We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bondi
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The room was extremely basic, small, especially for three people as we were. Had problems with very loud and drunk neighbours, smoking outside our room at 5am - appreciate this is completely out of the hotel's control, but at the same there was no conceriege and no one we (two single females) could call and we did feel quite threatened by them as they were pretty aggressive. When we mentioned this to the staff they were politely apologetic but dismissive. Certainly wouldn't want to stay there with my kids.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 165 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

For all intents and purposes this is a motel. We stayed for 3 nights, cost $100 per night. The room is studio style. It's on the smaller side of things. Had a double bed, kitchenette, couch, tv. The bathroom was dated but did the job. Didn't like the blinds on the windows. They don't cover the whole window so people can see in when walking past the room. Location is good if you want to be close to bondi beach. It's only a 5 minute walk to the beach. Lots of restaurants and bars within easy walking distance.

This is a pretty basic, average place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SF3415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

In some ways, staying at Ultimate Apartments is like stepping back in time. Once I walked through the big two-door gate which blocks a street view of the facility (and vice versa) I saw what would generally be called a motel. Rooms surrounded the outdoor pool and a two story building. I parked my car right in front of my room, as most guests did. It felt like 1965.

The room is spartan with a small closet and theft-proof cheap plastic hangers. It contains a microwave, refrigerator and sink. Also included are plates and cutlery.

The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. By unplugging one power cord and plugging in another at the base of the front door, you could switch from heating to air conditioning. On this night I needed neither.

The proximity to Bondi Beach is excellent; just a five minute walk.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

In many countries (USA, UK, Canada) this type of accommodation is plentiful and a night would cost between $50 and $70. But this is Sydney, so my night (booked through a discount hotel site) cost $130.00.

If you want to be close to the beach, and need a relatively low priced room without any frills, this could be it.

Room Tip: A first floor room allows you to walk from your car to your front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetalcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

These 'serviced apartments' are more like hotel rooms with an add on kitchenette...

Pros
Free parking right outside your room
Clean
Friendly staff
5 minutes from the beach
Basic kitchennette facilities

Cons
Small rooms
Noisy (especially if you are towards the back of the building where there are tenants above you and a tennis court behind you)

Room Tip: Stay away from the noisy back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suitecasediary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I've stayed here several times when visiting Sydney. It's fine. Don't get nervous. But, especially if you're from USA where at least the ideal is "customer rights" (even if you often don't get them), lower your expectations about service. They work more on a vacation rental basis (hence the silly rental agreement at check-in) rather than a hotel-style set up, the latter, I assume covered by other laws.

Bondi was a working class suburb before the urban renewals, and the movie stars moved in, starting in the 1980's-90's and this place looks like a low end 1950's motel that's been tastefully, albeit economically, updated. That's why there's no central heating and you have to take plastic and tape for that open bathroom window if you're going to be here in a Sydney winter. (My windows were screened, so no mosquito problems). Winter heating is an oxymoron for vacation rentals in Australia - approx. May through September. I've felt colder in Australia at night in their winter than a US Midwest winter. Check on heating at any place less than four star if you're going in winter and you feel the cold. But Sydney winter days can be really beautiful if it's sunny.

This place is good if you need free parking and want to save some money on snacks and the lighter meals. For me, it's a 10-15 minute walk (better to catch the bus down) to the beach and the main restaurant, cafe and night life areas of Bondi. And a ten minute bus ride to some of the best in Sydney shopping at Bondi Junction.

On the three occasions I stayed, I found the "studio apartment" very clean, the bed comfortable, the linen not threadbare, and the size good, with ample closet and storage space. The bathroom needs help, has no storage, but is ok and there's good shower pressure and hot water. There does seem to be a recurring problem of non-working lights, but they try to fix them within 24 hours of reporting. The TV is a joke and the coffee table just in the right location and right height and size to always trip over. They also have a silly system for after-hours arrival with extremely poor instructions. Be prepared.

The place is overpriced, but you're not going to find anything with free parking and a kitchenette that's cheaper in this area. Bondi is a tourist trap for accommodation. But it's a great place to visit and has excellent public transport. It's half-way to Doyle's at Watson's Bay (a bus service on Old South Head Road a few blocks away, takes you straight to it - you'll never find parking in summer). That's my favorite place for some of the best fresh seafood in the WORLD, simply prepared - even though it's $45 (3/2012) for "Entree" (Main course) - and as much fish and chips as you can eat - the bottomless plate, last time I heard. It has a ground floor clear view over Sydney Harbor straight to the city skyline. Get to Doyle's Watsons Bay at least once and do a Cafe crawl around Bondi Beach. There're lots of them. If you like the best in Jewish style desserts, get to the Gelato Bar (very little Gelato, lotsa large serves of cakes etc.) on the beach.

Anyone coming from the USA (excluding big cities) is going to get sticker shock for accommodation and a cuppa Joe. Never expect a bottomless cup, (even their biggest cups are 10 oz) and say goodbye to a server walking around with a coffee pot with brewed, (stale, weak?) coffee.

Overall I've always been comfortable at Ultimate (superficial?) Apartments, but it's no frills. I can put up with unhelpful, and even rude, reception staff who won't have any real tourist or transport info and I don't need the services provided in a standard hotel -- like you'll have to wash the towels yourself in their laundry if you want fresh ones before your week is up.

Room Tip: Comfortable, but no frills and no service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enlightened108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our first trip to Australia and we travelled in what is Aussie winter

Sadly our first stay was in Bondi which as a town isn't the hive of activity that you'd picture when talking about Bondi Beach

In terms of apartments the location is on the edge of the main Bondi Beach area, which although is a only a 5 minute brisk walk away is a distance in the cold evenings...

... which brings us to what one other reviewer has said

The Bathroom windows are permanently open which isn't a problem in terms of mosquito's but the inadequate heaters meant sleep was a problem throughout the five day stay

Also having to pay $30 for wifi access limited to one device was far too expensive but the only option available

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank altrinchamhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Basic but clean apartments far enough away from Bondi Beach to avoid the noise and party goers, but close enough to get to the beach strip after a quick stroll. The age of the apartment is obvious but the benefits such as secure off street parking and quietness outweigh this. We stayed for five nights and couldn't have been happier. Close to cafes and shops for supplies and with a bus stop right outside it's just fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bondi
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach Sydney
Bondi Beach
Hotel Bondi
Hotel Bondi
#4 of 9 in Bondi
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bondi Beach
QT Bondi
QT Bondi
#3 of 9 in Bondi
202 reviews
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach

Address: 59 O'Brien St, Bondi, New South Wales 2026, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bondi > Bondi Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bondi
Price Range: $115 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach Hotel Bondi Beach
Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing