We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bondi surfside -great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers
Ranked #11 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Bondi
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I loved this hostel, the staff are so so helpful, it is soooo clean and they actually trust their guests and don't charge them for use of crockery etc. It's really social with free tea twice per week and free hire of surf boards etc. I could have stayed here longer if I had the chance. Well recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 136 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed in Surfside after spending 2 nights in the city with plans to only stay for a short time and ended up staying for the remainder of my holiday. The staff was fantastic and extremely welcoming. All the rooms were clean (especially the bathrooms) and the people were amzing. I had so much fun and definitely plan on going back..hopefully sooner than later! Thanks Surfside for an amazing time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I spend my first night in Sydney at Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers and had to go back for the last night, cause I really liked it there! All the other hostels I went were dirty, stinky and not even close as friendly as Surfside. When the summer comes, I'm definitely going back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidiMariaGreus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Came to this hostel in January and stayed for 6months! Great location, very friendly, helpful staff. Great sized hostel allows you to get to know everyone staying here and make lots of friends and have lots of fun!! Large outside area to sunbathe, play basketball, goon pong and lots of drinking!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights and have to say that I quite enjoyed it. It is mainly full of young people and there is a lot of friendly partying that goes on with sessions most nights :)
Door room was average. But they have very little space in them and it was almost unbearably hot at night. Rooms need air-con.
Dont let this detere you though! Its in a great spot. Close to all the bars, places to eat, off licence, super market and just a 2 min walk from Bondi Beach!
They have free surfboard, body board, wetsuite and sports equipment hire too which is awesome!
Staff are quite friendly and just like to party really. They were quite helpful to me too. It's all very laid back :)
(The showers could be a tiny bit cleaner though)

Cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: The less people in the room, the better due to the very little space for luggage. Sleep by the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash_Halpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Enjoyed my stay at Surfside backpackers , Personally found the place to be a lot of fun, easy to make friends and socialize having stayed in many places around the world this would easily have been one of the most sociable. for a hostel the place was pretty clean and the service was good. Location was fantastic also best in bondi

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelforthes0ul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We would not recommand this backpackers. It was horrible. Showers/Kitchen/Rooms were very dirty and the staff unpolite. We made a lot of Backpackers and it was the worst that we did. We did not feel in totally security, averybody can enter is in the hostel. For our first night is was impossible to sleep. People were drunkers and shouted all the night and knonck on all the door room and the guy in charge of the security did nothing. Our TV did not work and we had to wait 3 days before it will be repaired. Scandalous!!!!!! If you want to spare a pleasant trip do not go to this place. !!! We hope that our comments will help the future travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fuentes79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bondi hotels
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Bondi Beach
Hotel Bondi
Hotel Bondi
#4 of 9 in Bondi
181 reviews
Bondi Beach
QT Bondi
QT Bondi
#3 of 9 in Bondi
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bondi Beach
Hotel Ravesis
Hotel Ravesis
#5 of 9 in Bondi
125 reviews
Bondi Beach
Noah's Bondi
Noah's Bondi
#5 of 16 in Bondi
43 reviews
Bondi Beach
Bondi Backpackers
Bondi Backpackers
#1 of 16 in Bondi
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers

Address: 35a Hall St, Bondi, New South Wales 2026, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bondi > Bondi Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Bondi
Price Range: $23 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indy`s/Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers Hotel Bondi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing