We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars on paper.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpenpalace Deluxe Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I would first like to say I am travelling fairly frequently and have been staying in many five stars/luxury hotels around the world. This is to say that some remarks will appear to be picky, but if you get five stars standards must be very high.

We stayed here three nights, from thursday to sunday. Got a very nice room, on the first floor with view on the outdoor swimming pool and on the mountains. Big room, typical furniture (wood) of the area. There is a living room and a sleeping room separated by a glass window. Complimentary WI-FI (at least in our package).
Bathroom is also nice, toilet separated from the rest of the bathroom. It was part of our honeymoon, bed was full of red (textile) petals, and enjoyed a complimentary half bottle of champagne. Our package included half board. Restaurant is really great. The half board menu included nine dishes, from appetizer to dessert, including vegetarian dishes. You could choose as many as you wish, even the full menu, but you could hardly finish all of it as the portions are big. You may also choose a-la.carte. The buffet is rich. Restaurant is nice, overall, quiet and intimate. The location has two ski areas, Klausberg and Speikboden, two nice areas with good runs. I would not spend an entire week on each of them, but two days each is perfect. The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service to either of the ski areas, anytime and this is really great since parking close to the lifts may be difficult. The hotel has a heated ski-room and lockers. SPA: the hotel has a nice spa, consisting of a big indoor pool, nice-looking, a salty whirlpool, sauna and steam baths, and an outdoor swimming pool and a whirlpool as well, as well as an alpine sauna located outdoor. THe hotel organizes each day recreational activities, yoga classes, aqua-gym classes, sauna events, suggestions on what's going on in the surroundings. There is a catalogue of dozens of spa treatments, expensive and affordable, of any kind, from ayurveda to standard massage, facial massage, peeling etc. We had four treatments, one each and one for the couple. The latter was really nice, with milk bath and great massage. The single massage were not exactly as described in the depliant: the ayurveda massage has nothing to do with ayurveda, we were not offered the choice of oils, the oils were almost cold. More important, we were not asked whether we would have preferred a male or female therapist. Sometimes people do not like to be treated by someone of the opposite sex, and I believe this must be asked for when booking.

After the first day there, out of curiosity we took a look at the other reviews on this hotel and thought some of them - the negative and criticisms - were just crazy, or better, were by travellers who were too picky to render a balanced review.

We then paid attention to the remarks in said reviews and surprisingly found ourselves to be in agreement with most of the remarks.

Overall, it is a very nice hotel, it is great for skiing, great food, in a wonderful valley. But I have some perplexities as to the five stars. In my opinion, the hotel is really understaffed and this is not acceptable for a five star.

Restaurant: other reviewers said they had to wait for wine and water. True. There were only two or three waiters for the whole room. Bread was brought, and when out of bread we had to ask. Water and wine as well. We had to ask. Glasses were not always refilled and the waiter did not keep an eye on the bread or so. At peak hours, the service is slow.

SPA: there is absolutely no staff, or there is rarely someone of the staff. Relax chairs around the pool are limited in number and people often book them for the day by leaving the towel. Or they just leave without removing the towel: this means that most of the chairs are always apparently booked up. There is no one that checks appropriate use of steam bath and sauna.

Reception: the concierge forgot to book a transfer to the ski areas. We booked a very expensive treatment for two that ended one hour after checkout and the reception agreed to allow us to change in a different room; at the end of the treatment not only we were not given any indication of the room, but were forced to go with bathrobe to the main desk and ask for the room number, and then key did not work, and then when in the room our luggage was still in the original room where we have been staying, then asked to change in our original room and then agreed. all of this in bathrobe wandering around in the hotel.

Room: in five starts there is usually a wide selection of lotions, soaps. Here there is no body lotion, and no shower soap. Just shampoo. The fresh fruit of the first day was always the same the following days, and therefore no longer fresh! It was not replaced, and therefore kept us company for the whole stay.

I also agree to the remark that whoever had a room with view on the sawmill opposite the hotel - and there are many rooms facing the sawmill - that is not a nice view.

Summing up, the hotel facility is nice, everything is nice, but to be rated five stars some improvements are needed, mainly in the number of staff.

Room Tip: If you think of booking a treatment for two at the spa, be sure to book it well in advance (one week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stekl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 363 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We celebrated Christmas and New Year at this wonderful establishment in the picturesque valley in South Tyrol.
Each day we stayed the hotel went from strength to strength and we were more than delighted with our memorable holiday here. The hotel offers comfort and exclusive relaxation and tranquility to the highest of levels and superior 5 star standard: the tantalizing food (buffet breakfast, dessert buffets and gala dinners), spa facilities (steam rooms, saunas), swimming pools (indoor and outdoor heated), beauty treatments (La Prairie facials and massages) and world class ski resorts two of which are located with 10 minutes of the hotel and a free shuttle transfer.
We came away from the hotel and our holiday feeling completely and utterly relaxed all thanks to the truly professional and knowledgeable staff that catered for all our requests and needs. What we truly thought set this hotel apart from the other establishments we stayed was the pure luxuriousness and exclusiveness of the hotel; every aspect was truly 5 star indulgence and amenities. We were made to feel very special and like VIP’s throughout our stay. Entertainment was provided after dinner: Tyrolian sitar player, lounge music and a live band at Christmas and new year and activities such as Yoga, Water aerobics and sauna infusions kept us as busy as we wanted.
Our room was a suite which was outstandingly comfortable. A complimentary bottle of Moet greeted us upon check in which was smooth and faultless and a lovely tour of the hotel to help us settle in. The shower turned into a sauna and the toiletries where from Bulgari. The night time turn down service ensured we had a truly soothing and calm sleep and we woke up to the glorious breakfast buffet in which I had the best pancakes and scrambled eggs I have ever tasted.
We will be back very soon to this remarkable hotel.

Room Tip: The spa treatments are outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank europelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We fInish our Stay After One week....the Price Service/Quality Ratio is clearly Not good
Service in Restaurant is Not Good at all Not Even worth a 2 Stars, Most guest complain
Food is ok, Not up to what One could expect from that Range of Price
Shuttle Service to Ski Ressorts is Not well Organised at all
Be carefull if you fly to an AirPort nearby, Chancen are that you get forgotten
The Feeling is Really that the Place is there to make Money only, which is conferier by employees who clearly are Not motivated
The Place has Not got a Soul, an Identity
SPA facilty is Limited Compressor to Others from the category, Swimmingpool is Even dangerous for Kids as Teiles are very slippery
Very expensive for what ist is we do Not recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great hotel,sofisticated and simple at the same time.
Lots of amenities,great amazing choice of swimming pools,saunas.
Pleasant setting,lovely garden,good food.
The valley has very nice walks and trekking.there are some lovely villages nearby.
2 small towns Brunico and Bressanone for nice shops.
There is also a Centre for respiratory problems in the nearby village of Predoi

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annalisa903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Very friendly and very proffessional staff.
Beautiful rooms and fantastic good food.
The best croissants in the world :-)
The spa area was also very nice with 5 saunas and 2 jacuzzis and one indoor pool and one outside.
The only negitive was the location of the hotel stuck between other houses but you had a car that took you to the diffrent ski resorts.

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

You will not find much better than this.

Superb service, fantastic spa, unbelievable amount of high quality food, beautiful grounds etc etc.

We spent a week recouping from illness and will be back next year for sure.

Rooms are a little small and theres not a lot to do at night but the views of the mountains, the walking and the food / spa etc are all top notch.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view and stay away from the rooms that overlook the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The hotel is expensive but does not disappoint. We hope to go again.

Positives:
The rooms are large, in very good repair, and impeccably clean. The breakfast buffet has an abundance of tasty choices. The evening meals were truly delicious - a variety of appetizers, first and second plates, and sweets each night - one could eat them all if one wished though I usually managed to restrain myself. The wait staff were extremely attentive - very well trained. There are a variety of pools and saunas, none of which were ever crowded. I tried out the spa treatments - it was nice to be pampered! It was my first experience so I can't rate it other than to say that the staff were very professional and I enjoyed the experience - I may be spoiled for life! We went for some day hikes in the area and really enjoyed returning to the hotel for the 'apres-hike'. And, the front desk staff were the friendliest and most efficient I have ever met. DVD player in the room.

Negatives:
- No air conditioning so you have to rely on the fresh mountain air being cool enough.
- Not enough umbrellas around the outdoor pool.
- Hair dryers in the rooms don't work well - they have some extras at the front desk because they are aware of this problem.
- For the price of the rooms, I think that the internet could have been complimentary.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMLT_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giovanni in Valle Aurina
2.6 mi away
Alpin Royal Wellness and Resort
Alpin Royal Wellness and Resort
#1 of 8 in San Giovanni in Valle Aurina
411 reviews
3.5 mi away
Linderhof Wellness Resort
Linderhof Wellness Resort
#1 of 5 in Valle Aurina
519 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Schwarzenstein
Hotel Schwarzenstein
#1 of 5 in Lutago
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Falkensteinerhof
17.4 mi away
Hotel Quelle Nature Spa Resort
Hotel Quelle Nature Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Valle di Casies
1,043 reviews
3.4 mi away
Residence Hotel Alpinum
Residence Hotel Alpinum
#1 of 17 in Campo Tures
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenpalace Deluxe Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenpalace Deluxe Hotel & Spa

Address: Localita Gisse 83 | St. Johann im Ahrntal, 39030 San Giovanni in Valle Aurina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > San Giovanni in Valle Aurina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Giovanni in Valle Aurina
Price Range: $377 - $691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alpenpalace Deluxe Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpenpalace Deluxe Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenpalace Deluxe Hotel & Spa Italy/San Giovanni In Valle Aurina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing