We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Ambience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trading Places Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smithfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trading Places Guest House
Ranked #2 of 9 Smithfield B&B and Inns
EAST lONDON
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed a night after a long drive, arrived late, to an oasis of peace and tranquility in Smithfield . Thankyou Carmel and Gus. We loved our stay and our room was just perfect. You have done so much, and we look forward to coming back and seeing all your projects come to fruition. We absolutely loved going to Laughing Likkewaan for dinner, and browsing the books as an aperitif. To be highly recommended.!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuarryLakeInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
22
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay over at Trading Places. Our apartment had everything we needed and loved the view on the Smithfield Mountain. We appreciated the fact that there is a separate secure fenced-in garden where our doggy could stretch her legs. A lovely little town with lots of atmosphere and friendly people. The apartment, the bedding and amenities are of the best and the place is very tastefully decorated. Carmel and Gus did everything to make our stay special. We especially also enjoyed the dinner arranged for us at the Laughing Likkewaan. An outing we can recommend, but of course the entire experience at Trading Places.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel R, Owner at Trading Places Guest House, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate that you spent the time to do so.

It was great to meet you and your friendly K9, and we hope you'll be back soon to spend some time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have stayed i think the last 4 years in a row on our way to Mocambique.
Carmel is the most amazing and hospitable person you will meet.Trading places accomodation is an Oasis in a desert absolutely magnificent and very interesting.Carmel always arranges where to eat and it is always an interesting evening.You will alaways have a good chuckle walking home after dinner!The locals are geniune and good people.We love to catch up on what has changed in the town each year.Gus is always busy and willing to assist with anything he can do to help! many people do not understand why we always start our trip here but when you have visited once you will understand.Keep up the great work both of you and see you soon.

Best Regards,
Doug and Sany

Room Tip: the rooms at the back of the house are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dougsowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel R, Owner at Trading Places Guest House, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Wow! Thanks for all the good things you mentioned in your review. We're so pleased to see you each year, and it's great to catch up with all that you've been doing between visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I won't be travelling again through Smithfield with a cursory glance left and right as I used to do before this trip. In fact I'm grateful that we were delayed in Johannesburg on that day. We arrived after the sun had settled below the Free-State horizon to find that Carmel and Gus had arranged a wonderful meal and evening for us. Our room was comfortable, warm, spotless and quiet. After breakfast and a cup of coffee the next morning we went on our way, sadly not having taken Gus up on his offer to lead us on a walk, run or ride into the hills around the town. In the end it seemed such a waste that we didn't spend longer there. We will be doing so in December though when we pass though Smithfield again on our way to Rhodes and beyond.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel R, Owner at Trading Places Guest House, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of Trading Places. The only sorry part of it is that you weren't able to spend more time to enjoy the trails on our mountain. We're looking forward to your return in December - and then we hope to show you what you missed last time round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I would recommend Trading Places to any traveller. It is clean, neat, spacious, pretty, interesting and artistic. Your hosts, Carmel and Gus are warm and friendly and makes you feel at home in an instant. They really went out of there way to help with eating arrangements etc. I would definitely plan to stay at Trading Places again if travelling to the coast along the N6.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anetd555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel R, Owner at Trading Places Guest House, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review of Trading Places. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay - from our side you were such a jolly party that we had a great time too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A lucky internet search the day before saw us stopping over at Trading Places on our way back to Johannesburg from Port Elizabeth. Carmel & Gus immediately made us welcome - nothing was too much trouble. Carmel brought a welcome tea tray to the back porch while Gus explained the progress of the small dam they were busy creating at the back of the property. Being September it was still very dry and dusty - but I would love to return in summer to see Carmel's roses in full bloom. Our rooms were spacious, beautifully decorated and had those lovely high ceilings. Dinner and breakfast were taken at the Laughing Likkewaan - Mom and Dad really enjoyed the short moonlight stroll to dinner. Do yourself a favour - call Trading Places first!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPietersma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel R, Owner at Trading Places Guest House, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We're delighted that you wrote a review of Trading Places - thank you very much. It really was a pity that our gardens, like the rest of town are looking a bit forlorn after the deep winter frosts and dryness and that your visit coincided with a two day wind storm. But do come back, as you half-suggested, after the first rains when the roses are blooming and what a change you'll find!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Carmel has built her reputation on sheer excellence in everything she does. Not only that, but she does everything with enthusiasm and charm. On arrival at the unusual maroon house at number 32 Voortrekker Street, one immediately feels welcome, pampered, relaxed and completely comfortable. Her carefully chosen artworks on the walls speak volumes about the person. Her discriminating taste extends to the furnishings, fittings and her attention to detail ensures a B&B experience unlike any other. If you're lucky, she might suggest a meal a few doors away, at the Laughing Likkewaan. Accept immediately, and enjoy! In fact, stay another night or two.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Leigh529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel R, Owner at Trading Places Guest House, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. And you write as beautifully as you paint! I loved the photographs you showed us of the spring flowers and the landscapes you had seen, and they really make me want to spend more time there as soon as we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Smithfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Purple House B&B
Purple House B&B
#7 of 9 in Smithfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bokmakierie Guesthouse
Bokmakierie Guesthouse
#1 of 9 in Smithfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trading Places Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trading Places Guest House

Property: Trading Places Guest House
Address: 32 Voortrekker Street, Smithfield 9966, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Smithfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Smithfield
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing