We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How you doin?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bondi Beachouse YHA
Ranked #12 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Bondi
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Overall- a very unclean YHA. Kitchen overloaded with filth from people´s dirty dishes and you have to rent cutlery, plates and cups in order to have a meal! How cool is that!

Kitchen, always crammed. And everywhere, in every corridor, drunk aussies and the ever-present guitar player with his speciality "stairway to heaven"- intro in the corridor, in the backyard, at nightime, at daytime.

Stops playing, looks up: "How You doin?"

Also a very confusing building, signs pointing in wrong directions. Shared male-female bathrooms and showers. So, please, enjoy the the poison of the ever present AXE®, that, as we know, make the ladies go wild in their heads and underpants.
Staff were pretty rude upon arrival.

Avoid this YHA unless, off course, all of the above makes you randy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 202 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

First of all, this place has the potential to be a nice hostel but they lose when it comes to cleanliness and customer service. We spent 3 weeks here mostly because it was cheaper than downtown and because it was close to Bondi beach.

This place is overall very dirty. The toilets are at times appalling. They should clean them more often. The kitchen is absolutely disgusting after about 8pm when people have made dinner. For some reason this hostel can't find a way to keep their kitchen clean. They should look into how the other YHA's arrange this. The kitchen is very tiny and almost always overcrowded, you have to fight your way to get a pot and a pan if you can find one that's clean.

The top deck has a nice view of Tamarama beach, but that's about it. There are almost no seats so people just sit on the floor. Several of the clientele openly smokes weed on the roof and staff doesn't seem to care at all which was a bit strange. Having said that, there was a police bust in one of the shared rooms when we were there.

The weekends can be extremely noisy and the staff doesn't bother to stop the drink binging party next door until about 2am... probably great for the people partying but not for everybody else who just wants a night sleep because they have to get up early in the morning.

In one of the rooms we stayed in the window leaked water when it was raining, but other than that the rooms were OK.

Internet connection is expensive at $1 dollar per 15 minutes... or $8 per day if you have your own computer.
Cleaning clothes is ridiculously expensive and will set you back another $4 per wash + $3 to use the dryer for 45 minutes. The clothes does not get clean or dry...

Just a final note.
Most staff are very friendly and helpful, but you know when you meet that one person behind the counter that you immediately know shouldn't be working in a service job and handle customers? A person like that can ruin the entire stay. YHA should check up on their staff and either send them to some serious training or weed out the bad apples and get new staff.

Room Tip: If you go to bed before midnight, try to get a room that's not facing the middle court where peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spinloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed at Bondi Beachouse YHA in January 2012.
YHA Bondi looked like clean, but it was not. I found a cockroach in my bed!
At least they changed my room. The bathroom and kitchen was not so bad.
The good thing is that the staff were helpful and friendly.
To find a cheap supermarket you need to walk 30min (Bondi Junction) or you can find expensive shops besides the hostel.
I suggest clean better the room and bathroom.

Room Tip: Roms are quieter Beautiful view Helpful staff Cockroachs in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fyumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed at Bondi Beachouse YHA in June 2012. It was clean, with friendly, helpful staff. There was a cafe over the road and a small dairy/supermarket 10 metres from front door of the backpackers. It was about 10 minutes walk to Bondi shops (Bondi Road) and 10 minutes walk to Bondi Beach and more shopping. The room had a double bed and was very small. I only had room to put my suitcase and was just able to walk around the bed. The staff provided me with a television and rabbit ears that got some Australian channels. There was no heating at all in the room so I spent most of the time in my feather jacket with the bed's blankets covering my legs. A pretty average hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank californiagirlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Clean Hostel, Friendly staff, Great location, only downside is expensive internet, everything else was great. We met lots of friendly people from all over the world! Had a wonderful time wish I was back there

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestCoaster94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Nice location, closed to the ocean with a beautiful sight. Since it was summer, there was not so muche people in the hostel, so the atmosphere was quiet. The double room we booked was decently clean, but quite damp and cold. Toilettes were always a little dirt...
The staff of the hostel was always helpful and gentle.
At the end, an average hostel

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Wasnt easy to find hostel.
I guess theres something need to be change on the website, as the information stated that to get to YHA Bondi Beach house, from Bondi Junction, head to the bus interchange and take 381. Bus 381 wasnt on the go. So I took bus no. 333 and the bus driver dropped me off at Denhem Street. Managed to find someone who happened to be heading back to the hostel otherwise it is not easy to find the way from the main street.

However, it is close to the beach, like a 10minutes walk and you see it.

Somehow, the noise level in the hostel was unbearable. I just think they should do something about it!

It was a last minute booking at this hostel and I arrived at 10pm that night, the price were at a relatively good value. The guy at the reception was kind enough to offer me another blanket incase i feel cold at night. Thumbs up for that!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebebeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bondi hotels
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Bondi Beach
Hotel Bondi
Hotel Bondi
#4 of 9 in Bondi
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bondi Beach
QT Bondi
QT Bondi
#3 of 9 in Bondi
182 reviews
Bondi Beach
Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach
Bondi Beach
Noah's Bondi
Noah's Bondi
#5 of 16 in Bondi
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bondi Beachouse YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bondi Beachouse YHA

Address: 63 Fletcher St, Bondi, New South Wales 2026, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bondi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Bondi
Price Range: $27 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bondi Beachouse YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bondi Beachouse YHA is located on the chilled-out southern tip of Australia's famous Bondi Beach. Easily the best hostel in Bondi, with Fantastic views of the Sydney Coastal walk from the rooftop. Only 5 minutes' walk to both Tamarama and Bondi Beach. Facilities include: free Wi-Fi hot spot, free snorkelling gear/body boards (surfboards for hire), movie room, table tennis, self-catering kitchen, secure bike locks, limited parking and weekly backpacker activities. Close to shops and good transport links, you can stay by the beach but near Sydney's city centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bondi Beachouse YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bondi Beachouse Yha Hotel Bondi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing