We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Metropolitan Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
Mantra Richmont Hotel(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$84
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Millthorpe Motel(Millthorpe)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$97
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveler rating
56
106
78
31
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
106
78
31
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseye hospitalbottle shop next doorfree busroom was cleanundercover parkingspring hillin house restaurantwould stay againbit dateddouble roomgood sizefew minutes walkan easy walkcentral locationqueen st mallreception staffbotanical gardens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 308 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2010

I had a combined business/leisure trip to Brisbane and stayed in the budget rooms worth $101 per night. Basically for $40 less than the deluxe rooms, I went without Foxtel channels and tea & coffee making facilities. With three excellent cafes across the road/s the was no shortage a decent coffee.The hotel is in a great area, about a 10 mionute walk into the CBD down the hill. There are two pubs next door. Staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms were fine. Air-con worked well and shower pressure and water temp terrific. The only dampner was the trafiic noise, but that didn't concern me greatly as I wear ear plugs while sleeping, plus a heap of beer always helps to get to sleep.Central Station is only a five-minute walk away which is hand for the AirTrain to/from the airport. For the price and the location and considering the rooms are perfectly fine 3-star quality, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puntrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Stayed at this motel for five nights while visiting family. This could pass for a hotel. The rooms are extremely spacious, clean and comfotable, bathrooms more spacious than expected, shower good and room service GREAT! awesome prices, awesome food. Balcony was a nice little bonus too! Only problem we had was with the tv, whose sound would occasionally cut out, but it didnt affect us too much, not even when we were watching masterchef finals week! There is four pubs and great sushi crawling distance away, and the city a just a roll down the hill. (Though not a roll on the way back up!) Reception staff are great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeshR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Upon arrival at 3pm i was told my room wasn't ready yet. Great start. Thoughtful operator said maybe i should give them a call in an hour. No sweetie, you ring me was my answer. It went steadily downhill from there. Please note this motel is also on a hill of which you must travel up many steep hills from the city if walking. Get a cab. Fantastic steaks was next on the order for the night's entertainment. Steak was good, but not fantastic. The excessive noise from next doors (hotel with live music) was also good, but not fantastic. The road is very busy and noisy all day and night. 10-15 walk from city mall, all uphill and hard uphill, rooms not anywhere near $125 a night quality, service was attrocious and quite simply i say, stay somewhere else if you like your sleep. not for business people.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3Lechacal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights & felt totally cheated.
We were told that the rates included parking & breakfast. In fact, the good people at Brisbane Visitor Centre recommended this over 3 other hotels.

We took up the recommendation but were sorely disappointed.
Well, the hotel was up on the hill which was a challenge for us with 3 young kids (2 babies) & a double stroller.
The rooms were small, very basic & dirty. On one of the days we were there, used towels were simply left behind the door in the toilet! My 2 year old slept on the sofa & we used a bedsheet to go on top. This sheet was not changed for the entire 4 nights we were there!

What was totally unacceptable was that we were told breakfast was included in the room rates, but we were eventually charged for breakfast.

Well, as were were told that breakfast was included, it did not occur to us to double check upon checking in. When we enquired about breakfast, we were only told when it would be served & nothing about the rates.

We happily went for breakfast on the first 3 mornings of our stay. On the first 2 days, we were asked to sign a chit that says we've eaten there, nothing was mentioned about charges.
However, on the 3rd morning, the breakfast chit now included charges for 2 adults and 3 children. We were shocked & upon checking, the manager insisted that breakfast would never be included for the rate given to us.

We were shocked as this was the last lag of our 3 week trip, we were low on cash, with just enough to get through till our flight home. On those last days in Brisbane, we were trying to stretch our budget & enjoy the rest of our stay. So this was a complete shock. The hotel insisted on their stand without any regard to our situation.

We were made to return to the Brisbane Visitor Centre to verify 'our' claim. Which the staff at the centre subsequently (only after we've checked out) confirmed that she was certain she was told breakfast would be included.

Nonetheless, the hotel insisted that they did not make such a claim & that we had to pay for breakfast. The issue ding-donged between the hotel & the Bisbane Visitor Centre but nothing was done to remedial the situation.

On the last morning, we paid up & left utterly disgusted by the way the whole matter was handled.

The hotel actually charged us 2 adults & 3 children when my youngest is only 1year +. We understand from the Brisbane Visitor Centre that children below 2 were usually not charged. This was only taken off our bill after we reasoned with the hotel. To think my 2 youngest kids ate only a scoop of cereal for each breakfast, that is probably the most expensive cereal at A$6 each morning!

No matter how basic & cheap this hotel appear to be. The service attitude is just as cheap. I would not consider coming back again. It certainly brought a bitter after taste to our otherwise perfect 3 week vacation in Queensland.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BenBelYen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

For Easter, enjoyed the 3-day special offer in clean, well-maintained room in a fairly central location which included undercover car parking. Desk staff were welcoming and very helpful & willing to be of assistance. Great value

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christophoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews