We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
287
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelle and davidperfect hostsbeautiful houseborder terrieron arrivalb bsmade us feelattention to detailhomemade flapjackswarm welcomewonderful staybreakfast was delicioushome from homefresh flowerscakesecond visittop floor
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 288 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2017

We spent a wonderful long weekend at the Old Rectory. From the moment we arrived, Helle was waiting for us with a freshly baked lemon drizzle cake (delicious!) and both Helle and David made us feel very much at home throughout our stay. They were incredibly helpful when we were trying to sort out our daily trips and always happy to give advice. Even our puppy Lola had a blast playing in the beautifully manicured garden with their dogs, Teddy and Tilly. The room we stayed in was large, clean and quiet. The Old rectory is a perfect place to relax and spend a stress-free few days in the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. Thank you Helle and David for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Dear Juan,
Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing to stay at The Old Rectory. We absolutely loved having you and we hope that we might see you again here in wonderful Wiltshire. Only thing though: you will HAVE to bring Lola again, what a little star she was, so sweet and so incredibly well behaved.
Have our very warmest of wishes and please do all come and see us again - even if you are just passing by. We will make sure to have some lemon-drizzle ready for you.
Helle and David - and Teddy and Tilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

This was our second stay at the Old Rectory and this time with our 10 year old daughter. Helle went out of her way to make us welcome as we had a quite hectic timetable, which was especially kind for our daughter who was made to feel very welcome. As ever we would always come back, I cannot imagine there are many better B&Bs in the SW of England!

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Dear Bill,
Thank you so very much for taking time to write us such a lovely review. We know you are very busy at the moment so we really appreciate it. It was lovely seeing you again and to meet your daughter too.
Very warmest of wishes and we hope to see you again before too long.
Helle and David - and Teddy and Tilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

We had the good fortune to select this wonderful bed and breakfast accommodation in Coulston, near Westbury in Wiltshire. There's little we can add to the other recent recommendations. It sounds too good to be true, but it's even better than that! Our short break was enhanced by the kindness, generosity and attention to detail that made our stay so special for us. We didn't have the opportunity to meet David, but can only assume he is a special person because Helle chose him! Accommodation was faultless, food was totally scrumptious - and gluten free was not a problem, in fact nothing was too much for Helle. We hope to see you again, but in Hertfordshire and thank you again for your hospitality that made our short break perfect!

Room Tip: There are two rooms, both of which are wonderful!
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthpatashnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Dear Ruth,
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write this lovely review. It was absolutely great having you both here and seeing that you were enjoying a much needed break. I very much look forward to meeting you again. In the meantime, have a good last bit of the summer - hopefully with some serious sunshine.
Very warmest of wishes to you both.
Helle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017

We traveled a lot in the last 10 years all over Europe, mostly in B&B to know local people, and I can say that Helle and David are the most charming and elegant hosts we met until now !
They have an important advantage for start, their 200 years old mannor, maintained in perfect shape, in which you feel so confortable from the first minute you step in. But the real difference is made by them. I would even dare to say we have now two new friends after these holidays !
In January, when wanted to book for July, Helle, in spite of having already a partial reservation for the period, succeeded to solve and offer us the entire period. That's how she convinced us to choose her. And now I know it was the perfect decision.
The room at first floor is large, very confortable, spotless clean and offers a view towards the beautiful garden.
The breakfast prepared by Helle is amazing, both quality and quantity, full English plus others and surprises; and this comment is coming from somebody who like to eat a lot in the mornings ! :)
About orientation, our hosts helped us each morning with every detail or info we needed in the area.
Old Rectory is very well located close to all interesting points: by car there are 20 min to Stonehenge and another 15 minutes to Salisbury, 45 minutes to Longleat, 35 minutes to Bath, 25 minutes to Lacock.
Only Cotswolds area is a bit further, 1,5 hours, but it definitely worth visiting Bibury, Burford, Bourton on Water and Chipin Campden, absolutely charming old villages. We also visited Stourhead and Oxford, so we succeeded to see a lot for 5 days.

Conclusions: Great accomodation and food, perfect location for visiting attractions (by car), but most of all, the superlative care, delicate and elegant, of Helle and David.
A location which we strongly reccomend !

Thank you Helle, David, we will see us again !
Ovidiu and Claudia

Room Tip: room at first floor offers a better view
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OvidiuH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Dear Ovidiu and Claudia,
Thank you so much for taking time to write us such a lovely review, we are very touched by your kind words. And yes, you definitely have got two new friends, we very much enjoyed your visit and all our chats. You managed to do and see so much while you were here and still have time to relax 'at home'. We hope we will see you again, either here or indeed in your country which is now another place we feel we must explore.
Do come and visit whenever you are in England next. In the meantime, we hope you are well and enjoying life - and have had some sunny days to enjoy.
Very warmest of wishes
Helle and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Returning to this gorgeous part of the UK we could not have wished for better hosts than Helle and David.
Their attention to detail is shown throughout, their comprehensive directions to enable us to find them,the property itself in both its design, decoration and the thoughtful little box of "In case you have forgotten" left in the bedroom.
Nothing was too much trouble and they could have not made us feel more welcome and special.
Home made elder flower cordial on our arrival, a place in the fridge for our wine and a cold box to transport it the next day, a delicious breakfast and kindness throughout helped to make a perfect break.
We were so taken by their generosity and kindness that we have already booked for a return stay in the near future
We can not recommend them highly enough

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank terrystefani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Dear Terry,
Thank you SO much for very your kind review and for your perseverance in getting it on Tripadvisor. You deserve a medal! It was absolutely lovely having you stay last time and we are very much looking forward to seeing you again before long.
In the meantime, have a super weekend hopefully with some sunshine.
Very warmest of wishes to you both.
Helle and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews