We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management untrustworthy!”
Review of Sinclairs Bondi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sinclairs Bondi
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Bondi
Reviewed March 5, 2007

We stayed for 5 nights at Sinclairs. It is about 15 mins walk down to the beach (all up hill on the way back though) and has a good selection of budget restaraunts around.

This is backpackers style accomodation but also has some private rooms. The rooms are very basic and a bit run down, but on the whole it was reasonably clean compared to other backpackers. The room we stayed in was probably the best in the house, it was on the top floor with distant peep view of the sea. It was bright and had a tiny bathroom facility.

Unfortunately we experienced some fairly serious problems with the way our booking was managed - and the way we were treated over this left us wondering if this is something that happens here regularly, as the whole exchange with the manager felt a bit rehearsed. It rattled us enough to make our first ever review. The reservation was made by exchanging email with the owner, and as they charge a 4% credit card fee we agreed that we would pay in cash upon arival to avoid this extra charge. An administration error was made by the manager, and he charged our credit card. We had the cash so gave this and requested that the visa be credited as we had agreed to pay in cash. We were told this was not possible, and the manager refused to refund us the 4% visa fee. We were very surprised by this as it was a simple administration error made by Sinclairs that they should have corrected. However we were shocked and appalled when the manager
suddenly became very aggressive and threatened to 'check us out and throw our bags out on the street' unless we signed the visa slip for the full amount they had charged us, which apparantly could not be refunded by them.

We were astounded as this is really such a small amount - about $20, and felt we were well within our rights to request that back, as the error was not on our part.

We also have the following observations to list:
* The bus ride from the airport to Bondi Junction was around 1 hour, and that was around 2pm - 3pm.
* Sinclairs is not attended full time by onsite staff. If you arrive in the afternoon and are a bit late, there may not be anybody to check you in. There is a mobile telephone number on the locked front gate to call if this happens, but no phone to speak to anybody. You would have to walk down the road to find a pay phone or use a mobile.
* The rooms are not cleaned regularly - we stayed for 5 nights, during which time the room was not cleaned, nor did we receive fresh towels or linen.

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank BatterseaPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Sinclairs Bondi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 105 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
61
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank silviasp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Quartos próximos ao banheiro.
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, traveled solo
Thank Paulo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bondi hotels
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Bondi Beach
Hotel Bondi
Hotel Bondi
#4 of 9 in Bondi
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bondi Beach
Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach
Bondi Beach
QT Bondi
QT Bondi
#3 of 9 in Bondi
170 reviews
Bondi Beach
Bondi Beach House Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Bondi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Bondi

Address: 11 Bennett St, Bondi, New South Wales 2026, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bondi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Bondi
Price Range: $65 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinclairs Bondi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sinclairs Bondi offers budget accommodation in Sydney. We specialise in affordable accommodation and bed and breakfast within a 20 minute bus ride from the Sydney CBD, a short walk from the beach and shops and only 30 minutes from Sydney international airport.Sinclairs Bondi is ideally located with two beautifully maintained properties in Bondi Beach, Australia's most famous beach. Staying at Sinclairs Bondi allows you to visit all Sydney Tourist Attractions including the Sydney Harbour Bridge and The Opera House. We have a range of single, double, twin and family room accommodation in Sydney, with or without ensuites to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sinclairs Bondi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Bondi Hotel Bondi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing