We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it, no matter what you pay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Etterbeek
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not worth it, no matter what you pay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2006

I stayed at the BW Park Hotel this August on a business trip to Brussels. I was pretty upset when I heard that the inviting company booked rooms at this place because I've been there before and I did not like it at all.

The same on this trip: total disappointment!
The lobby is pretty small, which makes it look cozy and home, but that is all I can say on the positive side.

The room was located on the 5th floor, small, dark, a bit smelly and poorly equipped.
The bathroom only had a shower and a plastic sink, the overall design was old-fashioned and cheap.
The bed was around 3ft wide. The entire room was probably 7ft wide. Not too much space for that much money.

The tv set was smaller than my laptop screen, so I decided to watch some dvds on my laptop instead.

The breakfast "English breakfast buffet" was included in the price.
But it was poor, too. Small selection of bread, no fresh fruits, no nothing. I had to wait 10 minutes for my coffee, so I was almost done with the breakfast

They charged me 150 Euros, which is a joke for that mess. At Le meridien, you pay 170 and you get all the amenities from a "real" 4 star hotel.

Well, if you need a cheap place to stay over the weekend, it might be ok, but for business traveller, who need some relaxation, better stay away.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mariusbaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    53
    49
    8
    10
See reviews for
9
34
17
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
96 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2006

I have stayed here twice, each time in the summer and in a single room. The single rooms tend to be available on hotel websites at a good rate, in my experience single rooms are a bit rare. Even though I had been very happy on a previous stay, I found some of the other reviews a bit scary so went with some anticipation. However, as on my other stay, the location on the backside facing the nice back yard, and with the window open, allowed a very pleasant sleep in the summer, and air conditioning was not needed. The breakfast was very good, although I do agree with those who noted the lack of evident willingness to refill teapots, etc. on the part of staff.

The single room was actually very large compared to many doubles I have stayed in, the only small part being the bed, which was however quite comfortable. My only small issue was the drain plug on the bath, whose holder came detached.

As others have mentioned, the location is not central but easily reached on the metro. If you are a museum hound this is in an excellent location near a museum complex, but much of the action in Brussels is downtown, so one would need a metro pass and can't stay out too late.

On a previous trip this year I found that this property was never listed at a reasonable rate (so did not stay there); during the busy spring season they must be getting rack rate, which is rather high. But in summer, I found my stay a great deal and would certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — suburban/park atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Craxiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
206 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2006

Nice hotel and good location near the underground station and the park. The breakfast was OK, internet didn’t work. The hotel needs some repair. A bit overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2006

This hotel suffers from incredibly bad service and bad attitude towards the guest.

1. Although it was -8 degrees outside, there was no hot water to shower with. The reception staff did not care about the problem and blamed the guests for not knowing how to open the water. After 50 complaints they admitted the hotel's old water system is bad.
2. Terrible breakfast and they are 2 lazy to refresh the food or serve coffee/tea.
3. The staff is very unfriendly and does not like to help the guest with area information. They even gave us WRONG information several times until we understood from other guests that they do this intentionally.
4. There is no laudnry service on the weekend although they do not write this anywhere.
5. Internet connection stopped working and they refused to do anything to fix it.
6. the beds are old, small and extremely uncomfortable
7. Housekeeping enters your room without knocking EVEN when the do not disturb sign is on the door.
8. They really give the impression that the guest is unwanted.

TERRIBLE HOTEL - DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Etterbeek hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
251 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2006

My stay at the BW Parkhotel was wonderful, and I had a much better experience than the other reviewers.

To begin, I would absolutely stay here again. The hotel is not so easy to find without a map, but once you know where it is, it is easy to get to (a few stops on the subway) and in a nice location. There is a nice big park across the street, it's in a quiet residential area, and there are some nice restaurants around the hotel.

I had a room on the top floor facing the garden. The room was clean and nice in every way. The breakfast buffet was really good. The staff was nice, and the hotel seemed secure (I didn't have problems with the locks as another reviewer had).

The price was good, and I think it's a great bargain.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nysingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2005

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was a nice clean hotel, very quiet, a 2 minute walk from the metro, and across from a lovely park in the EU district.

I had a single room on the ground floor with double doors opening to the garden. At first I thought the garden thing was lovely, but then I noticed the handle and lock were in sad shape (as a woman travelling alone, I found this concerning). I asked to be moved to another room but was told the hotel was full up (though I didn't see more than 15 people total in the 3 days). I was also told I worried to much and that there had never been a safety problem.

When settling in for the night, I also noticed that the chain on my main door was broken. This proved to be a problem when housekeeping walked in the next morning, despite the "do not disturb" sign.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and was quite good, although if you want the "full english", be sure you get up early otherwise there is no hot food left. The breakfast room was lovely and overlooked a garden.

The room was quite nicely decorated, the bed comfortable, and the room quite large for a single. There was also a fullsized bathtub which was lovely. The staff were polite, though don't confuse this with friendly. The desk was often not "manned" during the day and guests let themselves into the hotel with their room key.

The hotel seemed to cater to business men and although I had a nice stay, I would not stay there again. Two doors that don't lock properly and my concerns not being taken seriously are more than enough for me to say I won't be back.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oohmercyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, UK
Level Contributor
220 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2005

This was my second stay at this Best Western Premier hotel which faces Park Cinquentenaire in Brussels. It is near to the Metro Station "Merode" and represents very good value for money when booked for 50 EUR per night through expedia.

The single rooms are quite comfortable, the hotel is decorated very finely, hence its Premier status. Yet it is only 3 stars, this I would say is because it lacks air conditioning - which is quite essential during summer months.

The breakfast is included in the rate, and consists of some warm items, fresh bread, cheese, ham, yoghurts etc. On this occassion staying in the hotel I made the mistake of ordering room service. After 1 hour had passed, I called reception to ask where my meal was. It turns out that the meals are not prepared in the hotel, but a nearby restaurant and then delivered to the hotel. So, even though the receptionist was apologetic, it seemed forever for the meal to arrive.

I have stayed in other Premier Best Western hotels and have found them superior to the Parkhotel. At the same time this hotel does have a certain charm, a huge garden at the back is very pleasant and the location is not bad if you are prepared to use the metro.

I'm not sure that I would return again so quickly, as there can be many bargains in Brussels for hotels during the summer.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etterbeek
0.7 mi away
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royal Centre
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN City Centre
BEST WESTERN City Centre
#9 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.5 mi away
Be Manos
Be Manos
#1 of 6 in Anderlecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman
Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman
#85 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels
Address: 21 Avenue De L'Yser, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels is located in a mansion dating from 1903, has been completely renovated to meet the comfort requirements of a 4 * Deluxe. Thanks to the experience of our staff will make you feel at home whether you come for business or leisure. A buffet breakfast is served in the English-style room overlooking the garden. * The hotel is at 300m from Merode metro station, 400m from the museums of Park of Cinquantenaire (Army, Aviation, History, Autoworld and Royal Museums of Art), 2 km from Parliament and European institutions, embassies and just 20 minutes from the International Airport (Zaventem) and Midi Station (Thalys and Eurostar Terminus). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brussels
Brussels Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Hotel Brussels Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing