We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KVR Kelowna to Naramata” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kettle Valley Railway Trail

Kettle Valley Railway Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.65*
and up
Okanagan Wine Country Bike and Wine Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
British Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“KVR Kelowna to Naramata”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The KVR trail from the Myra Canyon Trestles to Naramata is an incredible bike trip. Not difficult to ride at all (except for the sandy patches). This trail is not meant for road or hybrid bikes - bring your mountain bike - and lots of water!

The views are stunning and the restored trestles are amazing. Lots of great old train tunnels too! A great one day or two ride if you want to stay overnight in Naramata or Penticton.

The Myra Canyon from the East Parking Lot to the Parking Lot at June Springs Forest Service Road is about a 13KM ride or walk (non-motorized only). From June Springs FSR to Naramata, the ride is approx. 50 - 60km. We didn't know for sure. Motorized vehicles can access this section, so beware!

If you want to ride one way, you'll need a driver to drop you off, or use the shuttle service available from Penticton.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank fishinwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    26
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Oh so beautiful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

This trail is amazing. We were biking it from Kelowna to Penticton. We took a shuttle from Penticton ($60.00 - 7:30am - http://www.ambrosiatours.ca/bikes.htm) to Kelowna and road back to Penticton. A great way to do the trail as it is all mostly flat or down hill. We had a fabulous day as it was partly cloudy but still about 20 degrees. The first 18 km is through valleys, canyons and you go over a total of 18 trestle bridges. Unfortunately through this area is where the devastation occurred a few years back from the forest fires however the trail is excellent, the trestles are all rebuilt and there has been a lot of work done replanting. This section of the trail is grated and quite a wide trail. As you pass all the trestles the trail starts to narrow and become more like an old logging road. The trail isn't actually that bumpy or rigid and my friend had smaller road tires on her mountain bike and had no problem. Although when she came to the sandier sections she had to work harder and spun out a bit. I had regular mountain tires and had no problem at all. At km 35-37 you come to Chute Lake. A nice little stop. The lodge is a little older and not well kept but it is a back country lodge that has electricity, restaurant and some sleeping quarters. The beer was cold, relatively cheap ($5) and oh so tasty. The next 35 km is a steaper grade down but not steep by any means. You are mainly in the bush until you come to the valley section where you are along side the mountain and have a view of the Okanagan. A couple tunnels and switch backs and then down into town. On the way in you have to stop at Hillside Estate Winery. Fantastic after a 6 hour ride. You must try their Pinot Noir Reserve it is to die for. The final section back into town is through vineyards and orchards with a lake view and some beautiful homes around you. You see the marina and the main beach and you are in town.

A fantastic day. We were slow and enjoyed our selves and ducked out of the rain few times, stopped for an hour for lunch and it took us 8 hours.

A trip not to forget and to highly recommend to everyone! I'll be back again :)

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
12 Thank Jenn076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Myra Canyon - Penticton.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

My boyfriend and I biked from Myra Canyon to Penticton over the course of 2 days this past August. I had not done a lot of biking recently, but my boyfriend is an avid mountain biker. The whole trip was roughly 83 kilometers. It is a fairly easy bike ride as this section is flat and then there is a 2.2 downhill grade on the section from Chute Lake into Penticton. Some people do this trip in 1 day, but unless you are in good biking shape & properly equipped (ie: full suspension bike) I would recommend doing it over 2 days. We biked from Myra Canyon to Chute Lake lodge on the first day which is roughly 32 km's.

The Myra Canyon section is beautiful. The trestles are a sight to see, and this section is a very easy ride. The next section is called 'Ruth' - there is not much to see on this section as it is closed in on both sides by trees, but it is still a nice ride. There are many areas to stop & rest & easy access to outhouses.

The part we found most difficult was the section titled "Lorna." Logging roads intersect with the KVR along this section, and we encountered a lot of pick up trucks driving down this part. Due to the vehicles, the road has become very rough and pitted. I would highly recommend having a FULL suspension bike. We only had front suspension, and by the end of the day both of our bodies were aching from being rattled around for 4 hours. It was a very hard ride, and we were very happy to finally arrive at the Chute Lake lodge!!!

Chute Lake lodge is a definite must-see when riding through this section. We camped here over night & treated ourselves to a yummy piece of homemade pie. The antique collection is very neat to see as well.

It is obvious that the trail from Chute Lake into Naramata is used much more by day trippers as it is well marked and very well laid out. They even have a water station 1/2 way along the trail! The view of Okanagan Lake is spectacular, but again - the road is sandy & very bumpy along this stretch as well. We also heard many rattlesnakes riding through here, and encountered a rather large black bear crossing the trial - so it's best to stay on the marked trail.

We exited the KVR at Smethurst road as we couldn't take the rocky ride anymore. We then continued riding into Penticton along Naramata road. It was much smoother & a great way to see all the wineries! Plus, we stopped and had lunch (refueled) at Hillside Winery -- delish! (Only open till 3:00 p.m. for lunch).

Overall, we had a great time ... some tips to make your ride easier ...

1. FULL suspension bike (you can rent these from Freedom bike shop in Penticton).
2. Take lots of water & power gels (especially if it's hot).
3. Have lots of snacks (granola bars, trail mix) to keep you going --- you'll def. be hungry!
4. Take a GPS, or a good map of the route if you are going through the Ruth/Lorna section ... there were a few spots were it would be easy to get turned around without it.
5. We left our car in Penticton at the B&B we were staying at after our bike trip & hitched a ride up with AMBROSIA SHUTTLE service. It was $50/person, and they picked us up from our hotel and drove us straight to Myra Canyon --- highly recommend them. Much cheaper than other shuttle services.
6. If camping over night - take some warm clothes - it got quite cold.

Helpful?
29 Thank lookforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks AB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“could be the best or the worst”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

If you are riding your bike along the Kettle Valley RR and come to the Chute Lake Resort, you will see it as the most wonderful glimpse of civilization in at least a day. If you drive in from a 4 or 5 star hotel, you might see it differently. It is quite basic and primative. There is a "boil water" order and you supply your own bedding for the cabins.

There is no valet, no bellboy, no fancy internet.
There is no TV, no telephone. no alarm clock to set
There is for sure a washroom
a flusher, i will have you know
just out the door and down the path
about 50 yards or so.

In between the rooms , there is daylight through the cracks
More daylight enters around the door, a hook backs up the latch.
The rooster crows to wake you up
and crows and crows some more
breakfast will be available
if ordered the night before

If you want rustic this is it.

Helpful?
7 Thank jimanddottaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Kettle Valley Railway Trail, from Myra Canyon to Chute Lake Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2008

This review pertains only to the portion of the trail between one endpoint--Myra Canyon--and Chute Lake Resort, which is about 30 km to the southwest of Myra Canyon. The trail is very long, and detailed information about various segments, including their length and surface composition, is hard to come by, at least with a quick review online.

We rode the above portion in mid-May 2008. The 18 trestles for which the Myra-to-Ruth portion of the trail is so famous just re-opened in March. (They were burned in a huge forest fire a few years ago.) They are spectacular, and are now safer because handrails and planking have been added.

From Myra to Ruth, the trail's surface was suitable for road bikes equipped with 700x38 knobby tires. After that, it was composed mostly of sand. Because it was raining the entire duration of our trip, the sand was wet, and offered better traction than it would have dry. Beware the sand in dry weather--several people told us it is really tough going. Even wet, it was a discouraging slog.

Also, because the snow had just melted from the trail recently and it was raining so hard, there were at least a dozen huge puddles covering the entire width of the trail. These had to be waded, because riding through them could land you in a huge pothole, throwing you from your bike and possibly even breaking your frame or bending a wheel.

The ideal footwear for this trip would have been wool socks, waterproof socks (e.g., SealSkinz) over those, and Crocs. Too bad neither of us had thought of that beforehand. . .

The trail's surface is heavily potholed, possibly from the work trucks that have been traveling along it. We would have been a lot happier on full-suspension mountain bikes than on conventional road bikes fitted out with knobbies. But some bikers we met who had such bikes told us they, too, had problems with the sand, though they weren't as bothered by the potholes.

We were soaked, exhausted and freezing by the time we reached Chute Lake Resort, five hours after leaving Myra. But what a great place!

Full of character and characters. Warm, comfy, casual in the extreme. The owners, Doreen and Gary, are getting up in years, say they can't get help running the place, and are thinking about packing it in. We urge you to visit while you can. Gary's "museum," ostensibly worth $350,000, is several huge buildings full of traps, electrical insulators, farm implements, gas station accoutrements--an amazing hodgepodge of cool *stuff.*

Take the time to thoroughly plan and investigate your trip before setting out. It's a long way from Seattle. It took us about 8 hours each way, despite google maps' estimate of 6 hours.

And be aware that, once you're on the trail, you are far from civilization. There is no place to bail on this section, and not even any roof for shelter. So bring everything you need to be self-contained. You're up in the mountains, so -- at least in the early spring -- include plenty of warm clothing in waterproof panniers. (We're told heat is a problem in the summer months.)

Helpful?
21 Thank DanRichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kettle Valley Railway Trail also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 
Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
Summerland, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Kettle Valley Railway Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing