We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Quirky but disappointed.”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Okay.....when is a Junior Suite not a Junior Suite?
I selected this hotel for it's quirky and different looking rooms, and of course location had a lot to do with it.
Before I give fuller details be careful of how, when and who you book with......I booked with Booking.com with what I thought was a reasonable rate, BUT a week before my trip and when I was then unable to change the booking the hotel itself offered a brilliant rate over a 100 pounds less than what I was quoted with and booked with Booking.com......having contacted them they come up with every excuse under the sun not to honour the 'Price Guarantee'.
I opted for the Tower room which the hotel classify as a Junior Suite and according to the pictures (obviously done with a wide angle lens) the Suite looks enormous, I also opted for this room as being the top of the tower it looked far removed from the door slamming noise from other rooms.
The room is on the 2nd floor and the lift only goes to the 1st floor so stairs for rest of way, but really no big problem. On entering the room it was very bright with beautiful views but not 360 only 180 due to frosted bathroom and outside hall windows......BUT an average size room with a double bed a flat table top type desk and one dining chair to me does NOT equate to being a Junior Suite, yes there was a wardrobe (all furniture being of rather poor B & Q type quality) and a pathetically stocked mini-bar and the double sinked, walk in shower were nice, but on the whole VERY disappointed and over-rated and over-priced.
The staff were friendly and helpful enough in their slightly offhanded Italian way, but that's their way.
The gardens were pleasant with stairs leading down to a miniscule somewhat dirty stoney beach which led to the main road, and unfortunately there were some tramps gathered there under an arch by the main road using the area as a public toilet.
The breakfast was the usual continental type as expected and covered everything from cakes, savouries, meats and fruits.......it was delightful to sit outside but the wind sure does blow here across the lake.

Room Tip: I would like to have seen the double floored rooms with the balcony containing upstairs bedroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    52
    13
    9
    10
See reviews for
35
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Beautiful views from hotel room (sea view). I stayed with 3 friends, we had 2 rooms with a sea view. Rooms were very clean and spacious (double room). Breakfast was brilliant! fresh fruits, yoghurts, variet of differnt bread/cakes/croissants. We were all vegetarian and only down side was that there were not many options for vegetarians e.g hashbrowns/vegetarian sausages/. Staff were amazing and very helpful especially the manager Massimo and Receptionist Annette. They went out of their way to help us and ensure we had a brilliant and comfortable stay. They lend bikes out for the day so do make sure you go for a bike ride around the lake its just too beautiful to miss. (Room 104/105) London, U.K (Stay- 15-19 May 2014). p.s weather was amazing around this time and hotel was not busy at all.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor opposite the entrance to the private beach! Was very quiet and sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The best hotel you can imagine: by Lake Garda, two floor rooms with a balcony, amazing restaurant and little beach... A bit cold to swim in the lake in mid June :)) but the hotel was fabulous! definitely would go back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana_Sehtmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over a long weekend ,it was recommended by a friend .upon arrival the receptionist was helpful showed us to the room ,it was spacious ,spotless and right onto the garden overlooking the. Lake ,we had our own sunbeds ,fridge in the room ,the most comfortable bed . the breakfast was continental lovely fruit and yoghurt ,breads preserves ,ham cheese ,cakes all fresh and plenty even until the very finish of service , the 2 staff were busy and helpful and smiley ,tea and coffee in abundance ,you could have 1speciality coffee also .the town is a 20min walk but what a walk ,stunning scenery and nice little bars along the way . We hired a car which was brilliant way of seeing Lake Garda . If I had 1 thing to gripe about it would be the shower flooding the floor every time ,but that was a bad design oh and it would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities available to make your own either in room or in the restaurant in the day .we had a ice bucket every evening and 2glasses for our wine from the supermarket .

Room Tip: Choose a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnitogorsk, Russia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Extremely bad!
All our stay in this hotel was extremely bad, from the very beginning till our departure. First of all – could your imagine that their name “Villa Maria Au Lac” would be” Villa Maria don Orio” on their side board? Then our room: we booked Suite (when you book via their web-site they have pictures and description of a suite of first type), so we were sure that we booked the suite of first type, when we arrived we got the suite of second type. This second type suite is the same as a family suite, but with the lake-view balcony. The balcony in fact wasn’t the lake-view; it was the restaurant-view. So you should close your curtains for all day because people in restaurant can see you and your room in details. The furniture (if I can call it furniture) was shabby, the sofa was with dirty spots, the bedsides tables on upper level were bare stumps with nailed lamps, the bad was squeaking. Air-con was extremely noisy. The first level with sofa dressed for sleep had no free space, you could hardly move between walls and the sofa. The wardrobe had lack of space too, because they put the safe and the refrigerator with the mini-bar there. The shower was without a door, so water poured onto the floor. Breakfast was poor and uneatable, so my husband and daughter didn’t attend it, by the way if u arrived at 9.30 am (breakfast till 10.30) you would find empty plates. You should take your own beach towels; otherwise you would pay 3Euro per each. They didn’t provide laundry service at all. And you don’t find an iron and drying facilities for wet clothes and swimsuits. And you shouldn’t dream of having a sunbed on the smallest beach – they have only five or six for all guests. Service was awful in all aspects – the receptionist had never greeted us during our 8 days stay, room’s cleaning was very specific (they didn’t wash dirty glasses neither did they clean table), the call to the reservation desk was terrible: the manager was rude and even didn’t want to listen to us about the problem with the suite of second type; she was not listening to what I was telling about. We tried to shorten our stay and this “friendly” hotel asked us to pay the whole amount for all reserved days, “but we are free and can go away every day” (manager’s words). They didn’t mention such rule in their cancellation policy (I mean their web-site). So we paid the whole amount in spite of spending there 2 days less. In my opinion everything in this hotel was extremely bad. If you respect yourself and your close ones, stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YuliaShka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

1. is understaffed with no management on site?
2. does not operate the advertised spa in peak season?
3. does not serve lunch or bar snacks during the day and the walk to nearest restaurants or shops is 20-30 minutes away (or a drive)?
4. charges for more than one cup of coffee at breakfast despite the room rate including breakfast?
5. does not chill relevant food stuffs or keep food covered at breakfast...dessicated, curly cucumber anyone?
6. does not provide you with the rooms you booked, even having confirmed by email that they were, and, on arrival, tells you the hotel is full and nothing can be done?
7. advertises a private beach but, in reality, the beach and the hotel loungers are used by the general public?
8. has bathrooms where the shower floods the tiled floor each time it is used?
9. advertises free Wi-fi but you have to stand outside your room to get a signal?
10. has a really dangerous exit from it's driveway onto the main road at the back?
BUT
11. has a nice view of Lake Garda from it's gardens?

...then this is the hotel for you.

We, however, wish we had not wasted our money and time and would not recommend it or stay there again. There are far, far better hotels around Lake Garda which actually do not treat their paying guests with contempt.

Room Tip: Book a room in an alternative hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Discerning1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at, right on the shore of the lake itself, we could open our room door in the morning and step out onto the lake, amazing. The sun rises across from your room, if you have a lakeside room that is. You have your own sunbeds outside your room, so no early get ups to secure them.

Breakfast on the balcony with the sun coming up was a truly incredible experience.

Room Tip: Choose a lake side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toscolano-Maderno
1.8 mi away
Adria Hotel n Resort
Adria Hotel n Resort
#6 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
275 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sorriso
Hotel Sorriso
#4 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
60 reviews
2.7 mi away
Piccolo Paradiso
Piccolo Paradiso
#2 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#9 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
215 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
942 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#5 of 14 in Toscolano-Maderno
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac

Property: Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac
Address: Via Roma 45, 25088, Toscolano-Maderno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Toscolano-Maderno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Toscolano-Maderno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria Au Lac
Hotel Villa Maria Au Lac Toscolano-Maderno, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing