We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip Down Memory Lane”

Kettle Valley Railway Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$144.73*
and up
Okanagan Wine Country Bike and Wine Tour
More Info
$144.73*
and up
Okanagan Craft Distillery and Brewery Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Trip Down Memory Lane”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a delightful steam engine ride through the picturesque Kettle Valley. It is all done very well and not too much hype. Pleasant way to spend an afternoon or morning. Cost is $20 per adult. On a warm day get a seat in the outside carriages, it is much cooler and you see more. If you like steam engines and a blast from the past, this would be it! Lot of families were enjoying the outing and we recommend it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    27
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Beautiful Trail for Walking, Running or Biking”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We walked on the trail on the portion that goes up from Penticton on to the Naramata Bench. It was a very lovely walk along the cliff's edge at the start overlooking Lake Okanagan and then walking through the orchards and vineyards on the Naramata Bench. We walked out for around an hour and then walked back to our car. If we had more time we wished we had our bikes with us to do a longer portion of the trail. Stopped in at a little store in one of the orchards for some ice cream for the walk back. Definitely would recommend for people who enjoy walking or biking.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100travelbug
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Trail and Views”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We biked the Myra Canyon portion of the trail with the KVR Cycling Tour. It was amazing. Trail is great. This portion is very easy and can be walked or biked. You can rent bikes at the top but it is along rough road up and really nice to let someone else do the driving. Went over 18 trestles and through 2 tunnels. Incredible to see and amazing views! Loved our time there!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 100travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoho National Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A beautiful saunter on foot or by bike over looking the valley.”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We went by bike and did the whole trail. It's an easy ride as there really isn't any incline. Take your own bike or rent at the trail head. Take some WD40 because the bikes for rent are lacking lube other wise they are fine for what you do.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chocho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a very special trail”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

suited for active and athletic people who want to go long distances.. However, there is access everywhere and even seniors can take strolls along short sections with extraordinary views over Skaha Lake.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank kajbar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kettle Valley Railway Trail also viewed

Penticton, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 
Okanagan Falls, Okanagan Valley
Okanagan Falls, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Kettle Valley Railway Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing