We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting and yummy food in a fantastic venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of PaperPlanes - CLOSED

PaperPlanes
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Bondi Beach
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting and yummy food in a fantastic venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Paper Planes will not disappoint. This is a fantastic modern Japanese restaurant that doesn't stop at just preparing exciting and great tasting food. The restaurant fit-out includes a thousand-odd colourful skateboards with numerous Japanese characters etc printed on them attached to the ceiling, along with the obligatory paper cranes and other modern-twists on Japanese culture.

Really adding to the atmosphere on the night was the live DJ they had playing. It wasn't too loud - in fact, it was easy to talk with other people at the table - and was really quite good.

We chose to share a few dishes for dinner, but the menu is also easily adaptable if you want to hog your own selection. The "Salmon Nachos" are really exciting - with just the right amount of wasabi. We also had the lettuce cups, sashimi plate, and the special sushi roll of the day - which left us feeling pretty full.

It's not cheap food, but it's well worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    1
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent Food - such an exciting menu! Great Wines to match your meal and attentive friendly service a great night out guaranteed!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chinatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Super Cool Japanese Stylee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Paper Planes flips the Japanese dining experience on its head, serving delicious sushi, sashimi and hot dishes amidst a Tokyo meets Blade Runner industrial melee of live DJ sets, cocktail mixologists, purple ambient lighting and a ceiling covered with spray painted skateboards. The funky decor is definitely not intended to distract you from the quality of food which is prepared fresh (and right in front of you if you choose to be seated at the bar) and there are always exciting specials on the board that dramatically slides from one end of the bar to the other. The cocktail list has a great mix of oriental-inspired tipples with my favourite being the chilli coconut martini. A great place to catch up with friends and a perfect spot for a date night.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank miltongan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“FUN FUN FUN :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Fun Fun Fun. My girlfriends and I had the best Friday night at paper planes for a friends birthday, they had a great DJ on and the cocktails and food were A-MAZ-ING. Harajuku Girl cocktail i could drink all day long-seriously!……yum!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were recommended by good friends that live in Bondi, as we were visisting from Melb for the weekend. I was convinced that out of the three amazing places we vivsted this was not going to be the best, BOY was i wrong. We ate at Sydneys best restaturants in Wollomoloo wharf and the Icebergs in Bondi but Paper Planes Bondi hands down was the best food, service and Value. One of the waiters recommened dishes and he was spot on each time, the atmosphere was vibrant and very enjoyable. We loved it and will tell all of our friends in Melbourne.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PaperPlanes also viewed

Bondi, Greater Sydney
 
Bondi, Greater Sydney
Bondi, Greater Sydney
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing