We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful City Trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gresham Belson Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Evere
Reviewed November 6, 2012

About one month ago we went to Brussels and stayed at the Gresham Belson Hotel.
The reception was very good, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are good; large, clean and fully equipped.
I think we had a room with renovated bathroom, I loved the mosaic tiles.
Breakfast was great, lots of choice, they had everything you can imagine!
This hotel is not expensive and you get value for money.
Our city trip was wonderful! If we ever go back to Brussels, we will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngridLambrechts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScheersN, Manager at Gresham Belson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Ms. Lambrechts,

Thank you very much for having taken the time out of your day to write such a wonderful review on our hotel. we appreciate any feedback we receive, especially when it is positive.

Such encouraging remarks motivate us to keep up to par with our good work and even to try to strive to do better. your nice comments show us, our employees and our guests that our efforts to improve have not gone unnoticed. we would like to thank you again for your kind words and we hope you will honor us with your presence again in the future.

sincerely,


The Gresham Belson Hotel
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 412 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Booked in by my company to attend a course.
Already wish I chose my usual Brussels hotel.
Room is shabby,
Wifi very weak.
TV impossible, even for a techno phone like me, to switch on. (Someone will be along in 5, 10 or 15 minutes?)
Curtains hanging off rail.
Cupboard doors badly scuffed
And all this after just 15 minutes of arriving.
Please let me go home!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank emeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScheersN, Manager at Gresham Belson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Ms. Emeles,

thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It saddens us to hear your stay was less than our usual service.

The Room in question has been fixed and all broken parts have been replaced. As for the television, our rooms have recently been equipped with all new TV sets.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay but truly appreciate your comments that help us improve.

We hope that despite your imperfect stay you will honor us by staying with us again the next time you are in Brussels.

Yours sincerely,

The Gresham Belson Hotel
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed in the hotel in Oktober 2012 for 4 days. I payed a high price because Brussels was crowded. The room had to single 80 cm wide beds, the mattress was 20 cm thick and far too soft, impossible to sleep well. The rooms to the street (corner hotel) are also far to loud because of the bad sound absorbing of the old windows.
The carpet in the room is blurry, the towels stinking like hell and the ventilation transport the smell of smoke everywhere.
The "fitness room" is an empty standard room with 4 very old equiment. The service is also below average.
I'll never stay there again!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMozes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScheersN, Manager at Gresham Belson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Mr. Mozes,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniencies you experienced. As a result of your remarks, we have acknowledged that the towels are no longer up to standard. Therefore we have invested in a complete linen change in the entire hotel as of 16th November 2012.

Our personnel on duty have instructions to respect the law that forbids people to smoke in "non-smoking areas" and to notify guests of this prohibition.

We have reminded to the staff about this delicate matter.

We have already acknowledged the quality of our fitness area, we are currently looking to renew the fitness equipment.

We hope that in spite of your unpleasant experience, you will honour us of your presence during your next visit to Brussels.


Kind regards
The Gresham Belson Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel overal for the purposes of business i would say is not too bad with free wifi throughout

However, on one evening myself and colleagues decided to take an evening meal at the hotel.
Please read and take note:
There is NO evening chef
The food is cooked on a small griddle behind the bar (i had a sneaky peek)

The chicken burger on offer is of the worst kind of reformed substitues (cannot even bring myself to call it meat)

The Cheese burger again is a frozen very cheap and nasty burger

The macaroni cheese was mocrowaved! (heard the 'ping')

We did ask the barman if the meat was fresh and the burger homemade, but he did not have a clue...

I really would advise you NOT to eat at this hotel!!

If you fancy a 10-15 minute walk down the main road (turn right out of hotel and right onto main road) There is a lovely brasserie on the corner just past the garage with Logan cars on show.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window on one of the higher floors as traffic gets busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Rooms
Thank simflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScheersN, Manager at Gresham Belson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear sir,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to comment on the Gresham Belson Hotel.
Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the food quality and lack of information.

We appreciate your comment about the service and the food in the bar, we would like to inform you that we indeed have no fully equipped kitchen. We serve hot & cold dishes in the bar which is prepared by the bartender. It is true that some of our food is precooked by a caterer and later prepared to the chef’s instructions.

However, meals such as the burgers are always freshly prepared with utmost care. We would like to apologize for the discomfort you experienced if the food was not to your liking. We have alerted and trained the barman to better inform our guests.

We would like to reiterate our thanks for your comments and we hope that, in spite of your bad experience you will honour us of your presence when your travels bring you back to Brussels.

Thank you very much,
The Gresham Belson Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband, me and my baby daughter stayed on this hotel for one night while driving through Europe on holidays. They added a cot to the bedroom, beds were reasonably clean and comfortable, bathroom was small but functional. The room had tea and coffee making facilities and an empty fridge under the desk (which turned out great because we could get our water and drinks cold, however, I am not sure this was done purposefully). They have parking available to guests, but they do charge a reasonable amount for each 24h. We decided to leave our car there and explore Brussels by bus. It takes about 20-30 minutes to reach the city centre by bus. Fare is affordable and there are loads of buses passing by every couple of minutes. Later in the day we called room service and requested a meal, which was OK (but considering the price, could have been better served/ cooked). We were really tired and didn't feel like going out for dinner, but I noticed there were a couple of restaurants nearby. The best part of the experience was the lovely breakfast, which was included in the room price (£49). Huge variety of things to eat, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonorSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillemsRaf, General Manager at Gresham Belson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear madam,

First of all, thank you very much for having stayed at the Gresham Belson Hotel and thank you for sharing your experience online

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Our amenities are there for you to enjoy, and we are glad you found them useful and convenient. Thank you for sharing your travel experience, as guests always enjoy hearing how easy it is to navigate Brussels.

Thank you also for your comments about the room service. We are always looking for ways to improve our services, and the next time you order a meal I am sure you will enjoy it! If you are here again, there are also several fine restaurants in the area that serve many types of food.

Also I'd like to let you know that we've started doing refurbishments to the rooms and bathrooms as well as touching up & refreshing all the public areas to make sure everything looks fresh and new to increase the overall guest experience. I think you will find that our hotel is wonderfully improved!

We look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I chose to stay in this hotel based on its 4 star description and amenities. It is a 3 star, at best (my wife says 2). No coffee/tea equipment in the room, no washcloths nor face towels. The breakfast buffet was marginal and steeply priced at 23 euros per person. We entered as soon as it opened and the eggs were lukewarm, at best. Free wi-fi and an airport shuttle were provided, but I cannot say they outweighed the negatives of the property.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillemsRaf, General Manager at Gresham Belson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear sir/madam,

First of all, thank you very much for having stayed at the Gresham Belson Hotel and thank you for sharing your experience online

Thank you for the comments about our breakfast as we are always looking for ways to improve our services. I can assure you that your experience will be much improved the next time you visit! Thank you for the compliments about our free airport shuttle, we are happy to provide our guests with an hassle free way to and from the airport.

Also I'd like to let you know that we've started doing refurbishments to the rooms and bathrooms as well as touching up & refreshing all the public areas to make sure everything looks fresh and new to increase the overall guest experience. I think you will find that our hotel is wonderfully improved!

We look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for one night recently. I do not know Brussels very much but I would say, that location is quite ok. The reason for average rating is that hotel is supposed to be 4 stars. If it was three stars, I would not complain but as it should be of higher standard, here are few things I was suprised of. Room was nice in overall but quite small even for one person and not for two (I had double bed room). The furniture was little bit outdated. The aircondition did not seem to work as the air was warm even when I have set the lowest temperature possible. I did not complain with the reception as I stayed only for one night. Breakfast was not included but cost 23 EUR extra - I did not go for it so I cannot rate the choice and quality.

In overall, it was quite pleasant stay but rooms should be little bit updated (there was ancient classic TV instead of small LCD for example) to meet the expectations that you would have from contemporary 4 stars hotel.

Room Tip: Although the window in the room had sign that it could not be fully opened, it was possible to open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Mr.

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback.

Your feedback helps us measure and improve the quality of the service that we provide to our guests.

It gives us immense pride to learn that you had a satisfactory stay at The Gresham Belson Brussels

We have investigated into the points of concerns raised by you and can confirm that corrective measures are underway.

We are happy to tell you that all the bathroom will be soon renovated and that LCD flat screens are being now installed in all the rooms.

Regarding the breakfast, this is the maximum price that can be asked for the breakfast. Please see our website for special offer for the breakfast.

We hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you again and objectively prove that the quality of service has improved indeed.
Awaiting the pleasure to welcome you back in the Gresham Belson Hotel Brussels.

Your sincerely

Tiffany Bour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evere
0.4 mi away
Ramada Brussels Woluwe
Ramada Brussels Woluwe
#2 of 4 in Woluwe-Saint-Lambert
435 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3,927 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Brussels
Courtyard Brussels
#1 of 3 in Evere
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Husa President Park
Husa President Park
#79 of 199 in Brussels
1,307 reviews
3.1 mi away
Izan Avenue Louise
Izan Avenue Louise
#124 of 199 in Brussels
564 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Brussels Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gresham Belson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Belson Hotel

Address: Avenue des Anciens Combattants 1, Evere, Brussels 1140, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Evere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Evere
Price Range: $70 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gresham Belson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gresham Belson Hotel offers 136 rooms and 6 new meeting rooms for 4 to 50 participants.The cosy Shannon Lounge Bar is the ideal place to relax after a long, hard working day. We are offering a personalised service and our motivated team is dedicated to making your stay more comfortable. You benefit from:-> Free Wireless Internet in the rooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Free shuttle service to and from Brussels International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gresham Belson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Belson Brussels
Hotel Gresham Belson
Gresham Belson Hotel Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing