We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A-loft is A-wesome!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Etterbeek
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A-loft is A-wesome!!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just three stops from Gare Centraal! There is so much more around this hotel than stated. Best frites place close by and many restaurants and food shops. Staff here is amazing!!! Had a great time! Be sure to hang out in XYZ Bar for some great beers on tap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reortiz1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi reortiz1974,

Chez Antoine is indeed officially the best Belgium Fries place in the country - and that only a couple minute's walk away from the hotel. The Place Jourdan also has many other bars, restaurants and shops on offer for every budget.

How nice to read you liked the service by our staff so much, that's awesome!

Wishing you an easy breezy day.

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    647
    113
    35
    24
See reviews for
137
666
137
513
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

One thing that should always be considered is that this is only a 3* but has the trappings of a higher category, apparent in room size and quality and state of its fittings and furnishings. We loved the airy big room with its interesting layout and uncluttered appearance. Both room and the integrated bathroom were spotless and the free WiFi a much appreciated extra. Reception staff were helpful at check-in and equally friendly and helpful when I presented them with a little problem (immediately resolved, of course). The proximity to the EU Parliament, numerous restaurants and bars/ cafes and a metro station helped to make our stay even more memorable. The winning hook for us however was the knock-down price, €53 for a night was definitely a steal. Starwood should build more Alofts in Europe!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonkraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi Londonkraut,

THANK YOU for making your first point very clear - really appreciated :-).

It seems the overall design, facilities and friendly service that we try to offer have really hit the mark for you. That's super and we are thankful that you chose to share that here in tripadvisor.

Do make sure to come back soon, we'd love to have you!

Have an easy breezy day.

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel and it was absolutely amazing. We arrived early at 7am and despite the check in time being 3pm- krasi (at reception) was wonderful. Not only did he let us have a king sized room on the 7th floor but also a voucher for us to each have a complimentary drink that evening. The decor throughtout the hotel was modern and chic  with an electric fireplace in the lobby and also games (pool table, fooseball table, wii , board games etc).
The bedrooms were spacious with complimentary water, tea, coffee etc. This hotel was absolutely amazing and thanks to krasi we had a fantastic time in brussels. 

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjdlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi pjdlon,

Go Krasi! We love it when guests remember specific names of our talents - especially those that made your stay. Rest assure we will celebrate with the team on their stellar performance. Although normal check-in time is not until 3 PM, we do let you in earlier if a room is ready and available.

Hope to have you back with us soon.

Have an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were very pleased with this hotel on all counts. Check-in speedy, very friendly and helpful. Room very clean, good sized with modern furnishing. Tea/coffee making facilities and fridge were a big plus especially as we chose not to have breakfast at the hotel. Plenty of cafes and supermarkets nearby to stock up if you wanted to.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 8th floor which was perfect - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sausages121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi Sausages121,

Superb! Indeed the hotel is located in an area with many bars, restaurants and supermarkets within walking distance - you really do not have to go far. We will also shortly be opening up a sushi and a hungarian restaurant in the same building so then it's literally on our doorstep.

Do make sure to stay with us again when you next visit Brussels.

Have an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

While it wants to look and behave like a W, it's not quite there. There is something that feels cheap about this hotel but I can't quite figure out what.

Anyway, the room are quite large for European standards, the beds are comfy and the shower is great. Location is ok, it's a long walk to get to the old town but there is a lot to do in the surroundings of the hotel (food, drinks, walk).

Overall, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1edmond2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi 1edmond2,

We are NOT a W! Probably that's why you think we didn't look like one... :-)

Aloft is a spin off of W, it's baby brother built around the same DNA of Design, Technology and Social Space but not a 5* Deluxe full service chain with all the trimmings. Aloft find itself in different locations at a different price point but with a very similar buzz about it. You certainly seem to have noticed the connection though which is great and we hope that means you will try us, or any of the other 60 Aloft's worldwide, again soon.

Have an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Trendy room, big screen tv, free internet, friendly personal - will definitly come back.

.... This is just some text, to make review at least 200 characters long ... Hope this is enough :) .... It was not ... Adding some more text was required ... Is it enough already? ...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alesh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi Alesh77,

No need to use a lot of words to say you liked us - but thanks very much for letting us know anyway!

Great to read you had an enjoyable time and we look forward to having you back soon.

Have an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Booked this hotel as a package deal with Eurostar. Stayed here from 29th Sep to 1st Oct.
To reach this hotel better take train from Brussels Midi and within 3 stops you reach Brussels-Schuman. If you take metro then its 30 minutes to reach here. From Schuman metro station its just 300 Metres walk.
Reached round 14:00pm and checkin was smooth. The reception staff are very helpful. The Room was very big with King bed and all other amenities with 2 fresh water bottles and coffee making kits.
The breakfast costs 10 euros for 5 items or 6 euros for 3 items which is very reasonable when compared to other hotels in same range.

On the second night though the housekeeping staff kept only 1 bath towels instead of 2 so had to go to reception and get the towels as there is no room service. Also the milk and tea bags were less so had to take it from the kitchen area. I guess the housekeeping needs to be told clearly the exact number of members in the room so that they can do their job correctly. Other than the Lady and guys at the reception were friendly and ready to help you with sightseeing ideas and how to reach there.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi travelDestination77,

Aloft is indeed very easy to be reached by public transport or in fact any other way of transportation. Whether by car, train, bus or bike, all connections are pretty straight forward. Even by foot you are only 20 minutes away from the old city center.

We're delighted to read that you enjoyed the design, facilities and services a lot. Your comments about the tea and towels have been passed onto our re:fresh team who will pay more attention to detail on this in the future.

Have an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etterbeek
1.3 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#13 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.5 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#3 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel

Property: Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
Address: Place Jean Rey, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Etterbeek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new tWist in Travel keeps Brussels European district Abuzz with a prime location in the heart of the European quarter. Located only a few minutes away from the city center by metro, the Aloft Brussels Schuman offers you an easy access and connections to the entire Brussels area. The hotel offers an eclectic mix of forward-thinking design, open loft-inspired rooms and free WiFi. The always Abuzz WXYZ Bar welcomes you daily with a selection of signatures cocktails, that you can sip on our backyard when the wheather permits. Aloft Brussels Schuman is the fun, fresh alternative to stay and play at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing