We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming stay in Wiltshire”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory Wiltshire
Ranked #1 of 12 Westbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming stay in Wiltshire”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Lovely calm setting close to the restaurant for a seventieth party!
The room was lovely with very comfortable beds. The organic breakfast in the the beautiful dining room was the icing on the cake!
Helle and David made us all very welcome

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Peter,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad the family get-together went well and that you had a good time.
Very best wishes for a lovely Christmas and a super New Year.
Helle and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
123
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

A superb setting, ideally located for aosb candidates travelling by car. Helle made every effort to ensure a pleasant stay, including a fantastic breakfast. The room was superbly comfortable and I look forward to staying again at some point in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Hi Will,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Old Rectory Wiltshire and are really looking forward to seeing you again. In the meantime, have a lovely Christmas and a great New Year!
Very best wishes
Helle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent two nights at The Old Rectory in Wiltshire, and had the most wonderful stay. Helle and David welcomed us into their lovely home and made us feel immediately at ease and relaxed - we even spent an enjoyable few hours watching the rugby together! The house is beautiful and our bedroom was amazing. We ate at the local pub The Three Daggers both nights which was lovely. Definately recommend if your looking for a few blissful days in the countryside.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi there,
Thank you for taking time to give us such a kind review, it was lovely having you here. David thoroughly enjoyed your company whilst watching the rugby. Hope you had a safe journey home and a lovely family party.
Very best wishes from us all.
Helle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a really lovely weekend stay here. Constant rain didn't effect our time here. We felt very welcomed, comfortable and well looked after. Breakfast was a wonderful organic feast - delicious. We would recommend it as a place to stay - good places to visit near-by too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi there,
Thank you so much for your lovely words, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you had a super day sightseeing in the lovely weather on your way back home. Have a lovely December.
Very best wishes
Helle and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a brilliant stay at this dog friendly B&B. Helle and David were very friendly and welcoming and the house and grounds are absolutely gorgeous! We had a really good night's sleep as our bedroom was so quiet and breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely but only one is dog friendly so ring and request that one if you are bringing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoverRecommended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi there,
Thanks so much for your very positive feedback, we enjoyed having you and still think about your lovely doggie watching the fish in the pond! Thanks also for your link on your 'Rover Recommended' site, we have already have a number of guests with dogs having looked for dog-friendly accommodation after that and some very happy dogs roaming about in the garden.
Very best wishes and hope to see you again sometime.
Helle, David and - most definitely - Teddy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I can truly reccomend the Old Rectory as a nice place to stay, Helle really makes you feel welcome and likes to engage in good conversation with her geusts. I only stayed for one night on a wintery sort of night, but nevertheless the surroundings are very impressive and I still enjoyed my stay. I will be staying at the Old Rectory whenever it fits in with my trips down South in the future. I have no doubt as this business becomes more established that Helle will continue to invest in her business as you can tell it means a lot to her and to her guests.
For ease of finding the Old Rectory is off Church Lane - Near the Red Telephone box.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Ho Tony,
Thank you for your kind words. It was lovely having you, felt like we had known you for ages. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Old Rectory Wiltshire at some stage.
Very best wishes
Helle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

From the outset (turning up prior to check-in time) to the moment we left, Helle made us extremely welcome: Great conversation, superb homemade food, beautiful room, cute dog, amazing location and all the other small details (including good local produce). The gardens were wonderful, vibrant and buzzing with wildlife.
We only stayed for one night but Helle managed to provide us with useful information about where to take a wee drive, go for a short walk and directions to our next place.There was also an interesting story about the rectory...

We thoroughly and without reservation recommend The Old Rectory as a place to stay. We would have loved to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clive p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Clive,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was great meeting you both and I hope that your new and exciting ventures are going really well. You must enjoy getting ready for summer (as we are now definitely moving towards winter). Hope you will have a great one. Do keep us posted if and when your websites are up and running.
Very best wishes
Helle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbury
7.0 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
855 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chalford House Hotel
Chalford House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Westbury
116 reviews
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Three Daggers
The Three Daggers
#1 of 2 in Edington
121 reviews
2.9 mi away
Littleton Lodge
Littleton Lodge
#1 of 1 in Littleton Panell
79 reviews
5.7 mi away
Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Wiltshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Wiltshire

Property: The Old Rectory Wiltshire
Address: 17 Church Lane, Coulston, Westbury BA13 4NY, England (Formerly The Old Rectory Coulston)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Westbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Westbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will get a warm welcome at The Old Rectory, a charming Georgian house situated in a quiet village in stunning countryside in rural Wiltshire, only one and a half hours train ride from London. Sightseeing include Stonehenge, Avebury, Bath, Salisbury, Wells. Houses/gardens: Longleat, Stourhead, Bowood. The Old Rectory is light, airy, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable - our aim is to make you feel at home here. The almost 2 acre garden is safely fenced in and has wisterias, old fashioned roses and a big sunny lavender lined patio to enjoy. We source the best local produce for our delicious organic breakfasts. Wonderful walking, cycling and golf on the doorstep. We welcome single travellers, groups of friends, families and well behaved dogs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Wiltshire Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing