We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“crap hola im a local ffs”

Cock 'N' Bull Bistro
Ranked #276 of 364 Restaurants in Bondi
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“crap hola im a local ffs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

my girlfriend and my self had been drinking @ cock and bull for past 4 months now when a ethopian and his caucasion g/friend approached us trying to sell weed after we had a few drinks and listed to karoke music on th 29/03/14 he tried to start a fight after we refused to buy as we didnt do drugs. then we got barred from cock and bull as the security was buying the drugs from him. as thats what i interpreted as himand the ethopian were friends. went back to make a complaint.and he tried saying i had started a fight with megirlfriend and didnt want to hear what i had to say. if i was you i wouldnt eat/ drink there as if some thing happened they wouldnt care.....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    2
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
205 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“I'm sitting at the bar writing this. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I drink Guinness. A lot. This by far is the best pour of the beer I have had in ages. It's a Tuesday night and lively with a gal playing the guitar. This is my type of bar - friendly, straight forward and no fluff.

Note, this is cash only. 50 should be enough to have a good time, provided you can hold your liquor.

Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Cock n Bull has the worst staff in all bars around Bondi. They are rude, arrogant and don't expect any good service. Throw things on clients and laugh at your face.

The security asked a friend of mine to leave Laughing - by the way this person didn't have a single beer.

If you want a place to enjoy yourself, better go to other places.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LucianaGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Value $0 Steak Nights – Thursdays”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Always packed to the rafters with Irish workers and backpackers.

Pub has an outdoors veranda, which doubles up as the smoking section. If you don’t mind the smoke, the outdoors section is a pleasant place to have drinks and dinner.
The indoors sections are stock-standard with fairly dated deco but do the job.

Bar staff are all irish girls, mostly unfriendly, and many downright rude. The bar is manned by lemon-lipped, sour-faced, forthright lasses. Also, when patiently waiting for service, in this joint it seems ‘he-who-shouts-the-loudest’ gets served first. So, please ditch the niceties of normal civilised society and jostle for the attention of the not-so-fair maidens at the counter.

On Thursday nights from 6-10pm you get a free steak or schnitzel with the purchase of a drink.
Now, we all know there’s no such thing as a free lunch (or dinner, or steak, as it were). So what’s the catch? Drink must be worth at least $4, and you must purchase at least one side. Of course, no one tells you this until the stout lassie on the other side of the bar is staring you down as she impatiently waits to take the orders of the others in the long queue behind you.
To be fair, the meal is really, really lovely, albeit on the small side. $1.70 gets you a dollop of mash, or a few spoonfuls of boiled veg, or a handful of chips. $1.50 buys you some gravy.

Kudos to the chef. Pass on the staff, thanks very much.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PearlRoseRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We were on holiday to coogee visiting family for 3 weeks.we came down here 3 Thursday nights as it was steak night.when the boys had said the deal is u buy a drink worth $4 u get a free steak all u need to but is ur chips/potato , salad/veg and ur sauce all r $1.50 each but I thought the food was going to be crap but the food was great.thIs is a pub with a great atmosphere on a thursday it has an Irish band aswell whom r really good.would recommend this pub to my friends

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kerriglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock 'N' Bull Bistro also viewed

 
Bondi, Greater Sydney
 
Bondi, Greater Sydney
Bondi, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Cock 'N' Bull Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing