We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to be avoided”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elafonisos Diamond Resort
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in Diamond resort 3 nights, coming from a trip in Argolidi and Leonidi. We booked two family rooms -- as we were traveling 2 families together, with 2 kids each-- and we would unanimously recommend you to AVOID this so-called resort. The are so many better place in the island, nice hotels and various resorts, not to mention rooms to rent directly on the port. For the price, I guarantee you can have so much better choice. In short: the resort is ill located, not really walking distance from the beach and in a rather dusty and remote area; the rooms are dull, quite depressing after opening the door for the first time!; you can forget about having hot water in the shower for 4 people, it barely lasts for 1 short shower; breakfast is almost a joke, and the staff is looking at your moves with anxiety, probably hoping that you don't take another cup of coffee to save some cost -- I am not exagerating at all, this was truly embarassing! And the cherry on the cake: we got robbed a small pair of earings and the tenant did not even bother to ask the staff.. Another few things in you want more: they don't take credit card, wi-fi does not work in your room contrary to what the website advertise, and they barely speak any English which makes any recrimination completely useless.
Now, if you still want to go, your choice....

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Guy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Elafonisos Diamond Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 39 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

My family (wife and two children ages 5 and 7) and I stayed at the Elafonisos Diamond in June 2010 AND June 2011 and we truly loved it. If you want rest and relaxation this is the place to stay. It's near Panagia beach and close to the main town. The rooms are clean and spacious and the balconies have spectacular views. Price is very reasonable. Mrs. Katerina was a great host and took care of our every need. We hope to come again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Greece_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We spent a wk there: on paper it looks like a medium-high standard resort, it's priced so, but details say they're misaligned w the price.
A few info:
"Gym" is a 4 sq mt room, underground, full of dust, 2 machines fully rusted
Wi-fi is very short range: we got connected only placed on reception sofa!
In the apartment, both kitchen and bathroom, water is salty and this is the most uncomfortable thing.
If you ask them for support you might be answered "this is the first time we are reported this issue": should I feel guilty for that?
50% discounted price is the minimum threshold to bear all that.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank n n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

the studios are big, without stoves, with big balconies and cleaned daily. the beach is near about 5 min walking but the hotel does not own any of the umbrellas and the sunbeds and you need to pay an extra 7 euros plus the 100 euros you pay per night for the hotel i would say with 110 euro you can find accomodation at a four star includind halfboard!!! i need to mention the hotel is in the middle of nowhere and if you a paper to read you need to make 5 km!

Room Tip: i would suggest either stay near simos where all the fun is or stay at the centre
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Port of Elafonisos is a small village, where not all the "hotels & rooms" have balconies & good view. Also they are quite close one to another and this could bother some visitors. If you do not like the above look for something away from the port.

We had planned to stay at the island only for 3 days. Thus we were looking for a big room, big balcony with privacy & sea-view and open space around. These are the strongest points of this hotel. But it is also clean, located in a quite place, 10 minutes walking from the unique beach of Panagia, the staff is friendly and the breakfast good (it is a 3-star-hotel...do not expect the wide variety of a wellknow brand...and at the end of the day you visit Elafonisos for the beaches and the fresh sea-food...not for the breakfast).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VassilisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The hotel is situated near the beautiful turquoise water Panagia beach. The more popular Simos beach is several Km away. It is a new building with excellent insulation and very spacious rooms. The rooms have everything you may probably need and nothing useless. The balcony is big with very comfortable bamboo furniture and great view to the sea. Parking is easy and free on site. Wi-fi was only available at the reception. Everyday cleaning service was spotless. Perfect for a relaxing holiday. Elafonisos, in general, is overpriced compared to other Greek islands. This hotel offers quite good value. I will most probably stay again and I very much recommend it. Many thanks to the very friendly family that runs it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NikosItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The hotel is rather new and well located on one of nices beaches on Elafonissos. You need a car to get there, but you probably will have one to reach the island anyways so this is not an issue.
The room was very clean and spacious, the air conditioning struggled to keep the room cool due to extreme temperature - so the noise of it during the night was reducing sleep quality, but this is a hard call to take whether you switch it on or off.
Breakfast was OK, we were very disappointed not to have fresh orange juice, on an island so close to miles of orange production which we saw on the way to there. This is like if you were served powder milk in the Alps. Breakfast can be improved overall.
The view is stunning from the room and the stay was enjoyable overall.

Only recommendation if you drive there: don't take the second gate if your car is low, the car in front of ours lost its exhaust system because of the shape of the ramp...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Midouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elafonisos
2.3 mi away
Voula Resort
Voula Resort
#3 of 7 in Elafonisos
62 reviews
1.9 mi away
Capari Suites Hotel
Capari Suites Hotel
#4 of 7 in Elafonisos
75 reviews
2.3 mi away
Berdoussis Hotel
Berdoussis Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elafonisos
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Studios Maniati
Studios Maniati
#1 of 7 in Elafonisos
148 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kinsterna Hotel
Kinsterna Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Stefanos
594 reviews
2.4 mi away
Estella Hotel
Estella Hotel
#5 of 14 in Elafonisos
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elafonisos Diamond Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elafonisos Diamond Resort

Address: Kato Nisi, Elafonisos 230 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Elafonisos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Elafonisos
Price Range: $60 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elafonisos Diamond Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elafonisos Diamond Resort is found 4,5 km by the harbour - city of Elafonisos and in a distance of 150 meters from the beautiful beach of Panagia. It's a modern 3 star with large rooms and balconies with sea view. There is a private parking area, barbecue, playground, gym, bar, wi-hi internet access and many more facilities. The area of Hotel and one room are designed for a wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elafonisos Diamond Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing