We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Day out for the Family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brokerswood Country Park
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We didn't stay on the camping site but were day visitors to Brokerswood. We came on a Saturday and then returned on the Sunday because we enjoyed it so much. We enjoyed a delightful walk through the woods and saw tiny little frogs hopping around, you need very sharp eyes to spot them, as they are smaller than a fingernail!

There's a toddler play area, with picnic tables near by, a small adventure playground and a larger adventure playground too. Both my 5 year old and 11 year old enjoyed the large adventure playground. There was also a play trail, a walk which incorporated playground type activities on the way, such as a see-saw and climbing frame, which we didn't do but it looked like a good way of combining a walk for the adults and play for the children.

There were good areas for barbecuing too, you can get a grill from the shop on site and there's a cafe with cute mini-loaf cakes and a good selection of cold drinks, such as ginger beer, always a favourite with me and the 'Green Bottle' line of drinks too.

You do have to pay to get in, it was £13 for 2 adults and 2 children on our visit but completely worth every penny.

Also, worth noting is the helpfulness and friendliness of the lady at the kiosk where you pay upon entering, very welcoming and a lovely personality too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 694karenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 132 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights with our 3 year old son. Staff are friendly ad helpful and there's lots of information on local attractions (with directions). The on site shop is good and stocks a selection of food , drink, camping equipment and children's toys all at fairly reasonable prices. They do take away fish and chips on a Friday and Saturday night which is all cook fresh to order and was delicious.
The site it self is excellent for kids. The campsite has shower block, washing area and laundry area which were all spotlessly clean and in good condition. The pitches are all level and clearly marked with a small playground in the middle which we could see from our pitch and our son loved. Strict no noise policy after 11 which was ideal. A short distance away from the campsite in there are 2 more play parks and the woods including lake which you could spend hours exploring.
All in all a great stay ideally located for visiting Longleat, we will be visiting again.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank bryant1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed last weekend at Brokerswood last weekend in a motorhome as a family of 4 with 2 teenage boys and a dog.
Check in was easy, the lady was very helpful when I called ahead after I remembered reading about taking a different route if you are driving a larger vehicle. I was given very clear directions to follow.
Our pitch was a hard stand, I wasn't actually aware I had booked a hard stand as I don't generally like them. When I called up to reception the lady nipped straight down on her bike to help resolve the fact that I wasn't that keen on our plot. The severe rain the area had encountered and the forecast of rain meant we had to stay on a hard stand or risk getting stuck ! The lady was pleasant and helpful and suggested we turn our van around to make the most of the green area around us.
We had booked onto the activity day where our 2 boys did archery, canoeing and tree climbing all for about £23 - bargain as each activity is 1.5 hours each. We got really lucky as due to the dreadful forecast other people who had booked to do the activities didn't arrive, meaning our boys meant they had 121 attention ! The guys that run the activities were all really lovely and great fun. They offered us some off site orienteering if we return which we will consider.
The site facilities are kept very clean indeed, the washing area, toilets and showers were perfect.
What really shone for us was the customer service, I popped to the shop to see if they had lemons or candles and they had neither so the lady offered for the train driver to pick them up for me later ! I returned and he had lemons with the receipt so I paid no more than they had and some of their own candles as he hadn't been able to buy any. Later that evening the boys went to buy a hot chocolate but as they weren't serving they were kindly given some powder for me to make them one up (I had run out hence sending them there) this is really going above and beyond.
We sat outside playing cards and the (same lovely) lady popped by on her bike and was very friendly and chatty and pointed out very politely that it was nearly 11pm so we agreed to finish our game and settle in. She told us the next day that someone had been very rude to her when she had asked them the same and I am so shocked as she could not have asked in a nicer way.
There are two play areas, one by the camping (although hidden so you cannot see the kids from the campsite) and another for older kids a little further away. The woods are huge and of course very muddy which the kids and dog loved. I would bring wellies what ever the weather as it was very wet.
They offer fish and chips on a Friday and Saturday night, we didn't have these but they smelt lovely. There is a cafe offering coffee/tea/cake and full breakfasts etc. We did think it was a little pricey (I believe around £5 plus £1.70 if you want tea/coffee) so we decided against it and bought some more bacon to cook in our van.
My only hesitation on returning is the actual camping area isn't that picturesque. We decided plot 3 or 42 are probably the best ones for us if we return. I am a real lover of a huge field with trees etc and because of the numerous hard stands it felt a little less 'at one with nature' but this is personal opinion only.
This is an example of British customer service at its best and the owners should be very proud of their staff.

Room Tip: Plot 3 or 42 I think were best. There is a field at the end near plot 42 if you are camping in a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Flosslovesjimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We as a family stayed at Brokerswood as part of a larger group. The check in was painless with very pleasant, polite and knowledgable staff. The pitch (tent) that we had was far bigger than anything that we have seen before.

The facilities are fantastic with constant hot water, this includes the showers and dishwashing area. There is a shop on site which sells the essentials and also a cafe if you don't fancy cooking.

The surrounding area is all woodland with a large lake. It comprises of numerous different areas for children to play. There is also a bbq area and a train that runs through the wood from the campsite to a play area with 'zip wire', monkey bars etc. You could probably walk through the woods all day without seeing anyone else.

The whole group had a fantastic time there and talking to other 'campers' everyone seemed to have the same opinion that it was a great campsite. We are already planning on going back later in the year.

The week prior to our arrival the weather had been atrocious so the ground may have been a bit muddy but at the end of the day we were camping and not staying at the Ritz. Great fun was had by all....

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Family_Maloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in touring caravan and booked a hard standing pitch which we were glad of given the heavy rain prior to our visit.
Check in fine, pleasant staff who handed out a welcome pack with local info. Located our pitch which was disappointing to say the least, it was not a typical hard standing pitch but an extension of the uneven stoney road which led around the campsite. Due to this it was not a full size hard standing pitch and half of it was grass, due to recent wet weather very wet as well! No divide between pitches as they are just areas where the road widens and it appeared to be park your car wherever!
Toilet/shower block ok but again bit disappointing. Not enough hanging/shelving within shower cubicles which is useful with two kids in tow. Due to wet weather the floors also became very muddy, which is expected but the only mop bucket provided near shower cubicles was never filled with any water or cleaning fluid so the mop was always dirty.
Following an inconsiderate visitor who had left their empty bottle and cotton wool on the shower floor, my young daughters, who quite clearly have better manners than this person, attempted to put them in the bin but unfortunately there was no general waste bin in the block!
Kids enjoyed playing in the park and good location for other attractions nearby but would not stay on this site again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mave2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here as a large group as wanted to visit longleat which is very close by. Had pitches next to each other which was good, and as requested. Large area for campers both caravans and tent. Good size pitch with road running around. Bit of road noise from road next to it but wasn't too bad. Was reasonable size area of field for kids to play and they enjoyed the play area even though due to rain was very boggy down by lake and pitch became so too after rain but is uk not much can do about that.

Electric hook up was a distance from tent, ours even with extension didn't quite reach to go inside tent which not great when raining but no problem with supply.

Shower blocks bit of a shame, in ladies was 3 toilets, 3 showers and 3 sinks but only 1 hand dryer, no plug sockets for own appliance (as other sites have) only 1 mop bucket which shame especially as muddy could of done with more. No shelves, ledges for stuff by sinks could do with some shelves, especially when showering kids. Another girls block had 4 loos 2 showers, nice and warm but again not large and quite busy, closed for 1 hour, when. You are hurried out so they can clean.

Shop may have been ok, but needed milk and bread at 8am, as most campers cook early but shop not open til gone 9, which was a shame.

Nice site but not sure warrants such high costs when could tweak few simple things to make better

We enjoyed our stay but wouldn't visit this site again

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank shaileytuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Very impressed, great site with helpful, friendly staff. The kayaking was a little expensive but a great deal of fun. The space / woodland is great for kids with no shortage of things to play and climb on. The little train adds another little activity and trundles through the wood to another park with zip slide.

Well equipped shop and very good showers and facilities. Happily go back there as my daughters 1.5, 4 and 6 years old all thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingprop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westbury hotels
5.8 mi away
The Three Daggers
The Three Daggers
#1 of 2 in Edington
125 reviews
2.3 mi away
Black Dog Farm B&B
Black Dog Farm B&B
#1 of 3 in Chapmanslade
36 reviews
2.3 mi away
Horse & Groom B&B
Horse & Groom B&B
#6 of 12 in Westbury
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Slades Farm Leisure
Slades Farm Leisure
#2 of 2 in Edington
21 reviews
1.4 mi away
Redwood Lodge B&B
Redwood Lodge B&B
#3 of 12 in Westbury
97 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dilton Court Farm
Dilton Court Farm
#8 of 12 in Westbury
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brokerswood Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brokerswood Country Park

Address: Westbury, Westbury BA13 4EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Westbury
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Westbury
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brokerswood Country Park is a delightful camping and caravan facility located near Westbury in Wiltshire and is set in over 80 acres of natural woodland on the edge of the ancient Selwood Forest.The site boasts excellent modern amenities for both caravans, motor homes and tents.The woodland is also a place of fun with two adventure playgrounds for kids including a covered area for toddlers, a nature trail and a narrow gauge railway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brokerswood Country Park Hotel Wiltshire
Brokerswood Country Park Westbury, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing