We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great garden and Pool very well equipped.”
other travelers have booked this property
Sun filled olive garden with pool. surrounded by mountains, views of lake Garda.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sun filled olive garden with pool. surrounded by mountains, views of lake Garda.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Sun filled olive garden with pool. surrounded by mountains, views of lake Garda.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Toscolano-Maderno, Province of Brescia, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
elephant7...
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great garden and Pool very well equipped.”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

After a nightmare booking procedure with Tripadvisor ( we were concerned the property may not exist) eventually all went ok. We were not aware that the house and garden have a narrow street dividing them. A powerful baby alarm is required if a baby is left to sleep in the house and you are in the garden. There were 10 of us (2 babies).The pool house is great but would benefit from a larger fridge freezer as the main fridge freezer is in the house over the road which entails a lot of backward and forwards. The house and pool house are BOTH very well equipped and the views of Lake Garda from the top bedrooms is amazing. With so much baby sterilizing required these days a microwave would have helped !. There is little shade by the pool except under the trees which is great till the sprinklers come on at random times!!! Lovely area, very quite, lots to do.(no fishing in August (as no water) and a licence IS required) We had a great family holiday and despite the house being over the road to the garden we worked out a way with only one key how to get back and forth! We had a wood BBQ every night with dinner in the garden every day. All in all a fantastic week. At the time of writing this review we don't yet know about our security deposit being returned.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and Pool area + views of Lake Garda
Liked least: The house being divided from the garden by a road.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susan c
Navan, Ireland
1 review
“Best place to chill out with kids”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

One of the best properties I have ever been to. nothing is left out, toys books towels soap hairdryer food essentials such as their own home made olive oil!
pool house and kitchen are fab, we hardly leave the place. tiny little stone streets that give heart palpitations to any foreign driver never there before, word of warning, don't drive there for the first time in dusk !!! There may be a few new scratches on your rental car !
only problem is its so nice that kids won't leave to go on any excursions with us, even movieland not enticing!
love it.
marina and Debra could not be more helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S
1 review
“Five Star Family Accommodation in a Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Everything about The Olive House and its location are absolutely fantastic.

The pool house and garden were stunning, with the lovely pool backlit with the mountains! We spent all our time in the garden and pool house as it was so beautiful to sit out amongst the olive trees with the children playing in the pool nearby. The house had everything and more you could posibily need, with a fully equipped kitchen, dvds to last the children for weeks and plenty of beds/ bathrooms / towels and bedding. The two master bedrooms on the top floor were fantastic - each with their own ensuite and fantastic view over the lake and mountains.

A short car drive to the local villages gives you easy access to shops/restaurants and the lake, which is a must to swiim in!!!!
The local ice-cream shop (a 20 minutes walk) is delicious and a definate must (we went there every day!!!!) and there are some lovely restaurants lakeside that are not over priced that serve tasty pizza and pasta.

Verona is about an hour's drive which is definateley worth the trip as a visit to Juliet's balcony is a must! A beautiful city where I could have spent a lot longer but maybe next time without the children as lots of ancient streets in need of exploring.

Our host Sarah was friendly and very helpful with all we needed and make our stay outstanding.

I would definately go again and recommend to anymore thinking of staying there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool House & Garden
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreae94...
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely everything you would want from a holiday home, and in a perfect location”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Situated just minutes from Lake Garda, in a beautiful Italian village location, the Olive House was a real find. Furnished to a luxury standard, with absolutely everything you would ever need on a family holiday.

The house lends itself to being shared between two families, with plenty of privacy and so much room that you never stumble over each other. With five children in total, ranging from 7 to 14, there was something to do for everyone.....and it was even easy to find a quiet corner!

So fully equipped you would be challenged to find anything missing. Boasting two kitchens, one in the main house and one in the pool house, we found all we needed for the 9 of us.

The pool and pool house are perfect, overlooking the stunning mountains, and so peaceful (well except for our children) that it was easy to enjoy the surroundings and relax by the pool amongst the olive trees. We didn't have to venture far for days, as the children were so happy to just spend time in the pool, the gardens and in the house. And since the Olive House is located in a small village, with a bakery and small shop, the children felt very safe and comfortable in the village unsupervised. Everyone we met in the village was very friendly and welcoming.

Just five minutes drive away is the best Italian Gelateria, and we were regular visitors! Gargnano is just ten minutes drive, with direct access to the lake for a refreshing swim, and a delicious, and very reasonable selection of restaurants.

The directions given by Sarah were spot on and collecting the key even in the middle of the night was not an issue.

A welcoming host, Sarah answered any and all questions quickly, and we felt privileged to have stayed in her beautiful house. Thank you and we would absolutely recommend staying at the Olive House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great for sharing, amazing pool house, high spec luxury with a real Italian feel in a beautiful village location.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful home with glorious garden and great views”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Olive House with another family for a week in July and knew it was going be perfect as soon as we arrived. We flew into Milan Bergamo and it was an easy drive of an hour or so.
The house is spacious and well equipped, with comfortable beds, lots of bathrooms and easily accommodated both families with children. The two main bedrooms are particularly large with views across to Lake Garda at the front and the garden and mountains to the back.
However, we spent most of our time in the glorious garden, which is very private, with beautifully maintained lawns filled with olive trees and delightful planting. There is a large and well equipped pool house, with a full kitchen, shower room and WC, dining area and seating area, leading out to a patio with an outdoor seating area and the pool. There is also another separate BBQ area. The children were very content just swimming and playing in the garden all day, but we get out and about locally.
Gaino is very small, but has a shop which sells essentials and fresh bread and croissants just a short walk from the house. We also had an excellent meal at the restaurant next to the playing fields, which is also just a short walk away. Toscalano Maderno is a few minutes drive and has a much wider selection of shops and restaurants.
There are lots of good walks from the house and you can walk/scramble to the top of both mountains you can see from the garden if you are feeling energetic! Another highlight for my children was the early morning fishing expedition, where they caught their first trout in the local river and brought them home for a BBQ lunch!
Sarah is a great host and has extensive knowledge of the area. I would definitely recommend staying at The Olive House as a perfect base from which to explore the Lake Garda area.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C
Wilton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning family accommodation in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The pool house was a great hit - kitchen, dining area, wet room - fantastic for keeping an eye on the children whilst they played in the pool or in the large garden. The main house had everything we needed - from fully equipped kitchen to plenty of beds/ bathrooms / towels and bedding. The two master bedrooms on the top floor were fantastic - each with its own ensuite and wonderful views to wake up to.
Climbing to the top of the local mountains is recommended and can be done in a morning (following a very early start!) and the reward is stunning 360 degree views. Swimming in the lake is also a must - clear refreshing water and a different perspective on the area.
The ice-cream parlours must also be visited (the Nutella flavour was a firm favourite) and there are some great places to eat including a small restaurant in Gaino which does not look much from the outside but provides delicious food.
There are plenty of things to do even if the weather clouds over and trips to Tignale and Salo are definitely worth doing - or there is Venice or Florence a bit further away.
We had a wonderful time here and would definitely recommend it - though would also recommend hiring a small car as the roads are very narrow.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony H
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“superb: cozy comfort, high spec luxury, excellent location”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Everything about Las Olivas and its location are absolutely superb.

The house combines cozy comfort (very homely) with high spec luxury (fab bedrooms, really well equipped kitchens - absolutely everything you need) with a pool and pool-house set in a beautiful large well kept garden.

Just 10 minutes drive from Lake Garda, the village (Gaino) is located high above Toscalano Maderno (local town). The house has spectacular picture postcard views across olive groves down to the lake.

Really, there's not much reason to move far from the house - Gaino has a small bakery, cafe and good quality restaurant (don’t be put off by the drab exterior, the food’s excellent) but Toscalano Maderno benefits from good supermarkets, cafes, restaurants, ice-cream parlours and has its own beach.

All of this is within easy reach of Verona, Milan and Venice which make for great day trips if you want a break. The small towns around the lake are also worth visiting. Salo and Gargnano are very close and there are bathing beaches all over the place. You must swim in the lake - it’s very clean and wonderfully refreshing.

Sarah was an excellent host, welcoming us and explaining where to find everything nearby. And she was always on hand when we had questions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing