We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family weekend in Brussels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Etterbeek
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family weekend in Brussels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel Great hotel… stayed 2 nights with family of 4. I had rooms with adjoining doors. I had a little trouble finding the hotel once I got off the subway and most the pole on the street was no help. After about 40 mins wondering around with bags I stop taxi driver and he point me in the right direction. If arriving by subway get out at Maelbeek station. But come out the exit mark ETTERBEEK…once out of this exit go right for about 700m.. As you come out of the turn the hotel will be in front of you address: Place Jean Rey, Brussels City Center, Brussels, Belgium 1040.
You can also take the Airport bus# 21 on the weekends to SCHUMAN metro (about 25-25 mins). Get off the bus walk toward the subway entrance but stay on the street and continue around the round- about until the second exit. Go down the street about 500 m and make a right. This way is a little hard and I did not discover it until we got ready to leave. So call the hotel or take you GPS before trying this route.

The hotel allow us to check in early.. Although one of the rooms was not clean (we really only want to drop our bags and go see the city). We told the front desk and they had it clean by the time we came back later that day.
Hotel staff provided great stuff to do in the area and over all great location. Stop at the bar late one night and it was easy and prices were pretty good. Recommend hotel and would staff here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwestLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi kwestLA,

So sorry you had to look around to find us! That certainly was not the type of welcome we had anticipated for you. Also sorry to hear that the people on the street were not very hospitable and helpful in guiding you in the right direction. We are indeed less than a 5 minutes walk from both metro stations. From Maelbeek you need to take the Etterbeek entrance and at Schuman Station it's the Justus Lipsius exit.

Once you arrived in the hotel I'm glad that we were able to get you in the relax mode straight away though by checking you in early, allowing you to freshen up and hit the town running.

All in all it seems you had a great time and hopefully that means you will be back soon.

Have an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    636
    112
    35
    23
See reviews for
136
656
137
505
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel several times, the last time there were mosquitos in my room, while the manager was very nice and offered to have my room cleaned, no-one checked after to see if everything was ok. Also the staff at reception are either very pleasant or a bit offhand especially when I enquired about the timetable for the bus to the airport and the young woman was less than friendly or helpful. Ditto the young man who appeared to take it as a personal challenge when I enquired about the hotel loading a deposit of several hundred euros to my credit card when I checked in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Annie M,

Thank you very much for your review and the time it took to write it.

Your comment about musquitos is a new one for me. Could it be that you opened the window during your stay? Did you put on the aircon to make it cooler in the room so they seek their place to stay elsewhere?

We do indeed take a pre-authorisation of 25 euro per room per night on your credit card when you check-in with us in order to cover for incidentals. This amount is released the moment you check-out and should therefore create the least of hassle possible. This would not be down to anybody's personal challenge but merely a standard procedure for all guests in our hotel and in fact all Starwood hotels across the globe.

Have an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

i had previously stayed in 1 other aloft in Portland: it was garishly colored, decor'ed, loud, very tacky and hostel-like. so it was with some caution that i booked this one.

however, the Aloft Brussels is more down key. room was much larger than the portland room. bed wide, comfortable, wifi was good, nice common/lounge area.

location is not the best for a tourist. but convenient if you work around the area.

only complaint is perhaps low sound proofing? because at times i could hear the neighbors talking. and some street noise.

but overall, one of the better properties amongst recent stays in my 50% travel schedule.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank justarandomperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi justarandomperson,

Thanks for your comments - highly appreciated! We're happy to read that you enjoyed your experience and the service & facilities we offered. Your comment about sound proofing is one we don't hear often but rest assure that we're looking into it and see if this is the case for other guests.

Now that you like us, hopefully that means you will be back at some point soon!

Have an easy breezy day.

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Very pleasant staff make this hotel a good choice choice for tourists as well as the many business folk who need accommodation near the EU Parliament. It's located very close to a major metro stop (watch out for construction, though) and also a good bus route. This is relevant because it is not directly in the central tourist area, but gives easy access both to that part of Brussels (Grand Place, museums, cathedral, shopping, et al.) but also to the Free University which is even further out from center. You can walk to the Jubelpark and museum area and there is also a tremendous variety of restaurants nearby. Rooms are large by European city standards and beds are excellent. A bar is available and the snack & breakfast area is good.

Room Tip: Ask for an interesting view: we looked out onto an older street of shops with great charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salt_City_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Salt_City_Sue,

Indeed, our location is very central. We're in the middle of the EU area and within 15 minutes you can be standing on the Grand Place or taking pictures of Manneken Pis. Another recommendation would be to take the city bikes that you can rent right in front of the hotel. They are cheap and a great way to get around in a green way.

Hopefully you'll be back soon!

Have an easy breezy day.

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a nice modern hotel minutes away from European parliament, but rather far from the historic center. This hotel feels like it has some young designer touch, bright colors, and fun atmosphere. They have automated self-check in/check out desks.
Room was equipped with everything necessary – comfortable bed, wardrobe, safe box, cattle and a tea set, flat TV, hairdryer, free wi-fi. It is more like a studio divided in two parts by a wardrobe. On one side there is a bed and a sofa, and on the other part is bathroom with a sliding door. The first thing you see in the room is the sink which is next to the door.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Ekaterina_Sh,

Thanks for a very descriptive review. The rooms are indeed spaciously setup and contain all the features you mentioned.

You are also right about our location - we are located in the very heart of the EU district. The old city center is slightly farther out but then again there are excellent transportation options that take you there in 15 minutes maximum. We have two metro stations within walking distance, a bus stop across the street and city bikes on our doorstep. A brisk walk of 30 minutes gets your there as well and passes by some of the most interesting sites of the city.

Have an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Rooms are probably the biggest I've stayed in in Brussels. Likewise the beds, beds very comfortable also. The help-yourself continental breakfast system works well, and the take-out coffee cups to bring the coffee with you when rushing off to a meeting are an excellent idea. Staff are friendly, though can sometimes be a little too relaxed. Thankfully the Thursday night club nights in the reception don't seem to happen anymore - though if they do, make sure to get a room above the third floor. Minimalist stripped-back decor is not to everyone's taste, but I find it fine. The corporate fun-theme can be grating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YaCantAteScenery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi YaCantAteScenery,

Thanks for our review and positive comments on your recent stays with us - highly appreciated!
The sizes of our rooms are indeed large; approx 30% larger than the minimum hotel classification specs so plenty of space to move around in.

We hope you'll be back soon for some more a-list adventure!

Have an easy breezy day.

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Spent one night in this hotel and liked it a lot:
- huge rooms, with a modern decor
- good shower
- nice touches such as an easy connection of your laptop with the flatscreen tv, allowing to play films on the flat screen
- very quiet yet in the center of brussels and close to two subway stations
- the bar is fun: there's a billiard, football game, wii-room where you can play wii on a huge tv with cushions on the floor etc

Just one thing that we didn't like: as the bar of the hotel is in the lobby, there's a smell of stale beer at all hours. At 11 am this is not very pleasant.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are very spacious. There's no need to upgrade in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi Alanake,

Thanks for your great comments and highlighting everything you liked about us. We try and make Wxyz a very playful and relaxing environment and this seems to have really worked for you which is great news for us.

Your point about the beer smell has been noted. We'll look into it and see that this gets fixed asap.

Hopefully you will be back soon?

Have an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etterbeek
1.3 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.5 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#13 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
1.0 mi away
Motel One
Motel One
#24 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel

Property: Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
Address: Place Jean Rey, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new tWist in Travel keeps Brussels European district Abuzz with a prime location in the heart of the European quarter. Located only a few minutes away from the city center by metro, the Aloft Brussels Schuman offers you an easy access and connections to the entire Brussels area. The hotel offers an eclectic mix of forward-thinking design, open loft-inspired rooms and free WiFi. The always Abuzz WXYZ Bar welcomes you daily with a selection of signatures cocktails, that you can sip on our backyard when the wheather permits. Aloft Brussels Schuman is the fun, fresh alternative to stay and play at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Starwood EMEA and Jetsetter so you can book your Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing