We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Nick's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smithfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nick's Place
Ranked #2 of 9 Smithfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at Nick's place on a stopover from Johannesburg to East London, it's ideally located about half way so it is in a great location to break up the journey.

The guest house is fantastic, the house and rooms are well furnished and presented, with all amenities as well as lots of interesting artefacts and displays, giving the feeling of an old majestic farm house. The town and surroundings are quiet and relaxed.

Nick's place also has a bar and restaurant which was perfect after the long drive. The hosts are super friendly, we arrived late and they still set out to provide us with food and really make us feel at home and unwind.

Will definitely come back here again. Thank you Ian and Fabrice for your great hospitality.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Axel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 50 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Nicks Place, tucked away in the friendly town of SmithfIeld, a beautiful tranquil environment, where the hustle & bustle of the world fade away, a relaxing "home away from home".
A tranquil haven for relaxation, with delicious meals prepared by the hosts, home made marmalade, jams and fresh out of the oven bread.

To the warm & welcoming hosts, Ian & Fabrice, many thanks, for an unforgettable experience
We will be Back
The Van Clan (Kloof, Kwazulu-Natal)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lahryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

What a blissful weekend we had at Nick's Place, we have stayed there before but this time opted for the cottage and will definitely return.
Old worldly rooms with luxurious linen, attention to detail - the cottage is a must for total relaxation, where you can enjoy the beautiful big garden, watch the cows and sheep go by as well as enjoy the abundant birdlife, or just do pretty much nothing while Brandy & Misty, the resident Jack Russells pop in and out in their laid back manner.
The cottage has everything, we made our own barbecue and sipped wine , watching the sunset behind the mountain.
We do however not miss Fabriz & Ian's cooking, for supper choose between the delicious chicken pie, yellowtail & veggies, karoo lamb chops or an exotic homemade pizza, with blue cheese and figs! They also have their own bakery, so fresh breads are on the menu and they cater for your every need. I especially enjoyed the impromptu salads when feeling peckish. Wander around and explore all the nice stuff, some are on sale, like homemade jams and handmade knits from the creative Fabriz. We love the place.

Room Tip: The cottage is very private, and the room across the front door has a wonderful big kingsize bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I first came here in 2010 when I was driving from Cape Town to Johannesburg. It was cold, I was tired, and I just wanted to get home. But when I arrived at Nick's Place, I felt like I had stepped in my front door.

I was given wine, food, company and a roaring fire - not to mention a luxurious room at cut-rate prices.

Since then, I've always come back to Smithfield when driving to either Cape Town or Johannesburg. It's been 4 times now, and I cant wait to get back there again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukeBuchanan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Smithfield is a refreshing, quaint Karoo town with unique bars and restaurants run by proud "smiffies".

Nick's place represents the town and its people wonderfully. Owner Nick's(Ian's) desire is to provide any traveller with homely food, a sound nights rest and topical local conversation. I definitely recommend it.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank garethbroekhuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed over travelling from JHB to Eastern Cape and back home again and confirm the place is lovely, We have two small kids so the cottage worked well for us. Excellent food and lovely garden. Great hospitality. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Cottage if you have kids, otherwise in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILANAJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I've stayed at a number of guest houses this holiday, but I felt that Nick's Place deserved a special mention. The facilities are top-notch and not what you'd expect to find in a tiny Hamlet in the middle of nowhere. Our room was air-conditioned, spacious and beautifully furnished (the "White Room"). They have a licensed restaurant with simple, but hearty and flavoursome food prepared by the owners. There is a small pool in which we happily cooled down. And the owners are great people.

The best thing of course is their pricing. We paid R600 for a double room. Breakfast included.

We only stayed here one night, but it was the very unexpected highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DewetvanRooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Smithfield hotels
0.7 mi away
Buckleys Guest Accommodation
Buckleys Guest Accommodation
#4 of 9 in Smithfield
3 reviews
0.3 mi away
Purple House B&B
Purple House B&B
#5 of 9 in Smithfield
6 reviews
0.6 mi away
Letsatsi Private Game Lodge
Letsatsi Private Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Smithfield
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jasmine Cottages
Jasmine Cottages
#2 of 3 in Smithfield
7 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Nick's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nick's Place

Address: Corner of General Hertzhog & Brand St, Smithfield 9966, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Smithfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Smithfield
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your one-stop stay in Smithfield Halfway between Johannesburg and East London you’ll find the historic hamlet of Smithfield. It is a well known stop-over for travellers commuting on the N6 and the proud home of Nick’s Place. A charming guest house & restaurant, Nick’s Place boasts all the comforts that will have you feeling right at home. Three luxuriously appointed double bedrooms, all ensuite, offer television, eletric blankets and heaters for those chilly Eastern Free State nights. Nick’s Place also offers a self-catering, pet friendly cottage, set apart in a fully-fenced, private garden. It has its own fully equipped kitchen, with outside braai facilities and comfortably sleeps two adults and two children. It is ideal for travellers with dogs ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing