We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food - Wonderful Surroundings”

Morrison House Cafe
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Lacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Morrison House Cafe is located in one of the most beautiful heritage homes in Lacombe, Alberta. Built in 1919 by one of the town's first mayors, its classic style and antique furnishings provide a unique and comfortable setting for lunch or perhaps an afternoon break for coffee and a piece of homemade pie. Delicious soups, sandwiches, salads, desserts and more are served year 'round from 11:00 to 3:30, Tuesday through Saturday. Come for lunch, stay for pie!
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food - Wonderful Surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This restaurant is located in a historic house just out of the down-town core in the City of Lacombe. They have a beautiful yard at the back with a deck / patio which is a very popular spot to eat. There are 2 different rooms set up for dining. The food is home cooked and delicious. I had a chicken salad croissant with a bowl of cream soup. Both were very tasty - the croissant was flaky & fresh. I had blueberry pie for dessert. Crust was flaky & so good. Obviously home made as well. The owners are very friendly (when they do get out of the kitchen) and love to tell you about their history. Their staff are efficient and friendly as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    15
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lacombe, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a great place to go to visit and have an excellent lunch. Soup, sandwich, and cinnamon bun can't be beat. A special place to take a girl friend or great aunt. Guys have been known to enjoy lunch here also.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cvhemeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Road Trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

A little disappointed that they would microwave the lunch entree (we had quiche and chicken pot pie)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c b, Owner at Morrison House Cafe, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi Mona,

I'm very sorry that you didn't have an excellent experience at our cafe. We prefer to microwave the quiche just before serving rather than letting it overcook or dry out under a heat lamp. For the same reasons the pot pie is warmed in the microwave and then browned in the broiler for a couple of minutes right before serving. In our experience this is the best way to prepare larger quantities of the these homemade entrees each day. However, we greatly appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve. Thanks, Chuck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Day trip for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I live in Edmonton but we love the charming community of Lacombe in central Alberta. We decided to take a day trip for lunch and we found this wonderful place on TripAdvisor. Family business in a rustic old home converted into a restaurant. Charming people in a warm inviting environment. We had sandwiches and shared a bowl of their tomato Florentine soup. It was to die for! For dessert we shared a piece of their pecan
pie. Again we were both in heaven! This is now on our list of places to go on every trip south from Edmonton. We highly recommend I stop off the highway to visit for lunch.

Helpful?
1 Thank johnnymutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home style cooking in a historic environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is not your average restaurant with the same old same old food. Every dish and menu item is carefully selected and prepared from scratch. The owner / operators are personally involved in every detail of the business and it shows. Friendly service and a family type atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morrison House Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Morrison House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing