We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece o Paradise!”
Review of Vuna Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vuna Valley
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Little piece o Paradise!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

After a long days drive and a very quick decision to give Vuna Valley a call, we arrived in the dark to find Vicky, absolute star of a host who made us feel really welcome. A couple of cold beers and a great nights rest later, we woke up in Paradise. Absolutely beautiful. Will definitely return and recommend guests to make a stop here. Thanks again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    2
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

What an amazing place, tucked away in absolute heaven. The hosts were absolutely divine and very helpful. Our room was fantastic with the most amazing view-everything was just so beautiful and green. Our shower was indoors but with a view-absolutely exquisite! Everything was incredibly comfortable especially the beds. Tea, coffee etc in the room. Couches outside your room. Lovely swing at the bottom of the garden as well as a pool. What an amazing stay, thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Dave & Terry spare no effort or trouble to ensure your stay with them is exactly like being at home - they're both relaxed & easygoing that it makes it impossible not to enjoy everything about their breathtaking setting! Rooms are clean, comfortable and all air conditioned, so staying there for the hot months is just a pleasure. They're a stones through away from the river & kayaking is easily arranged. There's a great swimming pool & both are keen on protecting their environment & getting you out there and enjoying their area! Terry's cooking is DELICIOIUS & Dave enoys braaing. The veranda is a great spot to spend an afternoon dozing or reading, especially with the uninterrupted view of the trees, mountain across the river & you're bound to hear a monkey or two scurry across the roof! Cooking in a communal area may be a little "strange" for South Africans, but Terry & Dave have arranged the kitchen in such a way that if you end up there at the same time as another family or other visitors preparing meals, the party begins in the kitchen! All in all, you'll want to stay a night longer!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niks_900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
druyaden
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Vuna Valley is one of the best decisions we made as a group. Dave and Terry are top notch hosts and will arrange any experiences you want, you know, whatever blows your hair back. Terry makes 5 star dinners (make sure you ask her to make the mussel pot) and both are always there with a smile or a great bit of conversation. The accommodations are comfortable and more than reasonable priced. Best priced rooms in the Kwazulu-Natal.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank druyaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Edward
1.2 mi away
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
#3 of 4 in Port Edward
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.0 mi away
Splendid Inn Port Edward
Splendid Inn Port Edward
#4 of 4 in Port Edward
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Zesty Guesthouse
Zesty Guesthouse
#1 of 14 in Port Edward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kuboboyi River Lodge
Kuboboyi River Lodge
#4 of 14 in Port Edward
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vuna Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vuna Valley

Property: Vuna Valley
Address: PO Box 52 | Banners Rest, Port Edward 4295, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Port Edward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Port Edward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vuna Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vuna Valley is a magical place where comfort and nature meet on the banks of the majestic Umtamvuna River, on the border of Kwazulu Natal and Eastern Cape (Transkei). Here you will be forgiven for thinking (and acting) like you're at home. 5 minutes from the quaint town of Port Edward, the Wild Coast Sun casino, Wild waves waterpark and Silver beach, Vuna Valley is far enough to feel like you've escaped, yet close enough to keep your finger on the pulse. Our rooms are simple but clean and comfortable, with airconditioners and private patios with views of the gorge or the gardens. Our large entertainment area is perfect for small rustic functions or romantic dinners for two. We offer self catering, B&B or full catering options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Vuna Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing