We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cocktails and good international food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BE Cafe Marche Jourdan

BE Cafe Marche Jourdan
Ranked #15 of 46 Restaurants in Etterbeek
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: European, French, Belgian, Gastropub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice cocktails and good international food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

One of the best Mojito's ever and a good club sandwich with perfect chips! The design of the bar is really nice with coloured lighting and a blossom design etched into the glass screens between the bar and the restaurant. Delightful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank quentinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
1 review
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Sunday evening, only diners in the restaurant and my wifes birthday - surely a safe bet!!? Not to be.......

Overall the food was average but one of the starters (potatoe charlotte with shell fish, which was priced at 18 Euros), was terrible. It was a small portion to start with, but most of it was left by my wife as it was literally tasteless and undercooked.
Service was also terrible, which given that we were the only people dining, there is no excuse.

What made matters worse was that when the waiter came to collect the starter plates, he failed to even ask if we had enjoyed the starters, which is normal practice and particularly suprising giving that 75% of the starter was left uneaten.

Not being given the chance to comment about the poor starter was quite annoying but to wait 25 mins before the waiter even attended the table (to bring the mains) was poor. It goes without saying that our wine glasses were empty at this point and had been for 20 mintues.
When we explained the situation he didn't even flinch although did acknowledge not asking how things were - no apology but said he would sort things. We thought he might have gone into the kitchen to speak to the chef, but he just returned to the bar.

The mains were ok, if a little on the cool side but certainly not worth 27E.

Suffice to say we asked for the bill - the bill did not include the poor starter. The waiter did ask at this point for more feedback to give to the chef (who he informed us was not working tonight but would be in the following evening - begs the question who was cooking the food?!).
We paid up and left and went straight over the square to purchase some excellent frites, a bottle of port and some cheese to try and complete our evening and make up for a poor and disappointing experience - which it did.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pictou County, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beer and a salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a few beers and a delicious salad from the salad trolley -made right at your table. You can specify whatever you want -lovely lovely salad!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lyons_Brook_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dinner at BE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Good food, attentive but not annoying waiter.Generously trying to understand my attempt at the french language.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RichieRich9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly and Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Good menu choice, food well presented and tasted very good. Good choice of wines at a good price. The staff were also very attentive.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank HighHeidjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BE Cafe Marche Jourdan also viewed

 
Etterbeek, Brussels
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to BE Cafe Marche Jourdan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing