We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Hostel, nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bondi Beachouse YHA
Ranked #11 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Bondi
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Standard Hostel, nothing special”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Compared to other hostels in Oz and NZ (YHA Wellington in NZ is amazing) this one doesn't really live up to the mark. It's quite old, staff aren't that friendly, not that many showers and toilets to share, and it's pretty far out of town. You also don't get free WiFi here (even as a YHA member - which we thought was standard. Apparently not though)

The rooftop is the selling point for this hostel, which has lovely views, and there is a nice little supermarket right next door, also the bed was one of the comfier ones we've come across in hostels. We were in a private double though and the room was very hot. We had to have the door open, the window open and the fan on at all times just to make it tolerable.

But hey, it's a hostel not a hotel. Nowhere is perfect.

Room Tip: If you can get a private room - do it. Also make sure your fan works in the room - or you'll mel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elle_w_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    60
    53
    38
    21
See reviews for
9
45
63
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed at the YHA Bondi Beachouse for a two week period over Christmas and New Years with a friend, both in an 8 bed dorm room and later in a private double room. Let me preface this review by saying that if you are looking for a party, read no farther, you’ve found one.

Bondi Beach, in case you aren’t aware, is Sydney’s most iconic beach and the center of the tourist universe in town. The YHA is a few blocks away from the beach itself, and fairly close to several major bus routes if you need to cross town. The hostel itself consists of several floors of well-worn rooms and an unreal rooftop patio with ocean views. There is a common kitchen, a meal and lounge room, and two TV rooms for you to exist in when you are not at the beach. Washing machines and dryers are pricey, but available. The wifi connection is a Global Gossip system that costs a lot but works well in the building. There is very limited parking available in the surrounding neighborhood if you are bringing a vehicle. The front door and your rooms work on an access card system, but don’t assume your stuff is secure unless it’s locked up, please!

The good: You are at a place where hot, young tourists congregate immediately after disembarking their international flights to Australia. Many of them have yet to even add any extra pounds from drinking bagged wine every single night for a year. Be very prepared for the resulting antics. If you are the type of person who can’t find the humor or entertainment value in a watching a 17 year old British “lad” become violently ill after having his first real bender without having to go home to his parents’ house, you are in the wrong place. People will have sex in the communal showers. People will have sex in what they think are quiet, unused corners. People will become violently ill on each other while having sex in the top bunk above you, in the middle of the week, while the sun is still up. Try your best to use the bathroom facilities immediately after they are cleaned.

The bad: If you think I haven’t gotten to the bad parts yet, this hostel isn’t for you! The rooms are not air conditioned, so they get extremely hot and can smell really gross, depending on your roommates. People come to this hostel after finding it at the top of Google results for “party hostel Bondi”, so they might not be the most respectful, trustworthy, or sexually-transmitted disease-free individuals. Your fellow travelers will take up four burners at once in the kitchen, cooking stolen food they found labeled in the fridge, and not clean a single dish. It is almost guaranteed that if you stay here for two weeks, someone will pee the bed while passed out in a top bunk.

The staff members do their best, but you get the distinct feeling that working in this place is like being a circus conductor at a circus where the animals are in charge, or the guy who has to polish the purple Nikes before everyone drinks the poisoned Kool-Aid at a group cult suicide. They are helpful and realize that 99% of people staying here are new in town, so don’t hesitate to ask.

Don’t let my flippancy turn you off from this hostel. It is a great value in an amazing location, and I made life-long friends while staying here. Just know what you’re in for before you show up. If this is your first time in Australia or better yet, your first time back-packing, definitely give this place a try, and please wear a condom (and dispose of it in a considerate fashion).

Room Tip: The dorm style rooms here are party rooms, get a private room if you aren't looking for a consta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

As far as YHA's go this one is much older place and not as good value as a lot of the other ones. It isn't too expensive though and has an excellent location. You can sit at the roof top and get awesome views over the bay. The old building with high ceilings has character to it. Two TV rooms and the spacious dining room downstairs adds value. I will go back when in Sydney next time!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiltsu-182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We opted for a yha thinking they would all be of a good standard, how wrong we were! On first impressions, reception looks ok and staff are friendly. However, upon being shown to our room, there was an old, musty smell like damp carpets. Not good! The room had 3 bunk beds and the lighting was very poor. Old lockers were provided to store valuables. The bunk beds had no rails on the top bunks so me and my friend spent the night scared we would fall out! The steps to climb to my bunk were about an inch from the locker, it was not easy trying to climb up them. Luckily, we were right next to the shared bathroom. We weren't happy though when there was no hot water :(. The kitchen and dining area looked dirty so we never ate in there. Wifi was expensive so we didn't pay. I would suggest finding a different hostel or staying in Sydney and getting the train to bondi.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gem_Fallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bondi hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay after I checked out of another hostel because the other one was awful!
First day here I met about 20 really cool people. We had a barbecue and a couple of boxes of beer and it was the best night I've had in Australia so far.
The staff are friendly except one who I have heard other people complain about but she just has a really dry sense of humour in my opinion.
The rooms are clean there are the obvious stains and stuff on the carpet but I can't see a real problem with cleanliness as a whole.
As long ad you stay away from the locker room there is absolutely no noise after 10pm because their topdeck and courtyard social areas close at 9 and 10 every night.

Loved this place because I like to enjoy myself and then also relax when I have pushed it a bit too hard.

Recommended :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minty86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Overall- a very unclean YHA. Kitchen overloaded with filth from people´s dirty dishes and you have to rent cutlery, plates and cups in order to have a meal! How cool is that!

Kitchen, always crammed. And everywhere, in every corridor, drunk aussies and the ever-present guitar player with his speciality "stairway to heaven"- intro in the corridor, in the backyard, at nightime, at daytime.

Stops playing, looks up: "How You doin?"

Also a very confusing building, signs pointing in wrong directions. Shared male-female bathrooms and showers. So, please, enjoy the the poison of the ever present AXE®, that, as we know, make the ladies go wild in their heads and underpants.
Staff were pretty rude upon arrival.

Avoid this YHA unless, off course, all of the above makes you randy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

First of all, this place has the potential to be a nice hostel but they lose when it comes to cleanliness and customer service. We spent 3 weeks here mostly because it was cheaper than downtown and because it was close to Bondi beach.

This place is overall very dirty. The toilets are at times appalling. They should clean them more often. The kitchen is absolutely disgusting after about 8pm when people have made dinner. For some reason this hostel can't find a way to keep their kitchen clean. They should look into how the other YHA's arrange this. The kitchen is very tiny and almost always overcrowded, you have to fight your way to get a pot and a pan if you can find one that's clean.

The top deck has a nice view of Tamarama beach, but that's about it. There are almost no seats so people just sit on the floor. Several of the clientele openly smokes weed on the roof and staff doesn't seem to care at all which was a bit strange. Having said that, there was a police bust in one of the shared rooms when we were there.

The weekends can be extremely noisy and the staff doesn't bother to stop the drink binging party next door until about 2am... probably great for the people partying but not for everybody else who just wants a night sleep because they have to get up early in the morning.

In one of the rooms we stayed in the window leaked water when it was raining, but other than that the rooms were OK.

Internet connection is expensive at $1 dollar per 15 minutes... or $8 per day if you have your own computer.
Cleaning clothes is ridiculously expensive and will set you back another $4 per wash + $3 to use the dryer for 45 minutes. The clothes does not get clean or dry...

Just a final note.
Most staff are very friendly and helpful, but you know when you meet that one person behind the counter that you immediately know shouldn't be working in a service job and handle customers? A person like that can ruin the entire stay. YHA should check up on their staff and either send them to some serious training or weed out the bad apples and get new staff.

Room Tip: If you go to bed before midnight, try to get a room that's not facing the middle court where peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bondi hotels
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Bondi Beach
Hotel Bondi
Hotel Bondi
#4 of 9 in Bondi
175 reviews
Bondi Beach
QT Bondi
QT Bondi
#3 of 9 in Bondi
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bondi Beach
Hotel Ravesis
Hotel Ravesis
#5 of 9 in Bondi
116 reviews
Bondi Beach
Bondi Backpackers
Bondi Backpackers
#1 of 15 in Bondi
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bondi Beachouse YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bondi Beachouse YHA

Property: Bondi Beachouse YHA
Address: 63 Fletcher St, Bondi, New South Wales 2026, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bondi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Bondi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bondi Beachouse YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bondi Beachouse YHA is located on the chilled-out southern tip of Australia's famous Bondi Beach. Easily the best hostel in Bondi, with Fantastic views of the Sydney Coastal walk from the rooftop. Only 5 minutes' walk to both Tamarama and Bondi Beach. Facilities include: free Wi-Fi hot spot, free snorkelling gear/body boards (surfboards for hire), movie room, table tennis, self-catering kitchen, secure bike locks, limited parking and weekly backpacker activities. Close to shops and good transport links, you can stay by the beach but near Sydney's city centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bondi Beachouse YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bondi Beachouse Yha Hotel Bondi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing