We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Edward
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My sister and I spent four nights in the resort, and we enjoyed the rooms, the site, the friendly staff, and the entertainment areas. A geant pool add to the place! According to your needs, you will have a peaceful rest or a joyful time. The breakfast is impressive by its diversity and the restaurants offer you anything you can wish.

Room Tip: Avoid the week-end, as it is packed with Durbanites!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanfrancois_barral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Wild Coast Sun Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 241 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent New Years here and felt that Reservations were amazing and did a lot of effort for us to have a room. The rooms were modern with a bath tub which can look through the room and out of the balcony to sit and enjoy the view. There is also a small DSTV package connected to the TV. There was also a turn down service which is really nice, but we had an interconnecting room to someone we did not know and had to ask someone to ask them to talk softer as we could hear them screaming in the next room.
There was a puddle in one of the lifts and many service doors were kept open, which shows you what happens behind the scenes, something which a guest should not be aware of. Also the indoor pool room seemed half empty and had puddles everywhere making it look untidy and deteriorated in some way. I think that this was supposed to be some kind of pool bar or restaurant but that was not the impression and feel that I got. The pool bar and room service prices were fair for a hotel.
The New Years party was very nice, but the dance floor was very crowded, I guess that's a good thing. The fireworks show was really good and went on for a long period.
Breakfast was amazing and had a large variety of dishes to choose from, but the waiters were slow at bringing hot drinks and taking away dirty plates.
Check out was too early for the 1st of January but we somehow managed. After check out we went to Wild Waters for only R15 but had to pay for a towel which I felt was ridiculous as we should still have gotten the full hotel residence treatment.

Over all, even though this is not the newest hotel, it has the potential to be great especially with the entertainment, it just needs better policies and staff training.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia4Rudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great hotel for family entertainment. The water park is great fun for all ages. The rooms are clean comfortable but not very spacious . The staff is friendly. We enjoyed the beach walk with Benny ,he is a very knowledgeable guide on the fossils.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noeleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel offers a spectacular setting: units facing a big swimming pool with the ocean as a backdrop. One can go swim in the pool and then chill by its side looking at the waves down below and having something nice to drink. The beach is 30 seconds away - just a short walk down a hill. The design of the property couldn't be better. In the service department, there is a lot to be improved. Our unit had a lot of problems: from lights not working to a bathroom tap leaking, etc. There was something wrong with their electrical sockets as well. When we plugged in our two phones to charge, the lights went off and my iphone charger got fried!!!! Spent the next day in continuous discussions with the reception staff. They did have an intention to replace the charger, but in the end just gave some cash for compensation. Good intentions, little help though. For the kind of money one has to pay for this hotel, things like that should not happen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a family room which consisted of 2 queen beds with a bathroom. Room rather small but then you only want to sleep there as there's so much to do and experience. Superb ocean views, great restaurants & pubs, casino, the list is just too long. Excellent view to relax. Will definitely be back. Thumbs up to management & staff.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Piet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Best 5 day holiday I've had in a long time, friendly and helpful staff, awesome place for kids, plenty to do for them, wild waves is a must as iswaterworld, only disappointment was steers,
I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Get sea facing on the ground floor
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a perfect destination for a convention. The property is massive and there are plenty of venues and offerings to keep all delegates entertained. All the functions were very well organized. The staff were friendly and the food selection was vast. The rooms have been recently renovated with a ‘beachy’ ‘resorty’ vibe but to be honest I don’t know if I’d come here for an intimate, relaxed vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Edward
10.3 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Splendid Inn Port Edward
Splendid Inn Port Edward
#4 of 4 in Port Edward
96 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
413.1 mi away
Zesty Guesthouse
Zesty Guesthouse
#1 of 15 in Port Edward
55 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kuboboyi River Lodge
Kuboboyi River Lodge
#4 of 15 in Port Edward
43 reviews
15.8 mi away
Beach Motel
Beach Motel
#1 of 5 in Ramsgate
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Coast Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Coast Sun Hotel

Address: Main Bizana Road , 5, 2 Km south of Port Edward, Port Edward 4295, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Edward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Edward
Price Range: $118 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Coast Sun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wild Coast Sun and Country Club in South Africa is set on an unspoiled beach in the Cape and attracts visitors with its beguiling beauty and activities on offer. The resort is set on 750 hectares of natural bush between two rivers overlooking the Indian Ocean. The area offers tourists and conference delegates a variety of attractions and activities – from walks along our unspoilt beaches to deep sea fishing and scuba diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wild Coast Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Coast Sun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing