We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quaint, reasonable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Derby
Ranked #8 of 9 Etterbeek B&B and Inns
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“quaint, reasonable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

We all really loved this hotel...very close to the metro exit, so convenient. Looks like the rooms will be tiny from the outside, but inside they are quite spacious and lovely. We had two rooms, one with a balcony and a nice breakfast nook, and the other with two bedrooms and a big bathroom, which also had a breakfast nook. The continental breakfast was served in the room. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The reception staff were very helpful when asking about attractions, and how to get places, and spoke excellent English, which is a bonus, since I found it hard to find anyone who spoke it, or admitted to speaking it. The only drawback at this hotel was that the location was in a bit of a rough area, but we didn't really venture out at night, so it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    27
    19
    30
See reviews for
10
21
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

I've been staying for one night. A long nightmare. Since the check in I've been quite worried about the situation. They asked me to pay at the reception before even getting into the bedroom. As soon as I got into the bedroom I understood why. Dirty and smelly. Did not use the bathroom because too much dirty, did not use any service since they do not have one. Asked to be waken up in ther morning, they confirmed. In the morning they did not wake me up, when I woke up I run down and the person supposed to wake me up was still sleeping. I've almost lost my flight. And when I asked for support the owner answered they are a 2 star hotel and therefore people do not have to expect services. Unbelievable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Etterbeek hotels

New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

Booked to stay 5 nights, moved out after one. Room and bedding very dirty, bathroom hadn't been cleaned properly. Hole in wall of my room, there appeared to be mouse droppings on the floor. Had requested smokefree rooms, arrived to find all of hotel very very smoky. Bedroom smoky, including linen and curtains. When we complained to the onduty receptionist about our rooms he became very agitated and very aggressive (including threatening physical violence to my colleague and physically shoving him). We will be making formal complaint to management and want to warn other travellers - management require upfront payment - if you decide to make booking at hotel ask to check your room. Only recommendation: that the local health authorities close the place down!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwi124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

The staff are really friendly-give you that long awaited warm smile and make sure you make yourself comfy. The hotel has a hostel atmosphere about it and be careful when having a bath because I wasn't lucky with the hot water :) But its close to Schuman centre and conveniently placed. so hey what can o ne expect? Its cheaper than a lot of hotels in Brussels. I would go there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

Although it could've been worse, i wouldn't really recommend this hotel or stay there again myself. They only have smoking rooms, bad quality mattresses and breakfast (1 hot drink and 2 rolls) is only being served in your room, since there's no breakfast room. I don't mean to be picky, but the rooms could do with some refurbishment, since it's all quite worn out, and bigger towels instead of 2 small, thin ones would've been nice....
So in general: everything seems to be quite out of date in this hotel (i'd call it more of a hostel).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kikker15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2007

The hotel is alright for the price that we got - 50 Euros for a double room (we did get a discount as there was a whole group of us staying for a wedding; didn't have problems as the previous reviewer). The location is excellent, just next to Jubelpark and a subway station. Staff was semi-friendly if somewhat indifferent. Our room faced the street and had a tiny balcony -- definitely better than the rooms facing the dingy backyard. But beware -- there is no aircondition and the sun heated up the room quite quickly. The room was actually quite spacious, the furniture of the cheapest sort. The mattresses were old and felt worn-out but still bearable. The bathroom was tiny, the shower/sink/toilet were old but clean. The cleanliness of the room was borderline -- there were crumbs on the floor and the bed linens had some undefinable spots. We agreed that the general feeling is that of a youth hostel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — General character of shabbiness.
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank matthilein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

This hotel has one advantage its location. About 20 of my wedding guests went there (the management told us that they would give us a price of EUR27 per person if there were more than 20 of us). They all add the same opinion of the hotel:

1/ Beds are not flat!! and mattresses are old, smelly and dirty,
2/ This hotel is used by people in needs that are very noisy,
3/ we had to pay EUR70/night and told we could complain as much as we wanted ,
4/ The same happened to a group of Korean when we left,

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The rest
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hepsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etterbeek
0.8 mi away
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Montgomery
Eurostars Montgomery
#1 of 1 in Woluwe-St-Pierre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chelton Hotel
Chelton Hotel
#80 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.8 mi away
Van Belle Hotel
Van Belle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Anderlecht
3.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman
Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman
#88 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Property: Hotel Derby
Address: Avenue de Tervueren 24 | Etterbeek, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Derby 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Brussels
Hotel Derby Brussels, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing