We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for, fam”
Review of Slina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Slina Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Anderlecht
wtGTJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for, fam”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We walked up to this hotel from the train station and were not too impressed as it was like entering the ghetto to say the least. However, upon getting inside, receiving a nice welcome, we found the hotel to be very much adequate to our needs. The room was basic, which is what must be expected for this price, but everything was there to help enjoy your stay. On the other hand, there were a few appliances that were broken and needed tending to. The hotel is a 15-20 minute walk to the main square which is okay in the daytime but not very nice at night when the ghetto comes to life with it's oh so dodgy inhabitants lurking around. Brussels is a lovely place and well worth visiting but if you are a bit picky then this hotel is not for you but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RHA5J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    64
    54
    105
See reviews for
34
66
37
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

First - it is in no-go area! It is a 20 minute walk to the centre. Forget the shuttle - it doesn't exist. But walking to the hotel half of the way you will curse yourself for not paying more for a different hotel.
Second - it's run down and dirty. Tabs in the room have never been cleaned, they were disgusting to touch. I complained twice, they didn't bother. Breakfast tables pile up with dishes, you will have to push them to eat.
enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anderlecht hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I don't usually write reviews on hotels I have stayed in but thought I must with this hotel. We booked it through a travel agent and I only read the reviews the day before we went.. The reviews were awful and so I was really worried about what our stay was going to be like! But we found it a lovely little hotel... The staff were very friendly our room was basic but clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic, a huge range of choice from cooked breakfast, to meats, fruit salad and pastries.

The hotel is about a 15/20 min walk to the main square but it was nice to have the walk after eating so much breakfast!

We would highly recommend it and would go back and stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have traveled to many places and this was the worst hotel I have ever had the displeasure of staying in. The neighborhood was not the best. The rooms were dirty. The hallways had motion sensor lights that did not light up. There was no hot water for the showers. When we complained about the water, their hotel representative came to the room to turn the water know left and right to "fix." He then declared that it was "fixed." Then we complained that the phone had no dial tone. He looked at the phone, yanked at the cord, broke the cord and proclaimed that we broke it even though we saw him pulling the cord! We then asked to change the room since there was no water or phone working. It was like pulling teeth!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suntaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trakai, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I don't really suggest anyone to stay in this hotel! There was some bad smell at the room (maybe from unclean carpet or from dusty wraps). We stayed in 3 bed room, but there was only one set of towels. The hair drier was also terrible. There was no spare plugs at the room at all, so I had to unplug refrigerator and lamp to get spare plug .And the TV remote control was missing. They were not able to provide tea kettle. Moreover there was very noisy at night...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renalda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We were unlucky enough to stay here for one night, never again. Upon arrival, we were informed that our rooms (3 x doubles) had been flooded and the entire floor was shut, so they offered us a 10 bed dorm room exclusively for us. We accepted this and were taken to a shabby building down the street (an area that would be quite intimidating to female travellers or families).

When we walked in the smell of mould and urine in the communal hallway was overwhelming. We were shown into our room which had a bunk bed and eight small, single beds (which were quite comfortable) with a single sheet covering the mattress and a thin blanket. There windows were missing curtains and only had nets in place.

Then we were shown to the toilet and shower area - a walk through two other occupied dorms! Not so bad at 4pm but a nightmare at 4am! The showers looked like they hadn't been cleaned in years and the toilets were so small you could barely sit down.

As compensation for this, the hotel gave us a complimentary breakfast which consisted of a lump of cheese, ham and a croissant.

The only saving grace was that we stayed out until 4am and checked out at 10, 6 hours was more than enough in this dump. Thank God we only paid £20 each for the 'privilege' of staying here.

Avoid like the plague

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank ell33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The rooms was very little and with a floor plenty of stains and very insane. The place was very noisy at night¡¡ and the main recepcionist by dat was not very empatic and was very, very serious. I don't recomend that hotel to anybody. A cheap hotel doesn't deserve to be so low key.

And the last but not the least: We returned to our country with a lot of pimples and spots, because there were insects or bedbugs at the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anderlecht
0.6 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Van Belle Hotel
Van Belle Hotel
#5 of 6 in Anderlecht
839 reviews
0.4 mi away
Floris Ustel Midi
Floris Ustel Midi
#2 of 6 in Anderlecht
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Midi-Zuid
Hotel Midi-Zuid
#20 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
61 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,031 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Belvue
Hotel Belvue
#117 of 199 in Brussels
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slina Hotel

Property: Slina Hotel
Address: Chaussee de Mons 115-117, Anderlecht, Brussels 1070, Belgium (Formerly Scandinavia Hotel)
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Anderlecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Anderlecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Slina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Slina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavia Hotel Brussels
Slina Hotel Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing