felt extremely ripped off and embarrassed in front of Family members that had arrived from England that morning. From a set menu,our Entree's were delivered at separate times after waiting 40min. 4 members of the family had finished their Entree's before the other 2 family members even received their Entrees after numerous complaints.The mains finally arrived 40 -50minutes later to my wife's discuss, the Turkey looked like processed Turkey roll from a deli and not roast turkey as you would expect for Christmas lunch. After further more complaints not only about the Quality of the food but the time taken to receive the meals, as the manager tried to explain we only waited 90min and not the 2hours we perceived it to be, the desert arrived to top it off. A rock hard Lime tart. The pastry was so hard my children nearly broke the plates trying to cut into it and the little puddings I had ordered for Desert were cold and no where near even hot as you also would expect for Christmas. As a token of their incompetence, the restaurant offered not to charge us corkage on the 2 bottles of wine we choose to bring. Not that they opened the wines or served the wines or provided any type of cooling or ice buckets for the wines, but I'm glad at least this part of the dinner was not a disaster as we did it ourselves. What a terrible experience and I will never recommend Flaxton Gardens to anyone. Pity as we are Locals. What a great way to spoil such a wonderful view.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Browning525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible food and service, what a shame”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went to the restaurant for Christmas Day, to have Lunch with the family, 2 Children, parents and grandparents (just flown in from Dubai). The location seemed very nice, but upon arrival we noticed that we had been put in the barn, instead of the other nice locations the venue has to offer, and found that the barn was absolutely packed with people. So while having to speak very loudly in order to communicate with each other, we placed our order from a set menu at 1.30 pm, and waited. At around 2.30 some of our starters had finally arrived, 4 to be exact, the other two arrived, after having to ask for them three times, as the other family members had finished theirs. Another hour later, the main course arrived, cold and a meager portion. Some of us ate it due to absolute hunger from having waited for two hours, others could not eat it out of disgust at the food and the appalling service. Upon complaints to the staff, the manager came to our table to explain that it was a large event and took some effort to coordinate (we had to pre-book this 3-course lunch, so someone had obviously not done their homework). The manager then also informed us that we had no grounds for complaints, we had simply waited 1 hour and 30 minutes instead of 2 hours, to be exact. When we explained that for such a wait, we expected better food, not something that could have been done better at home, we were told once more that due to the large number of people attending the event, it requires a lot of coordination.

Not in a long time, have I experienced such bad service, food, and disgusting behaviour. We were told off like a bunch of little school children, for expecting something better for our 110$ per person meal. Needless to say not our family, nor I am sure others whose Christmas Day was ruined by this, will be coming back. What a shame about the nice location. I recommend Flaxton Gardens to either reduce the size of customers it wants to cater for, or to be more prepared in the future, and take some classes in business management, where "the customer is always king".

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank downu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Christmas Lunch”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had our club Christmas lunch at Flaxton Gardens last week and it was very good. The room was decorated beautifully, the tables had white tablecloths with Xmas crackers and baubles and looked amazing. The menu had three choices of entre, main and dessert and all sounded delicious. There was a bar set up at the side and tea and coffee on a small table on the other side. When we were all seated and water bottles had been put on the tables, the wait staff came and took our orders and the food came out in a timely fashion and was awesome. Everyone ordered their drinks at the bar themselves.

The room was at the front end of the barn like building and was closed off from the large room. It was a warm day and with the doors open a very nice breeze came through and it was very pleasant indeed.

All in all a very good function and we will probably go back next year.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brisbanelionsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Views, foood and atmosphere you cannot beat”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I recently hosted a lunch for 30+ ladies. Not only was the room beautifully prepared with Christmas decorations, the food was delicious, the staff very helpful (especially Trent and Sam) and the views were superb. Our wait staff were very professional and courteous. We had a wonderful afternoon, we had a choice of 3 different mains and desserts and all the ladies commented on how wonderful the afternoon was. Would I go back, Absolutely!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flaxton Gardens Restaurant also viewed

 
Montville, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Flaxton Gardens Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing