We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would you call a piece of chicken and a bread roll a Christmas dinner?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers
Ranked #12 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Bondi
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would you call a piece of chicken and a bread roll a Christmas dinner?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The only good thing to say about this hostel is the people we met here and the location! Where to begin.....We booked a package for xmas and new year and it seemed to be one of the only hostels in Bondi that seemed to have organised and well thought through plans for during the holiday period....this couldnt be further than the truth. It had been forecast rain the week prior to christmas for christmas day yet no forward planning seemed to have been made for this. So on christmas day when it did rain over 100 people were stuck inside where the hostel facilities are minimal (a gazebo in the courtyard wolud of been a good idea!). Wouldn't have been so much of an issue if christmas dinner had been at least adequate! Spending Christmas away from home for the first time and all you get is brown salad, a bread roll and a piece of chicken doesn't suffice. One pasta dish was served in the evening but we were never informed and missed out. This was a recurring issue through out our stay, the hostel never provided enough food for the people staying there. Chilli night was another disaster.. those who actually got chilli were served chilli with bread!! NO RICE! Basically there was just a lack of organisation in actually putting the advertised events etc into motion. A lot of the time it was down to us staying there to get events on the go instead of the staff. I dont think it helps that the staff feel disrespected and un-valued therefore don't put in 100%. why would you if you were shoved in the tv room, when your only payment for helping out is your accomodation.
Not just lack of organisation in carrying out what had been sold and promised to us, but we could barely fit any of our shopping in the fridge due to it be over-full with prior people's food that had been left. we were told the day we arrived it was getting a big clean out the next day but this never happened surprise surprise.
Lack of social areas doesn't help this hostels situation! outside was often banned due to noise so we all had to pile inside where the only place to be was the kitchen area due to staff and some customers staying in the TV room! the hostel is advertised as a party and sociable place to be which is true but its confined to one small space which then carries the noise upstairs to where those who want a quiet night don't get one.
The advertised air-con is only evident in the TV room with the rooms becoming sauna like! extra fans were supplied but really did nothing to help the situation as one fan per room does not cool 8 people down in 30 degree heat! My door didn't even lock so my belongings were never knowingly secure in my room (thankfully nothing happened to me but others weren't as fortunate!) The lack of bathroom facilities is another issue too! the hostel is small with only 10 dorm rooms but 2 toilets and 3 showers is not enough!
The manager is another problem all together. Rude about sums him up in 1 word. thinks he's being helpful by promising you things that he never follows through on. guaranteed those who had said they were staying on more nights accomodation but when it came down to it we were told we didnt even have a bed! then when it came down to it we had to explain the situation to the girls who were meant to be in our room (not the manager) and had to sort it all out. Another few of our friends were charged $20 to share our bed or on the floor in our room! while we were already paying $40 for a bed. Some were even charged to stay out on the sun loungers outside!! He likes to make money every where possible! In total we paid about $1000 each for just over 2 weeks accommodation which was ridiculous for what we got and the service we received! On booking you dont mind paying so much as its xmas and prices do go up and the hostel seemed to have everything planned and a great 2 weeks were to be had! Christmas and New Year was only saved to the people that we met there, if there had been a rubbish group it definitely would have ruined our holidays as the hostel was pathetic.

Room Tip: There isn't one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    21
    10
    14
    51
See reviews for
1
17
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you want to have a good time and meet people then this is the best hostel to go to! The hostel itself is pretty basic but its one of those rare hostels where you feel at home and part of the group straight away. The big communal table outside means its really easy to meet people and so its great if you're traveling by yourself. Also, a great location 2 minutes from Bondi Beach. One of the best hostels I stayed in on the east coast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Excellent location, right behind Bondi Beach. Uncomfortable bed but overall very good value for money. Nice that breakfast is partially provided all in the same price. Outstandingly helpful and friendly staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here as a single backpacker just wantin to chill out and meet people. Unfortunately there weren't any there were only animals.
I have now stayed in about 7 hostels in total and not all have been great but this one is easily the worst. I am by no means a boring person and love having a laugh and gettin drunk with other backpackers but after random people just started pouring in off the streets into the eating area I went to bed and trying to sleep was a futile attempt because its like sleeping in a pub people seemingly drinking right outside your door after about 4 hours of sleep despite going to bed at 11pm I checked out at 8am and moved hostel.
If you are a teenager and all you want to do is have playfights and knock on doors at 2 in the morning then this is the place for you. If you're a backpackers who likes to remember your experiences and actually have a choice between having a night out or having a night in then give this place a miss.
Worst place ever and I've lived in Ibiza!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minty86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bondi hotels

Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

2 reasons I can't give all stars:
1. The bunk beds (especially when you have to sleep on the top) are not very comfortable (I call them backbreaker) - but then, they are the same in all backpackers I have stayed.
2. The night was quite noisy, but then again: it was Friday night and you can hardly blame the backpacker for the partying folks it attracts.

Now the good: The staff (and the owner) are extremely friendly, helpful and easy to get along. There was no problem what so ever (moving in early, storing the luggage after moving out). I also really enjoyed the free surfboard: If you stay in Bondi you have to give it a try! So if you look for a lively place and want to escape King's Cross, you should consider the Surfside Bondi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wreckeddiverkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Spot on, clean rooms and shower/toilet fascillities, friendly, staff v helpful, perfect central location,

We are a couple travelling east coast of Oz aged mid 20's on honeymoon,

WEll worth a visit

Recommend recommend recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

stayed at Surfside Bondi 15 years ago when it was Indies Backpackers......loved it then and still love it now!! very helpful friendly staff, clean rooms and bathrooms and an all round good friendly vibe! didn't really want to leave! Thanks to all the staff for making it a great stay. xxxx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bondi hotels
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Bondi Beach
Hotel Bondi
Hotel Bondi
#4 of 9 in Bondi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Bondi Beach
QT Bondi
QT Bondi
#3 of 9 in Bondi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bondi Beach
Hotel Ravesis
Hotel Ravesis
#5 of 9 in Bondi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Bondi Beach
Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach
Bondi Beach
Noahs @ Bondi Beach
Noahs @ Bondi Beach
#7 of 17 in Bondi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers

Property: Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers
Address: 35a Hall St, Bondi, New South Wales 2026, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bondi > Bondi Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Bondi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indy`s/Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers Hotel Bondi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing