We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUN AWAY!”
Review of Slina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Slina Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Anderlecht
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Scary and filthy!

I've been interrailing for some time now and this place was the worst hotel I ever stayed in. It's far from the Midi train station and the centre of town. The hotel is located in a bad neighbourhood and I was advised to not go outside... at all! Thieves everywhere! First time I was scared! The personel was agressive and unfriendly. The price is too high. The bathroom was filthy and I felt dirtier AFTER I had a shower.

They should change the name. I am from Norway and they s*** on my country by calling themself "Scandinavia". There was nothing scandinavian about this place.

Bed was ok.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay in this hell, stay away from the rooms facing the street. Noisy!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieFromTheNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Slina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 248 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

The rate is very cheap, so does the quality. The location of the hotel seemed not very safe moving around. A little too distance to walk to the Midi train station, but closer to metro. Very basic room. Room quality very much below standard. Had to pay 9 Euros to get wifi and had connection problem most of the time. The break-fast was very basic. The shower didn't have shower curtains, so the whole place becomes messy and wet. Pretty old fittings, so they barely work and too noisy. One cannot sleep in the room, if another is having a shower. It's so noisy with the water pump installed within the room. We couldn't use the TV, as we couldn't find the remote control and the TV is fixed way above your head level on the wall, so becomes inconvenient to operate. The carpets are old and smelling bad.

We misjudged the hotel by its name (Scandinavia) and by mistake we chose to stay. Since we couldn't find an alternative on arrival and needed a place to keep our baggage and needed a place to sleep, we manage to stay there for couple of nights.

One good thing to mention is the staff members at the reception are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suncity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Located conveniently close to Brussels Midi station and Clemenceau metro station. Functional hotel offering a clean bed and bath! Don't expect more and you will not be disappointed. The buffet breakfast is quite ok - if you have the option book without including it in your tariff! Enough places at Midi station for a better breakfast before u set out for the day
The best part about the hotel is its owners / management. Very helpful and co-operative. Welcoming too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jermina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and I was satisfied because my room was very large and so was the bathroom. I also liked the breakfast, but the furniture, the carpets and the bath do need modernisation.Also, the smell of th corridors is pretty bad.
On the other hand, it is conveniently located, near the underground station (metro), and not far from a railway station .
If you want to save money and you aren't a fussy traveller, it's OK.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alina40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The area it self is no so bad,mostly Arab and black people, but friendly and good connection with metro. Hotel has out of time with all you can see and touch inside. Breakfast very poor and dirty place. Rooms were cold. I stayed two times for two and one night in one week difference, but it was the same. And sleeping quality is non at all. Beside cold it was a strange and very noise, every night, constantly like from the big tubes scratching. When mentioned this to reception after the first stay he said he will check with the technician, but next week was totally the same. And they charge internet 9€ ... big NO.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 678R0bertk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night (one night too many). If the room hadn't been paid for in advance, we would have turned around and found somewhere else to stay. The whole place is a shambles. The room (105) was just terrible. The bed was a very thin mattress with just a sheet on! No blankets or duvets. This was in the middle of a very chilly March. The room was cold with no facility to adjust heating. The radiator finally came on around 10pm. Bathroom had a distinct smell of urine and was very grubby. Curtains didn't fit the window which allowed the neon signs to shine in all night along with the irritating click on, click off of the pizzeria sign right outside the window. TV didn't work at all due to a "fault". Wifi was available at a cost of 9 euros a day. Seriously folks, there are so many better places to stay, don't give these people the chance to rip you off.

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms are pretty similiar - just don't come here.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnneMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Staff were ok on reception and breakfast ok, but in need of further modernisation, Smoke detector in the room taped over when room painted and carpet stained. bathroom was clean, but fridge in room broke, but at 20euros a night acceptable. allin all you get what you pay for,

Room Tip: Pay more for better hote;
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernardBaeten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anderlecht
0.2 mi away
Van Belle Hotel
Van Belle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Anderlecht
845 reviews
1.5 mi away
hotel prince de liege
hotel prince de liege
#5 of 6 in Anderlecht
5 reviews
0.6 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Floris Ustel Midi
Floris Ustel Midi
#2 of 6 in Anderlecht
952 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,043 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slina Hotel

Address: Chaussee de Mons 115-117, Anderlecht, Brussels 1070, Belgium (Formerly Scandinavia Hotel)
Location: Belgium > Brussels > Anderlecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Anderlecht
Price Range: $60 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Slina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Slina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandinavia Hotel Brussels
Slina Hotel Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing