We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Delicious Delicious”
Review of Gelato Bar - CLOSED

Gelato Bar
Cuisines: Italian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bondi Beach
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Delicious Delicious Delicious”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The cakes are still to die for, making choices very difficult. Food is good and coffee excellent. An icon in its own rite, the Gelato Bar is a must to visit and take in the local Bondi/Eastern Suburbs scene.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marysems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    10
    6
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

What disappointment. Went for breakfast as my daughter wanted a crepe.
It was very small and very gluggy. The breakfast roll was a white bread roll from a cheap
hot bread shop, with a fried egg, probably caged, some wilted old lettuce, avacado and one piece of tomato thrown on top with thick mayonnaise smeared all over it.
The WORST breakfast I have ever had.
Coffee ok but luke warm. Orange juice was $4 and tasted like cordial.
Slow and rude service.
Unbelievable when there are so many other places that get it right. They are trading on the
position. Would not recommend
at all, probably better at McDonalds.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freespirit550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Cake”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The walnut strudel at the Gelato Bar is my favourite cake ever! Its also a great place for a casual dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rooky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“YUMMOLICIOUS!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Whilst waiting for our guests to arrive at Bondi, we had a coffee and a almond horshoe biscuit to ward off hunger pains. This little Gelato Restaurant in Bondi Beach serves a large variety of meals and cakes & my coffee was absolutely delicious!

Can recommend with confidence...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rater1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Strudel as good as in Austria if not better”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Been 3 times while visiting Sydney. This place was recommended to me by my relatives living in Canberra and while in Sydney it is must to have a cake there. Well, they were right. Only had a cakes to carry out, never tried the food and sit in so can't comment on that. But the cakes are definitely a first class.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8munros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelato Bar also viewed

Bondi, Greater Sydney
 
Bondi, Greater Sydney
Bondi, Greater Sydney
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing