We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kicking Donkey - CLOSED

The Kicking Donkey
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: The Kicking Donkey re opened under NEW ownership in March 2012! We are becoming renowned for quality & excellence of our food, only local & seasonal ingredients are ever used. We even make all our ketchup, mayo, tartar sauces etc. in our kitchens!We have a fantastic & very large Beer Gardens, Children's Play Equipment, Free Range Chickens, Poly Tunnel, Vegetable Gardens, Ample Off Road Parking & a Gift Shop, situated in the most beautiful, peaceful surroundings within Brokerswood.We are very Child, Family & Dog Friendly, and have a large selection of draught Beers, Ales & Ciders, as well as some unusual alternatives!Come pay us a visit, you will not be disappointed!!Kindest RegardsThe Team at The Kicking Donkey
south west
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Have been here before on several occasions and enjoyed the food. Planned this for lunch over birthday weekend and what a disappointment.

Not much choice of food, but it was Sunday lunchtime with roast dinner. The menu lists bread and olives to enjoy while ordering. We ordered the bread and olives but they took 20 minutes to arrive. Told waitress we couldn't wait that long for the main as we had other commitments that afternoon. She did say she would ask chef to make our main a priority, but the chicken was barely warm, the portion sizes poor for the prices charged.

To top it all, when the bill arrived, we had been charged for three meals when there was only two of us.

Did complain and received an apology, but we will not be going back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chipwilt19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    27
    15
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor staff attention to detail.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Ate at the kicking donkey this evening, everything stated off ok, we were shown to our table quickly, had a drinks order taken and given our menus within a few minutes. However it all went down hill from there. Our meals came out after 45 minutes, being only two of the party of fours meals, one being a medium rare cooked steak when rare was ordered, also no knife to accompany the dish. The second two meals came out a mere 15 minutes later, we weren't asked whether we would like anything to accompany the dish; red sauce Etc. We were shocked to not receive a check back to see if our meals were alright.
Overall the experience we had was not one that we would be willing to repeat any time soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyinghigh210912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Being new to the area, we stopped into the kicking donkey when we passed it by chance. It was a lovely day so we sat outside on the lovely patio. There is plenty of outside space with a lovely kiddies play area.
Inside has a modern rustic charm. . We were served quickly and attentively by the staff (a lady who i assume was the landlady, and a lovely young man behind the bar) and i thought it nice that the chef popped his head out to say hi too!
Lovely varied menu, maybe a little bit expensive.. But it may just be that im from a different part of the country! ;-)
When lunch came however it was the best burger id ever had!!! Id have happily paid any price!
I will be back!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laura-n-ricardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Staying at a local camp site for two nights we walked along the country lanes and found this lovely pub. Comfortably decked out with inside and outside space, sofas, play area for kids and a spacious dining area. Ordered two fish and chip specials which were delicious and a summer mess and cheese board. Bottle of white, a pint and a coffee to drink. We were very happy at £46 the lot. The meal and the service were great. It was a weds night and it was quiet. We are going again tonight!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“absolutely the best experience around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

i visited the kicking donkey with friends and family
the food was absolutely superb, we ordered the rumps they were cooked to perfection
they have a chicken pen and outdoor area for kids to play in also a football yard
they gave my friends kids sweets at the end of the meal too
the service of the waiters/waitresses was sufficient and happy environment to be in
i must say the desserts are to die for
what a great experience at the kicking donkey i will be returning
thank you

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kicking Donkey also viewed

Ormskirk, Lancashire
Westbury, Wiltshire
 
Chapmanslade, Westbury
 
Westbury, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing