We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Bel Soggiorno Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bel Soggiorno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
in kingswood
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved Bel Soggiorno Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

Have just returned from a week in Maderno on Lake Garda, staying at the Hotel Bel Soggiorno. This hotel deserves its good reputation. It was excellent value for money. An old hotel over two buildings. With a roof terrace swimming pool affording a lovely view of the lake and mountains. Clean, very comfortable beds, large shower rooms and excellent service. I always have a single room and they can be inferior - not this hotel! A lovely double room with plenty of lovely towels! The hotel staff could not have done more for us, even letting me keep my room until I left in the late afternoon. The food was plentiful and varied. The family running the hotel are always around and very friendly - eating in the dining room every evening with the guests. Tipping the staff was a good idea and I am sure that is why they were so kind about keeping my room on.
The resort of Maderno is very quiet and is best used for a base to visit the other resorts (beware the last ferry gets back about 6.30pm). However there is a lovely walk all along the promenade past the ferry terminal and ice cream parlour! The place is beautiful, friendly and not a rip off.
We were able to arrange trips to Verona and Venice throught Reception.

I cannot reccomend this hotel highly enough.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, good service and friendliness
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kuonikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    74
    53
    25
    22
See reviews for
18
127
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2007

Stayed at the Hotel Bel Soggiorno at Maderno in September 07. I had looked for reviews of this hotel, and information about Maderno for weeks before we went and just could not find anything. Well, the hotel was great. The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was excellent, good varied choice and always piping hot. Our room was on the front overlooking the lake, yes you could hear the traffic noise but we knew this hotel was on a road so it did not bother us, it wasnt bad at night. The room was clean and beautifully decorated, you only looked at a towel and it was changed. The rooftop pool was great, fantastic views over the lake and you could always get a sunbed and towels were supplied by the hotel. Maderno was quiet, but there were a few bars and cafes and a really nice long prom to have a wander on to walk off all the fantastic food. It is ideally placed for the ferrys and we went somewhere different every day. All in all we had a great holiday and would return to this hotel. Just a mention about Gilberto, the chef. He came round every evening to make sure you were enjoying his food, a really nice touch.

  • Liked — Cleaness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — No curtains at window
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ericsgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlairgowrieScotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2007

We had a most enjoyable 14day holiday at this Hotel in September 2007. This was our first visit to Italy and found Maderno very quiet but an excellant base for travelling round Lake Garda. Every part of the Hotel was spotless and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.The food was varied and well presented with early breakfasts provided on request. The rooftop pool area had plenty of good sunbeds and parasols and from here you had a lovely view of the Lake. Our room was at the back overlooking a patio area. The room was a bit dark but very comfortable and clean. We would certainly recommend this Hotel. We went on a ferry most days and found the man at the ferry office really helpful in explaining the times etc. for our trips. A lifelong dream of a trip to Venice was fantastic and not to be missed.

  • Liked — The homely atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NeilandRhonaGonnella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Bel Soggiorno in Maderno for 2 weeks in June 2006. We wanted to write this review because we couldn't find any reviews about this hotel and we thought it deserved some attention. This is a smallish family run hotel with about 40 rooms. We had a lake view room on the 3rd floor which was lovely. The room was a good size well furnished and the room and the whole hotel was spottlesly clean. The rooms were cleaned twice per day, morning and evening (whilst you were having dinner with a nice touch of folding down your bed sheets and shutting your shutters for the night and fresh towels were laid out for the morning.) There was a choice of eveing meal, which you book in the morning. Seemed a bit odd at first to choose dinner at breakfast but it was possible to change if you asked. We thought the evening meal was very good and we do like our food and are not easily pleased when it comes to food. The wines were excellent and very reasonably priced. The service is table service and very good. If you want anything at all just ask and the staff are very accomodating. There is a roof top pool and sun beds which are clean and had beautiful views over Lake Garda. Towels are provied from the health spa. The hotel is run by an Italian family who are unobtrusive but very accomadating. One of the sons speaks good English. Other than that you get by but it is really no problem and both the mother and father of the hotel are very helpful. Maderno itself we found very peaceful. Its not one of the busiest resorts but we like that and it has great access to the ferries just 5 minutes away that visit all of the resorts on Lake Garda. Food and restaurants. We loved Bardonlino and it is great for lunch for people who like seafood, mussels and scallops etc. Try the Bardolino rose wine which is fantastic and dry. We also had a great meal in Sirmione (the best seafood rissotto I have ever had !). Limone is very mountainous and worth a vist. The nearby town 10 mins by bus from Maderno, Salo is also worth a visit. We also made our own way to Verona which is really easy. Just get the ferry across to Tori and then get a ticket from the local tobaccanist to Verno and get off at the stop Centro. The last bus back is about 6pm. Do not go to the restaurant Orologio (the clock) in Salo. It was recommended to us but the food was dreadful and overpriced. Not much else to say other than we had a wonderful time here. The views are breathtaking. Its very very Italian. Ps bring some cash as Visa is not accepted at most places yet such as the ferries and some restaurants. We intend to go back and would certainly stay at this hotel again. Hope this is helpful.

Helpful?
46 Thank taveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toscolano-Maderno
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
#1 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
7.6 mi away
Poiano Resort Hotel
Poiano Resort Hotel
#11 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Borgo dei Poeti Wellness Resort
Hotel Borgo dei Poeti Wellness R...
#1 of 10 in Manerba del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
21.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#17 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
1.1 mi away
Adria Hotel n Resort
Adria Hotel n Resort
#5 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel Soggiorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel Soggiorno

Property: Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Address: Via Roma 19, 25088, Toscolano-Maderno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Toscolano-Maderno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bel Soggiorno 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bel Soggiorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Soggiorno Hotel
Hotel Bel Soggiorno Toscolano-Maderno, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing