We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sweet treat”
Review of Gelato Bar - CLOSED

Gelato Bar
Cuisines: Italian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bondi Beach
Murrieta, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great sweet treat”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Excellent selection, yummy flavors, great sweet treat after a hot day - we enjoyed this site. Decent prices compared to others nearby.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    10
    6
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We have been here a few times over the last twenty years and it always serves tasty fair at reasonable prices. Great for kids with large kids meals and pleasant footpath dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lestraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointingly average!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I have been in Australia for 4 months and have constantly remarked on the great quality of breakfast nearly everywhere you go. We chose gelato bar today simply because It was cool inside and it was 40 degrees outside! The service was shabby, it seemed there was too many waitresses stood around not really knowing who was doing what. The orange juice wasn't fresh, which was disappointing considering the competition that's around, and there weren't many options regarding bread choices as you find in most other places. My friend ordered a fruit salad which they said was unavailable "but she could have granola instead". It wasn't a catastrophe of an experience by any means but as I said to begin with, in a place where the food standard is so high this stood out as below average with prices that don't match the standard. I won't be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veryaislinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Restaurant Experience”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

On 23rd December my heavily pregnant friend and I have visited Gelato Bar @ Bondi Beach. We've been there before when the restaurant was under old management and always loved their food and service. Today, however, our experience can best be described as APPALLING.
I had to step away from the table so my friend has ordered us 3 meals - 1 salmon sandwich and 2 salads. The waitress accepted the order but quickly came back saying that it'd be too much food for just 2 people. My friend consulted me and tried to cancel one of the salads. However, the waitress returned saying it was too late. I'm not sure what was the point of telling us it'd be too much food in the first place if we couldn't do anything about it but we let it go.
The food then arrived on our tables and while the salads were fine the $15 salmon sandwich just looked like 2 pieces of salmon & letture were slapped on 2 pieces of bread. I asked the waitress if she could toast the sandwich but when I took a bite it tasted bitter and was absolutely inedible. I told the waitress that I couldn't eat it and it was taken away without an offer to replace or any further discussion yet when the bill arrived I was still charged for it. I questioned the waitress who did not seem to understand what I was trying to say and called the manager.
The manager came out of the restaurant, approached our table and immediately began attacking us for causing trouble, sending the food back and forth and threatened to call the police if we didn't pay the bill in full. I tried to reason with her by clarifying the situation and she seemed to calm down promising to take the sandwich off the bill. However, when we entered the restaurant for the revised bill (we were seated outside) she began yelling at us again at which point my bewildered friend said that she was attacking a pregnant woman so the manager looked her up and down and stated: "That's your problem." Furthermore the manager mimicked and corrected my friend's accent and yelled at us to get out of the restaurant in front of other patrons.
I come from a Customer Service background and I reminded her of the fact that we were customers and she had no right to speak to us like that but she only continued to yell at us to get out. At this point my friend was so shaken up we had to leave.
Absolutely WORST EXPERIENCE we've ever had.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Inna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Restaurant Experience”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

On 23rd December my heavily pregnant friend and I have visited Gelato Bar @ Bondi Beach. We've been there before when the restaurant was under old management and always loved their food and service. Today, however, our experience can best be described as APPALLING.
We sat at a table outside and ordered 3 meals for the 2 of us - 1 salmon sandwich and 2 salads. The waitress accepted the order but quickly came back saying that it'd be too much food for just 2 people. We have then asked the waitress to cancel one of the salads, however, she said it was too late as the chef already began cooking our order. I'm not sure what was the point of telling us it'd be too much food in the first place if we couldn't do anything about it but we let it go.
The food then arrived on our tables and while the salads were fine the $15 salmon sandwich looked unappealing with 2 pieces of salmon & letture slapped on 2 pieces of bread. I asked the waitress if she could toast the sandwich but when I took a bite it tasted bitter and was absolutely inedible. I told the waitress that I couldn't eat it and it was taken away without an offer to replace or any further discussion, yet when the bill arrived I was still charged for it. I questioned the waitress who did not seem to understand what I was trying to say and called the manager.
The manager came out of the restaurant, approached our table and immediately began attacking us for causing trouble, sending the food back and forth and threatened to call the police if we didn't pay the bill in full. I tried to reason with her by clarifying the situation and she seemed to calm down promising to take the sandwich off the bill. However, when we entered the restaurant for the revised bill (we were seated outside) she began yelling at us again at which point my bewildered friend said that she was attacking a pregnant woman so the manager looked her up and down and stated: "That' your problem." Furthermore the manager mimicked and corrected my friend's accent and yelled at us to get out of the restaurant in front of other patrons.
I come from a Customer Service background and I reminded her of the fact that we were customers and she had no right to speak to us like that but she only continued to yell at us to get out. At this point my friend was so distressed and shaken up we had to leave.
Absolutely WORST EXPERIENCE we've ever had.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelato Bar also viewed

Bondi, Greater Sydney
 
Bondi, Greater Sydney
Bondi, Greater Sydney
 
Bondi, Greater Sydney
Bondi, Greater Sydney
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing