We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Rectory Wiltshire
Ranked #1 of 12 Westbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

A wonderful 2 night stay at The Old Rectory in March. We really enjoyed it. Helle and David are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble at all. Teddy the canine superstar is so sweet! The room was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room with open fire. Very cosy as we watched the snow start to fall. Very helpful with tips on where to go and what to do and the best places to eat and park. So enjoyed our weekend that we are going back in June for another long weekend and rural recharge!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Hi there,
Thank you so much for your very kind words, we are really looking forward to seeing you again soon and will have our fingers firmly crossed for a weekend full of sunshine for you!
Very best wishes for a lovely day.
Helle and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 264 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were so lucky to have booked this B&B as David,Helle and William are such a delightful family.The rooms were light and spacious, the breakfast was hearty and healthy. We stayed at the Old Rectory as we had a friend's wedding on the Saturday night. David and Helle were so helpful in booking taxis and recommending pubs to eat at.
I can't recommend this B and B highly enough, and think Tripadvisor should create a sixth star for those really special places. The Old Rectory would certainly earn it.

Thank you for such lovely memories and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jru100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Hi there all,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was super having you all here - and on top of that your amazing car gave us a lot of street credit in the village!
We hope to see you again - in the meantime have a lovely Spring (if ever it gets here).
Very best wishes from us all.
Helle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had a fantastic stay. Bed was large and very comfy, breakfast very filling. The owners are extremely lovely and will go out of their way to help you. Do yourself a favour and be sure to book in for a few nights as one was not enough!!!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BrisbaneHoneyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Hi there all,
Thank you so much for your very kind review, it was really super having you - our first Australians since we started last June! We hope you are having a fantastic trip round the UK - it certainly sounded like you were going to enjoy yourself!
Very best wishes and have an amazing time.
Helle and David (and Teddy)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our second visit to The Old Rectory. We don't normally go to places more than once as we prefer to sample different venues, however we made an exception here as our last visit was so good. What a great choice we made! As before, everything was just perfection. Helle and David are such lovely people and they cannot do enough for you. The garden is brilliant for the dogs and it is so nice to find a place where the owners are relaxed about dogs being there and they are made truly welcome (including a lovely welcome from Teddy who followed us around everywhere!). It is such a treat to stay here, everything (furnishings, food, etc, etc.) is provided for quality rather than cost. We highly recommend that if you want to treat yourself you cannot do better than to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HunPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hi there,
Thank you first of all for visiting us for the second time. As you usually choose different places, we were very honoured to have you with us again! It was lovely having you and your extremely well behaved hounds back here, I will be putting the photo of them on our blog in the near future.
We hope you are enjoying what finally looks like the onset of spring and please, do pop in for a cup of coffee or tea if you are in the area.
Very best wishes from us all.
Helle, David, William and Teddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have to add another excellent review of The Old Rectory to the many posted here. I stayed two nights and could not have felt more welcome. David and Helle and, of course, the adorable border terrier Teddy, treated me like a dear friend. The house was cozy, clean, and beautifully decorated. I absolutely loved having a perfect English breakfast by a crackling fireplace. Don't miss the breakfast smoothie! I would not hesitate to return and hope to bring my children next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHF11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hi there,
Thank you so much for taking time out to write us such a lovely review. It was great having you and I trust that you had a good and safe trip back to the family in Hong Kong. I am sure the girls were very pleased to see you and hope that we will meet them if you decide to come back to Wiltshire again.
Very best wishes
Helle and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at "The Old Rectory". Helle and David and their son William are so friendly, cordial and helpful. Very nice and cosy rooms, opulent and tasty breakfast. Besides we all loved Teddy. Our dog played with him all day long in the beautiful garden. We'd love to visit "The Old Rectory" again!! Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpkatrini1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear all,
Thank you so much for your lovely review which is very much appreciated. The house felt empty when you had left after five great days here. It was lovely having you all here and seeing you enjoy yourselves playing board games in the dining room. Teddy has been missing his new best friend although he did catch up on some sleep.
We hope to see you back here at The Old Rectory Wiltshire at some stage.
Very best wishes to you all including Granny.
Helle, David, William - and Teddy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We could not fault out stay at the Old Rectory. From the moment we were greeted by David as we parked the car to the time we left feeling like we were old friends and our children requesting another booking to be made!
David, Helle and William (not forgetting Teddy the dog) made us feel like part of the family and were very attentive .Standard of cleanliness was excellent in the rooms and the little touches here and there made the trip extra special....homemade flapjacks in the room and toffees made it difficult to leave . A wonderful organic breakfast including homemade granola by Helle proved a wonderful start to the day, log fires and our hosts booking two wonderful pubs for our evening meals then on the final day pony tekking for our children. A perfect stay.

The Henry family

Room Tip: if you have mobility difficulties, there are steep stairs to the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_JaneH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Sarah-Jane,
Thank you for your absolutely lovely review. It was great having you all here and we are so glad you enjoyed it so much. You certainly managed to cram a lot in: A day in beautiful Bath and then some successful pony trekking the following morning.
We hope we will see you back here at The Old Rectory Wiltshire before too long. I am sure Teddy will be as delighted as we.
Very best wishes for a sunny weekend.
Helle, David, William and - Teddy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westbury hotels
5.5 mi away
Chalford House Hotel
Chalford House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Westbury
127 reviews
5.0 mi away
Horse & Groom B&B
Horse & Groom B&B
#6 of 12 in Westbury
12 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Three Daggers
The Three Daggers
#1 of 2 in Edington
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Slades Farm Leisure
Slades Farm Leisure
#2 of 2 in Edington
20 reviews
8.1 mi away
Black Dog Farm B&B
Black Dog Farm B&B
#1 of 3 in Chapmanslade
33 reviews
5.7 mi away
Redwood Lodge B&B
Redwood Lodge B&B
#3 of 12 in Westbury
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Wiltshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Wiltshire

Address: 17 Church Lane, Coulston, Westbury BA13 4NY, England (Formerly The Old Rectory Coulston)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Westbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Westbury
Price Range: $92 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory Wiltshire 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will get a warm welcome at The Old Rectory, a charming Georgian house situated in a quiet village in stunning countryside in rural Wiltshire, only one and a half hours train ride from London. Sightseeing include Stonehenge, Avebury, Bath, Salisbury, Wells. Houses/gardens: Longleat, Stourhead, Bowood. The Old Rectory is light, airy, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable - our aim is to make you feel at home here. The almost 2 acre garden is safely fenced in and has wisterias, old fashioned roses and a big sunny lavender lined patio to enjoy. We source the best local produce for our delicious organic breakfasts. Wonderful walking, cycling and golf on the doorstep. We welcome single travellers, groups of friends, families and well behaved dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Old Rectory Wiltshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Wiltshire Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing