We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hollies Inn(Westbury)
$67
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Dog Farm B&B(Chapmanslade)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
92
34
7
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
34
7
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomlovely hotelsunday lunchjacuzzi bathfew monthssirloin steakvisiting the arearooms were spotlessstayed here last weekthe portion sizelovely roombusiness travelenjoyable staysingle roombreakfast rooman evening mealmain course
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 139 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2017

Booked in a load of us for a weekend for a wedding nearby. The beds are really comfy, extra pillows, hairdryer, iron, soap and shampoo -no conditioner though. we had room 3 - lovely except jacuzzi doesn't work - said it was the tri p switch but didnt work next day either. the food portions are huge and lovely - 3 course dinner about £25, lunch 12.95. big carpark - lovely garden -quiet. Bethan was especially helpful and cheery - she looked after us so well. One point though - dog at reception is snappy - don't let kids try and stroke it - growled at us several times - if you leave it alone you are fine but make sure kids dont pester it. we booked a few months in advance but i would put in writing which rooms you want and make sure they are free - one of our party had to sleep in a put u up bed because someone else had been given the room we'd booked. However they did give us a discount and I wouldn't hesitate to use the hotel again.I think they have one room where you can have a dog as well.

Room Tip: .room 3 was nice but jacuzzi didnt work as were 6 and 7. the single room 4 is very small but adequate.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sheilamarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017

We were in room 7 up on 3rd floor and room 18 newer block next door, staying here for my nephews nearby wedding. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were spotless and bright and airy, room 7 has a wet room ( remember to move the toilet rolls out when you shower! ) room 18 had a jacuzzi bath. Rooms have tea and coffee and biscuits - nice touch. Watch out when you fill the kettle in the sink as the tap is very powerful and the sink shallow. The staff were so lovey you really felt they cared how your stay was. We had an extra put up bed for our 2nd child which made the room(18) a bit cramped but it would be fine as a triple room. food was exceptionally good, best soup and brownies I've ever tasted. Nice that they do small bottles of prossecco for £4.95. General feel of the place homely but old school luxury, would definitely recommend for both restaurant and hotel accommodation. would use again if I go to Westbury.

Room Tip: room 7 and 8 are lovely if you dont mind stairs.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gillmather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
42
Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile

We were at Chalford House Hotel this week and I would have to say the food was excellent, I had the duck with was cooked and presented beautifully. The only downside to our meal was the after dinner drinks, we sat in the bar and had to listen to what I gather was the owner completely tearing apart his chef to other staff and guests.. Very unprofessional as from the meal we just had was outstanding. To have to hear him going on really put a damper on our night out I understand from what we heard they have a new chef starting soon, hope he knows what he has let himself in for.. 5* for food, 0* for the unprofessional manner the barman/owner.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart M, Owner at Chalford House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

This is obviously a malicious review, we have had a member of staff with us for in excess of twenty years and others for over 15 years and at present a member joining us again after having a break for 2years...... hardly bad employers!
Rachael Baker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my husband and two dogs. The welcome was warming and friendly. Food, beer and wine were all enjoyable. It was a busy night and all the staff dealt with it efficiently and professionally. Would highly recommend this hotel if you were planning a trip to the area.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RCL1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley H, Owner at Chalford House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Thank you for your review after your stay with us & your two adorable little dogs, we hope you will visit us again & stay longer next time!
Rachael Baker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

Couldn't fault this hotel , 6 of us had three rooms including 2 children, the staff were very obliging & helpful. the room was fab with clean comfortable beds , great wet room and all facilities needed. We had an evening meal which was beautifully cooked & presented. The breakfast was just as good with plenty of hot & cold dishes to suit everyone. a lovely family run business that can truly be recommended, we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anngourl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews