We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory Wiltshire
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Travelodge Warminster(Warminster)(Great Value!)
$56
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel(Trowbridge)(Great Value!)
$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Beckington(Beckington)(Great Value!)
$53
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Polebarn(Trowbridge)
$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Frome Hotel(Frome)(Great Value!)
$99
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishopstrow House(Warminster)
$269
$260
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moonraker(Trowbridge)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
270
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelle and davidperfect hostsbeautiful houseb bold friendsborder terriermade us feelfresh fruitattention to detaillemon drizzle cakesconeswarm welcomewonderful stayhome from homelarge gardensecond visitperfect break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 271 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have to start off by saying that whatever I write here will be an understatement of how wonderful The Old Rectory and its hosts are. This was not a typical B&B stay by any means. As others here have said the house itself is stunning and the gardens are so restful. We travelled as two couples to celebrate our friends birthday. Our arrival started with being served tea and homemade flapjack outside surrounded by the heady scents of the swathes of lavender bordering the gardens. We then went and strolled through the deer park right next to their home and had the magical experience of sitting quietly in the field watching herds of beautiful deer tentatively approaching us. The evening bought the most special part of our stay. As it was a special occasion we had arranged for Helle and David to cook dinner for us all - it was truly spectacular! At 8pm the four of us met in the lounge by the open fire for drinks and canapés and then were invited into the candlelit dining room, surrounded by tiny flower blooms in little glass vases, for a sumptuous meal. We truly felt like royalty that evening and felt we had been gifted something very special.

Thank you Helle and David for the beautiful memories!

Chantal x

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Manager at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Chantal,
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we really enjoyed having you for this very special occasion. It was lovely to see you all so happy and relaxed and really enjoying life.
Hope to see you again, in the meantime good luck with your beautiful art and keep us posted as to the next exhibition.
Very best wishes for a sunny weekend.
Helle, David, William and Teddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Truly a stunning house and beautiful grounds. Really beautifully decorated with gorgeous airy feeling. This was topped off with such an amazing welcome from Helle, David, their son and gorgeous dog Teddy. They bent over backward to make sure we had everything. We had a really fleeting visit on the way to pick up our puppy but will definitely be returning soon. The breakfast was really delicious with everything you could want (freshly squeezed Orange and local produce etc). The room was so lovely with your own bathroom and tea and coffee facilities. Absolutely first class, thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Hi there all,
Thanks for your very lovely words, it was great to have you here and so exciting about the new puppy (we know exactly how you felt when going to pick yours). We shall look forward to welcoming you all if you decide to come back for a weekend away. Remember, the garden is safely fenced in so perfect for a labrador youngster to roam about in. Teddy would be delighted too!
Very best wishes and have a lovely autumn.
Helle and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

we recently stayed at the old rectory and cant wait to go back next summer, we stayed in the familly suite, my 12 year old daughter loved her quaint little bedroom and ours was beautifully decorated and spacious, Helle and David are the most attentive hosts making you feel genuinely welcome and have thought of eveything from homemade granola bars in our room to warm milk and dressing gowns left at the bottom of our stairs, the house itself is very tastefully decorated in a boutique kind of style and the grounds are also beautiful and so peacful, behind the house is a magnificant deer park, well worth a stroll. the breakfast was delicious and again David and Helle have gone all out ...the homemade granola and fresh fruit was just for starter followed by a magnificant cooked breakfast all locally sourced produce from the neibouring farm shop was one of the best breakfasts ive had on an away from home trip.. overall Helle and David were open inviting people where nothing was to much trouble, and teddy the dog was well worth the visit if nothing else! we highly recomend the rectory for peace tranqulity and a home from home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Hi there all,
Thank you for your kind feedback, we really enjoyed having you here. Thanks also again for the lovely photos, we hope to see you again next summer.
All our best wishes for a super autumn.
Helle, David, William - and Teddy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Helle and David make you feel so genuinely welcome. Throughout our three night stay it felt like we were with friends. The Old Rectory is so peaceful, charming, tastefully decorated and furnished. Our room, and bathroom, were very clean, comfortable and restful, overlooking the gardens of this splendid home. The breakfast selection was delicious with locally sourced and Organic produce. Our stay was enhanced further by Teddy, the very friendly Border Terrier, who was a delight, and welcomes other four legged friends to stay. We would always stay here when in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milo1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Hi there,
Thank you for your lovely words, it was great having you and we hope to see you again. Only condition: You have got to bring Milo along so Teddy can meet him.
Very best wishes for a great autumn.
Helle and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We recently spent two nights at the wonderful Old Rectory, and it simply wasn’t long enough! The house and gardens are so beautiful, with every care and effort taken to make it a real home. We stayed on the top floor, in a gorgeous, light and spacious room, with our own private bathroom complete with luxury tub. The attention to detail is first class, with everything you could possibly need for a relaxing stay, even tasty home baked cookies. Helle and David are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. They made it such a memorable stay, organising a visit to The Courts Garden, booking a table in the excellent Three Daggers pub, (so good, we went back on the second night) suggesting scenic walks and even loaning us hats! Teddy their adorable dog is a perfect addition to the house. The breakfasts are exquisite, with fresh, scrumptious local produce and the best homemade granola ever! After a long day of exploring and walking, we were greeted with tea and freshly baked flapjacks in the garden. We have never felt so well looked after and absolutely cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helle D, Owner at The Old Rectory Wiltshire, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Hi Sam,
Thank you so much for your glowing report, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely having you here and we can't wait to get you back once your busy schedules allow another trip to your home in the country.
Very best wishes to you both and hope to catch up before too long.
Helle and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews