We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely in an old fashioned, quaint way”
Review of Hotel Maderno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Maderno
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Tyne and Wear
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely in an old fashioned, quaint way”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This was not the hotel we had originally booked and after reading some of the reviews I was not looking forward to going but it was lovely.

You can imagine this hotel being at it's peak in about the 1920's but it has still retained that 'classy' atmosphere. The Gardens are immaculately laid out and the pool area is spotlessly clean.

All room have balconys. From other guests who were situated at the from of the hotel we gathered that the view is fantastic but the downside is that the bathrooms tended t o be small. We were allocated a room to the back of the hotel so our view was across houses, but at least you got to see real life in Italy. The bathroom was as big as out bedroom and there was loads of storage space in the bedroom. There was a little noise from the kitchen but as they stop serving meals at 8 it did not go on into the night.

Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice and the evening meal was served with a flourish as they presented it covered in silver cloches.

Staff were all friendly and helpful and although not everyone spoke English they did make an effort.

WARNING! There is one thing you MUST be aware of. When they take a drinks order with meals or any other time they will not take the money there and then but will add it to your bill. Consequently it is quite easy to run up a sustansial bill without realising it as their drinks are expensive - 5 euros for a bottle of water and wine starting fron 14 euros a bottle. There is a mini bar in each room and again drinks from there are expensive, 3 euro for a can of coke (which can be bought in the supermarket across the road for about 1 euro). You can pay the next morning so yoy can kkep track of how much you are spending, but they don't like you doig it.

Room Tip: If you want a view, as for the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angie1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    25
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Until you arrive in the garden and reach the doorstep you might think ' nice ' .
But as soon as you enter the Reception or take a closer look at the surroundings of the pool or the breakfast-room , or enter your room the ' nice ' will change into ' Basta ' !
The situation is perfect but this Hotel needs a total ' make over ' .
Beds are very small and old and the rooms smelly .
Breakfast is okay , but not more than that and for extra items like eggs or fresh juice you will have to pay .
Staff is nice , the owner is ...... well better not write it down here :-)
There are better options in Maderno and around beautiful Garda-Lake .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sipenholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I have just come back after a holiday with my mother. After the negative reviews i was a little concerned but had a lovely time. The hotel is typically Italian with a grand entrance and dining room. My mother had a double room with a balcony and I had a single room which was rather basic but clean. I could hear next door more than I would have liked, but then that is the same for many hotels. The breakfast was better than expected - cold meats, cereal, rolls, jam - enough to fill up until the evening meal. That was a 4 course event, starting with antipasti, followed by a lovely second course of usually soup or pasta. The main course was usually a choice of either meat or fish, followed by expected dessets such as tiramasu, cake or ice cream. The waitresses were very attentive to our needs. The staff in the hotel were very helpful, although their English was limited. The hotel was just a miue away from the lakeside,. Maderno is a very small town with limited entertainment - it has jusrt a few shops, restaurants, cafes and bars, so if you are looking for plenty of nightlife this is not the place for you. If however you want a nice quiet holiday then this would be perfect. It feels that you really are in Italy - a few towns we went to were bigger but were a bit faceless in comparison. Maderno has a long promenade where we had an ice cream and mixed with local Italians going for a stroll after a day's work. The ferry port is close to the hotel which takes you to all places on the lake.
In summary a lovely holiday - not for the young perhaps, but perfect for us.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Well!!!!! We'll start with the room...back in a time I'm sure it was adequate but this is 2010. The beds were hardly the most comfortable we have slept in, it was two single beds pushed together!
The room was of an adequate size, however the mirror was in the wardrobe on the back of the door and you would have needed to be no higher than 4ft tall to see your whole self.
BEWARE! the drinks are expensive within the hotel complex! There are no visable price guides so this unfortunatley let us build up a high bill at the end of our stay which we wer not expecting at all!
The photos did not give a true impression of the hotel, the hotel is tired and is need of some TLC.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkBlondie047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toscolano-Maderno hotels

London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We drove up to the Hotel - with its very grand entrance, checked in ..and 10 minutes later after seeing our room...prompty check out!
The hotel is billed as a grand hotel by the lake which it is - except i forgot my 70's throwback atire and didnt think that lime wallpaper, dusty rooms and dark and dingy bathrooms were still in vogue?!!
The room looked out onto the street and was furnished like an auction centre in the coltwolds.

For the price i wasnt interested as there are many hotels cheaper in price but miles ahead of the standards.

  • Liked — .
  • Disliked — .
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank noveum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2007

The Hotel Maderno is pleasant enough and reflects reasonable money for value. We were very glad to have a room at the back as rooms at the front overlook the main road and are very noisy (some of the other guests got hardly any sleep). We saw previous Trip Advisor reports about the noise and requested a quiet room on booking which we got. Our room was of a good size, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was great with a brilliant shower. The balcony was small.

The food is a bit Fawlty Towers! Different, but OK - and 4 courses every night. The coffee is awful. The choice at breakfast is reasonable but lacking any fruit or cooked items (you can do your own toast).

The hotel is a little worn and old fashioned. The grounds are very nice (but noisy!) and the swimming pool area is also good (but is unheated and v.cold). The staff are very friendly and the owner is always on hand. The ferry and bus stops are a only a minute's walk away.

Maderno itself has a main road running right through it which spoils it a bit. But it is handy for buses and the ferry. There are some nice walks around the town - the Paper Mill Valley and up to Monte Maderno above the town. There is also a very nice promenade with beach (pebble) and grassed areas.

  • Liked — Nice room
  • Disliked — Food and coffee plus noisy main road
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoneymoonersCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

We had a wonderful holiday at the Hotel Maderno. The staff were efficient and friendly. The hotel was elegant and very clean. The bedroom linen was of very good quality and changed practically every day along with the towels. The hotel enjoyed the services of an excellent chef who prepared wonderful Italian food daily. The gardens were well kept with plenty of seating. Overall, we can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Liked — The hotel and its setting. It was so Italian and elegant.
  • Disliked — The accommodation did not offer a safe, refrigerator or tea/coffee making facilities. Also, the air conditioning wasn't operating yet it was very hot and would have made more comfortable sleepin g.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holidayzest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toscolano-Maderno hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#7 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sorriso
Hotel Sorriso
#3 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#4 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
#5 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
137 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adria Hotel n Resort
Adria Hotel n Resort
#6 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
281 reviews
1.9 mi away
Piccolo Paradiso
Piccolo Paradiso
#2 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maderno

Property: Hotel Maderno
Address: Via Statale 12, 25088, Toscolano-Maderno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Toscolano-Maderno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maderno 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Maderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maderno Hotel Toscolano
Hotel Maderno Toscolano-Maderno, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing