We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, affordable accomodation”
Review of Sinclairs Bondi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sinclairs Bondi
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Bondi
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, affordable accomodation”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My friend and I were traveling around Oz in February and we needed somewhere fairly cheap to stay in Sydney for 5 nights. We came across Sinclairs Bondi online and found a great deal for bed and breakfast so we decided to go ahead and book it. When we arrived we were greeted by the owner who was extremely helpful and very chatty. He showed us to our Superior private room which was basic but clean. Our room had a very comfy double bed, television, kitchen facilities, private bathroom with an amazing shower and plenty of place to hang our clothes.
The location is also great as you are about a 10-15 minute walk to Bondi Junction which is ace for shopping and a 20 minute walk to Bondi Beach. The nearest bus stop is less than 5 minutes walk and the buses into Sydney City Center are about every 10 minutes, some of them 24 hour service.
I would recommend this accommodation to anyone who is traveling on a budget and I would definitely go for the Superior private room!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    41
    10
    10
    16
See reviews for
23
24
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2014

clean, friendly environment
met a lot of great other travellers there
barry was really friendly and cooked us a great meal!
really enjoyed my time here, and good central location in bondi, very convenient

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Sinclairs location was ideal, perfectly located a 10 minute or 1 minute bus ride from the beach. I stayed here for 2 weeks over New Years and Christmas and cant say a negative thing. The place itself was clean, the beds were very comfortable, staff were always friendly and were able to assist in planning my trip around Sydney. The amenities were all fine too, wifi was perfect and the breakfast served daily was great :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our 'welcome' was from Otto standing at the front gate with hands on hips angrily asking us why we hadn't arrived between 11-12, a requirement that categorically had not been communicated to us in any way prior. If we hadn't already given our credit card details for the four nights we'd have picked up our bags and walked off. But we had, so we stayed. This guy was icy from start to finish - I won't bore you with further details of cold, rude treatment, but there were several. Our accommodation at Sinclairs certainly wasn't the friendly base we had hoped for during our brief Bondi stay.
Add...
- WiFi that didn't work on either my iPhone or PC - when I told this to Otto I was told to wander around the place to find an area that worked. Great solution for when you feel like winding down at the end of the night to a movie or some Youtube clips in your pyjamas don't you think?!
- a bedroom that falls so disgracefully short of the pictures advertised on this site that it's actually laughable
- no fly-wire on the windows, so you either cook with stale air at night or get eaten by mozzies
- a fan that was missing it's cover-knob such that you had to strain with a fiddly plastic bit to get it working
- said fan did not operate on medium or low settings, simply OFF or a 100km/hr rate such that it looked like it was going to come off its hinges and decapitate us - hence we left it off
- the beds were paper thin and at 6"1' I found my feet hanging 3 inches over the end across a hard metal railing
- the 'quilt' felt like paper also and did nothing for a good night's sleep
- the bathroom was also grotty and home to several musty towels.
My suggestion would be to check out another place closer to Bondi or to invest an extra $20 a night over the $90 we dropped and find yourself a last minute hotel/motel deal online.
You also won't get told that company isn't permitted should you be looking for any post-pub fun with anyone friendly you happen to meet.
This place gets 1 star from us for being somewhere relatively safe to store our belongings for our stay.
Ben - February 2014

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bondi hotels

Toowoomba
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Fantastic place to stay.Great location and management..
Paul St management was brilliant..Ever so helpful..
Rooms were well serviced and great value for what was provided.
Manager was great at assisting us where we needed to go..
Breakfast was provided and sufficient to start the day..
Can only highly recommend Sinclairs for the budget conscious,quick trips or people looking to attend functions in Sydney and particularly around the Bondi area..
Would highly recommend and would stay again..

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ada1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at Sinclairs bondi at the Paul st location across New Year's Eve 2014, for 9 nights.
The location is excellent, 10 mins walk to Bondi Junction, 5 min walk to the bus stop for Bondi beach. The "family" room is average, with a good amount of space and storage, however, the sheets were not changed once during our stay, and the carpet was constantly full of hair.
We were please to be in the building on council st, away from most of the noise.
BUT:
Both bathrooms in our building were simply disgusting the entire stay, except for about 1hour immediately after the cleaners had been. In fact, I don't think that the bathrooms were actually cleaned for about 4 days across the new year eve's period.
In addition, all the cutlery, mugs and plates available to use for breakfast were also very dirty, with old dried food stuck on them. yuck!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We would actually give this a 2.5 star rating, if possible.

We stayed in one of the private double rooms for two nights in January, 2014. The first thing we noticed upon checking in was that the room did NOT have a DVD player as advertised. When we asked the manager (Otto), he told us that some rooms didn't have them, despite our booking confirmation saying that the room came with a DVD player. We were able to overlook this, but upon further inspection of our room, we realized that it looked nothing like the photos did on the website. Our room was a bit small, as was our bed, and the bed linens had sand in them (as well as burn marks from an iron). We were given the password for free wifi, but the connection was pretty poor. There was no air conditioning, and the room was VERY hot (despite it being a very mild two days in Bondi), so we put on the rickety ceiling fan, which provided a bit of cool air. There was lots lots of noise during the night and the morning, so we didn't have a restful sleep at atll. Breakfast was also advertised, but it was more like cereal and milk- not that exciting.

The location was good- not that close to the beach but very close to buses that dropped off to the beach/bondi junction. Otto was nice and we enjoyed our stay, but overall, the room wasn't as nice as it was advertised to be and we felt disappointed, overall.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bondi hotels
Bondi Beach
Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bondi Beach
Hotel Bondi
Hotel Bondi
#4 of 9 in Bondi
176 reviews
Bondi Beach
Hotel Ravesis
Hotel Ravesis
#5 of 9 in Bondi
116 reviews
Bondi Beach
Bondi Beach House Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Bondi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Bondi

Property: Sinclairs Bondi
Address: 11 Bennett St, Bondi, New South Wales 2026, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bondi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Bondi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinclairs Bondi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sinclairs Bondi offers budget accommodation in Sydney. We specialise in affordable accommodation and bed and breakfast within a 20 minute bus ride from the Sydney CBD, a short walk from the beach and shops and only 30 minutes from Sydney international airport.Sinclairs Bondi is ideally located with two beautifully maintained properties in Bondi Beach, Australia's most famous beach. Staying at Sinclairs Bondi allows you to visit all Sydney Tourist Attractions including the Sydney Harbour Bridge and The Opera House. We have a range of single, double, twin and family room accommodation in Sydney, with or without ensuites to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sinclairs Bondi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Bondi Hotel Bondi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing